Online Tutorials and Instruction Modules

Online Tutorials - Learn about Information Literacy topics; includes quiz and certificate.
Instruction Modules - Watch and learn as users perform common library tasks, step-by-step.
Additional Training for Library Student Workers

Online Tutorials

INFORMATION LITERACY TUTORIAL
Designed to help students effectively use the Library and its resources. Six modules teach students how to select a research topic, define information needs, select sources, locate and evaluate information, and cite sources. This tutorial also covers the basics of evaluating websites. Includes quiz and completion certificate.

 
PRIMO database logo

This tutorial was accepted into ALA's PRIMO database. PRIMO is a peer-reviewed collection of librarian-created instruction materials. (2010)

 
 

UNDERSTANDING CALL NUMBERS
Developed to help users competently locate books and other materials in the library. Topics include library terminology and the classification scheme used to organize library materials. Includes quiz and completion certificate.

Instruction Modules

Your internet browser will need a Flash plugin to view these videos.

How to Find a Book on the Library Shelves (Link)

Shauna needs a certain book for class. Follow along as she learns exactly how to locate that book inside the library.

Play Video: How to Find a Book on the Library Shelves

Game: Goblin Threat! (Link)

In this interactive game, you must use your understanding of copyright, plagiarism, and citing sources to save the SHSU campus from being overtaken by plagiarism goblins! Game adapted courtesy of Lycoming University.

Note: The "goblins remaining" count does not always work correctly, but keep hunting--a door will open each time you've defeated the last goblin in a room!

image of the Goblin Threat! home screen

"Sammy Bearkat Learns About Research Basics" Instruction Series

Beginning with the INTRODUCTION MODULE, follow Sammy Bearkat as he learns to use the resources offered by the Newton Gresham Library to research his latest class writing assignment. You'll need Windows Media Player to view these modules (it should already be on your machine or in your profile if you are on campus).

FIND A BOOK
Follow along as Sammy learns how to search the Library's online catalog, SamCat.

ADVANCED CATALOG FUNCTIONS
Sammy has already learned how to do a quick search in the library catalog, but there are plenty of tricks that he can use to find more or better results. This module will build on what Sammy learned in the FIND A BOOK module to show how to use the library catalog to its full potential.

FIND AN ARTICLE
Sammy has to find some articles to support his paper. Watch and learn how to use the Library's Databases and Indexes to find articles in magazines and journals.

BOOLEAN OPERATORS
Boolean what!?! While trying to do his research, Sammy keeps running into these "Boolean Operator" things. This module will explain to Sammy, and to you, what Boolean Operators are, how to use them, and why they're a good tool for research.

LIBRARY JARGON
As with any profession, Librarians often have specialized vocabularies that they use to describe their responsibilities or their work environments. In this module, some of this specialized library jargon is explained.

UNDERSTANDING CALL NUMBERS
Sammy has learned how to search databases and the library catalog, now he just has to find the actual book! He's got the call numbers to find his books, but he's curious: what do they mean? Follow along as the mysteries of the Call Number are revealed!

FINDING MUSIC RESOURCES
Sammy is taking a Music History class, and has to do research on a composer. In this module you'll see Sammy learn how to find biographies, scores and sound recordings in the library catalog, SamCat.

LIBRARY SERVICES AND POLICIES
The last thing Sammy wants to do is run afoul of the rules for using the Library. This module will explain essential topics like what materials can be checked out of the Library, for how long, and the price he'll pay for returning them too late (it's not pretty!).

Additional Training for Library Student Workers

STUDENT WORKERS' CALL NUMBER TUTORIAL
Designed to help library student workers understand the classification systems and the proper ordering of call numbers. Includes a quiz and an email confirming the student's final score.