Fast Links

Computer Science Databases

Back to Subject List

 

Have a question about Computer Science research? Send a question to Janice Lange, the Computer Science Librarian.

Primary Computer Science Journal Article Databases

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)

The Digital Library provides online access to all ACM titles from volume 1 - forward. All journals, sigs, conference proceedings, newsletters, transactions, and magazines published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and selected titles published by affiliated organizations are included.

Computer Source

Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.

Web of Science

Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

Includes online access to articles from peer-reviewed journals and magazines with archives back to 1988, plus conference proceedings with archives back to 1995.

InfoSci from IGI Global

InfoSci provides full-text chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000, as well as thousands of full-text journal articles. Teaching cases and a complete information science dictionary are also included. Topics covered include information/computer science, and technology as applied to business & public administration, engineering, education, medical & health care, and social sciences.

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari is an electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals, providing searchable full-text contents of thousands of books selected for SHSU.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.

Business Source Complete

Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.

Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)

Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles, plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s.

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts

IPCA provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Covers some of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more.

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)

Details on downloading and using e-books in this collection.
Huge collection of e-books in all subject areas. Books may be read online or downloaded to certain devices. These e-books are identical to the print versions. Create a free, personal MyEBSCOhost account to save bookmarks, notes, highlighting, etc.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System