Fast Links

Datasets, including Social Statistics & Demographics

Back to Subject List

 

Although many databases may contain some amount of statistical information, the databases on this page provide the best starting place when you need to find datasets (especially social statistics and demographic information). Here you will find actual results/numbers, as opposed to articles about statistics.

 

Primary Statistics Databases & Websites

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)

View recently added and updated studies.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.

Current Index to Statistics (CIS) Online

The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from fully-indexed core journals; non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content; proceedings and edited books; and other sources.

Data.gov

Find, download, and use datasets generated by the Federal Government. The free government site also provides tools to assist in visualizing the datasets.

EPodunk

Website providing searchable database of towns and cities in the U.S. Includes a brief profile, followed by links to local events, genealogy, government, statistics, museums and colleges, festivals, historic sites and neighborhoods, moving guides, postcards, churches, politics, etc.

Google Public Data Explorer

This free website allows users to create and use visualizations of 27 data sets varying from U.S. unemployment rates to World Development Indicators. Researchers can even upload datasets (must convert files to Google's Dataset Publishing Language, DSPL) to create charts and visualizations of their own data or compare their data to other public data on the site.

Historical Statistics of the United States

Source for qualitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)

Source for statistical and geographic information system (GIS) boundary data for the United States, 1790 to present. Includes census data; tract data; County Business Patterns; School Attendance Boundary Information System (SABINS) data. Create free account to retrieve data and GIS shapefiles.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries.

Roper Center

Archive of public opinion research, containing hundreds of thousands of questions and answers from 1935 to the present. For access to the datasets, click on Login and set up a free account.
- iPoll database of questions and answers
- Full datasets to conduct analyses of archived surveys
- Roper Center Homepage

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. / Historical U.S. Statistics, 1789-present

Free government website. Wide range of national statistics over time.

World Almanac

A general reference source on the U.S., each of the 50 states, and other countries. Includes a timeline of the year, biographies, encyclopedia entries, statistics, information on the federal government, historical facts, flags and maps, important manmade and natural landmarks, awards and prizes information, and sports information.

Find Additional Resources for Geographic Data Sets...

 

Federal Statistics

Principal Sources of Federal Statistics, compiled by the Government Documents Department

Other Sources of Federal Statistics, compiled by the Government Documents Department

 

Texas Statistics

Texas Statistical Resources, compiled by the Government Documents Department

Huntsville City Maps and Geographic Information System (GIS) Data


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System