Tutorial Home

Bias
A personal and sometimes unreasoned judgment : PREJUDICE.
Boolean Operators
The words AND, OR, NOT, which are used to connect search terms. AND narrows a search. OR broadens a search by incorporating synonyms or alternate terms. NOT narrows a search by excluding terms.
Citation
The essential information about a book or article. A citation for a book includes the author' name, the title of the book, the date of publication, the city, and the publisher. The citation for a periodical article contains the author's name, the title of the article, the title of the source (periodical), the volume (issue), date, and page numbers. You will need information from the citation to locate an article in a periodical and when you cite references in a research paper.
Database
A collection of data (information) organized as individual units called records. Each entry in a database has a corresponding record. An index to periodical articles, an online catalog, and a phone book are all examples of databases.
Digital Collection
The Library's Digital Collection contains digitized images and documents from the University Archives and library Special Collections, as well as academic and creative writings and projects from SHSU students, faculty, and staff. It can be searched and browsed on the web at http://digital.library.shsu.edu/.
Library Catalog (SamCat)
e.g. online public access catalog (OPAC), online catalog, catalog. A library catalog describes the books and materials owned by a library, including details about the location and current availability of items. Catalog access is available via the Library's homepage. Catalog terminals are also located on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors of the Library.
Magazine
Periodicals which publish a collection of articles and images about current events and topics of general interest. These articles are usually written by journalists rather than experts in a particular field.
Periodical
e.g. serial, serial publication. Publications which are issued at regular intervals.  Periodicals include journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Plagiarism
the appropriation of another's work or idea and the unacknowledged incorporation of that work or idea into one's own work offered for credit. To avoid plagiarism, you must give credit by citing the book or article you used.
Primary Source
an original document created or written by participants in or witnesses to an event, materials written at the time by those reporting on the event, or original works of literature. Some examples of primary sources include: poetry, plays, short stories, diaries, memoirs, letters, interviews, autobiographies, speeches, photographs, historical documents (treaties, charters, laws and statutes, court decisions), and original scientific research.
Professional Journal
e.g., trade publication. Periodicals consisting of articles written for practitioners in a given field.
Record
e.g. Bibliographic record. The unit of information about an individual item (such as a book or article) in a database. The record contains many specified pieces of information about an item such as its title, author, subject headings, and abstract.
Reference Collection
A selection of library materials used to find information or to do research. Dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, bibliographies, indexes, abstracts, and statistical compilations are examples of reference books. Reference books cannot be checked out.
Reference Desk
A set of desks located adjacent to the reference collection on the 2nd floor of the Library. The reference desk is staffed by reference librarians and staff whose job it is to assist library users in locating materials in the Library.
Scholarly Journal
e.g. scholarly journal, academic journal, peer-reviewed journal, and refereed journal. Periodicals which publish detailed articles on historical events, scientific research, literary criticism, and other material appropriate for a scholarly audience.
Secondary Source
Secondary sources interpret, describe, or analyze an event, person, or topic. The author of a secondary source did not actually experience first-hand what he or she is writing about. These articles are usually written by professors, researchers, or experts in the field.
Subject Heading
A word or phrase which describes the content of an item. A single item may include more than one subject heading. For example, a book about the galaxy would be listed in the catalog under the subject headings "Astronomy", "Galaxies", "Stars", and "Nebulae". You may look up subject headings for your topic in the Library of Congress Subject Headings located at the reference desk.