|
The icon indicates that full text is available for that database.
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
A
- Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.
- Accounting with Tax & Standards

Search key accounting standards from FASB, GASB, and IASB along with top accounting literature. Standards content includes Original Pronouncements, Statements, Interpretations, Board Opinions, AICPA Interpretations, Current Text, EITF Abstracts and much more. International in scope, this product has in-depth coverage of accounting policies, state and national tax legislation, corporate taxation, as well as related accounting topics such as auditing, compensation, pension plans, and financial management.
- ACM Portal: the ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
 The Digital Library provides online access to all ACM titles from volume 1 - forward. All journals, sigs, conference proceedings, newsletters, transactions, and magazines published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and selected titles published by affiliated organizations are included. - AGRICOLA
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
- Alternative Press Index
Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Provides in-depth coverage of alternative sources of information in the social sciences and humanities from 1991 to the present. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines, and selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects include anarchism, indigenous peoples, democracy, labor, ecology, national liberation, feminism, socialism, gay and lesbian issues.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
An index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Comprehensive guide to over 700 international and interdisciplinary sources of alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines; provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 450,000 bibliographic entries and covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. America: History and Life coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.
- American Chemical Society
 ACS provides full-text access to over 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year with over 3 million pages of original chemistry.
- American National Biography
 American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- American Periodicals Series Online

Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- America's Historical Newspapers. (1690-1922)

America's Historical Newspapers provides bibliographic and full-image access to nearly two centuries' worth of local
newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690 - 1876), Early American Newspapers, Series II (1758 - 1900) and
Early American Newspapers, Series III (1829 - 1922).
- America's Newspapers
 America's Newspapers features the full-text content of over 600 U.S. newspapers, with more than 290 titles available exclusively from NewsBank, each the complete electronic edition of record. Includes 31 Texas newspapers.
- Archive of Americana

Includes: America's Historical Newspapers. (1690-1922) [**Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690 - 1876), Early American Newspapers, Series II (1758 - 1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series III (1829 - 1922)], Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans(1639-1800), and Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker(1801-1819) .
- Art Full Text (Wilson)
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- ArticleFIRST
Index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals in several disciplines, including business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search)
Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from more than 5,800 social science and science journals; includes more than 1.4 million records containing bibliographic citations; an additional 700+ records give preferred and variant names of cited authors. A&HSearch indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more, and is the online equivalent of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, compiled by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); updated weekly. Includes: arts, humanities, related social science and science information.
- Associations Unlimited
Contains information for approximately 440,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations. Includes IRS 501(c) data on U.S. non-profits. Provides full-text association materials (brochures, pamphlets and membership application forms) for about 2,500 U.S. associations.
B
- Bibliography of Native North Americans
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
- Biography Index (Wilson)
Biography Index is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals indexed are selected from all subject areas represented by other Wilson Company databases. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- Biological Abstracts (Ebsco)
Biological Abstracts is the premier abstracting and indexing database for biology and botany world-wide, indexing over 7 million citations from over 4000 journals in all disciplines of the biological sciences.
- Biology Digest
An abstracting and indexing database in the life sciences that specializes in abstracts written in non-technical language and style, covering topics which include botany, environmental science, health and medicine, and zoology.
- BNA Tax Management Library
Contains access to the 'U.S.Income Series' and the 'Estates, Gifts and Trusts Series'. The Library includes expert analyses by leading tax authorities; productivity tools such as forms, plans, letters, documents and the e-Financial Analyst financial analysis generator; primary source materials such as IRS documents, Federal and State Codes, Federal and Supreme Court cases; and news and commentary.
- Book Review Digest Plus (Wilson)
Book Review Digest Plus brings together the rich data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes. Those indexes are: Applied Science & Technology Index, Art Index, Biological & Agricultural Index, Education Index, General Science Index, Humanities Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, Library Literature & Information Science, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, Social Sciences Index, and Business Periodicals Index.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- BooksInPrint.com
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from over 44,000 North American publishers. Now including Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S., which is updated quarterly.
- British Periodicals I & II

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
- Business and Company Resource Center

The Business & Company Resource Center offers accurate, and up-to-date company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies. Included in the database are: periodical articles, company information, investment reports, product information, industry and company rankings, financial overviews, industry overviews and HR law case digests.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Business Full Text (Wilson)
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- Business Knowledge Research
 Working as a global, independent membership organization in the public interest, the Conference Board conducts research, convenes conferences, makes forecasts, assesses trends, publishes information and analyses, and brings executives together to learn from one another. The Conference Board is a not-for-profit organization and holds 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt status in the United States. The online subscriptions includes 'Research Reports' on key business topics, 'Executive Action' reports, 'StraightTalk' - in-depth analysis of critical economic topics, 'Across the Board' magazine, and Topline data on business executives expectations (a measure of business confidence) consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators, and help-wanted index.
- Business Source Complete
 The Business Source Premier database is a comprehensive, business periodical database that includes scholarly journals and business periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Business Source Premier contains content from full text sources ranging from general business periodicals such as Business Week, Forbes, Fortune, American Banker, etc. to academic journals such as Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, Academy of Management Review, Review of Economics & Statistics, etc. Business Source Premier provides cumulative indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,800 business journals and cumulative full text for 2,260 journals.
C
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection I.
- Cabell's Online Directories of Publishing Opportunities in ...

Included are the directories for Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, and Psychology.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Civil War Newspapers

This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc.
- Classification Web
Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students.
. LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records.
. LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables.
. Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Children's Catalog (Wilson)
The Children’s Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
- CLCD - Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.
- ComAbstracts
The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
 Communication & Mass Media Complete provides online access to full-text articles from more than 160 communication and mass media journals and indexing and abstracting to more than 285 journals. It is the merger of two popular databases -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
- Computer Source

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
- Consumer Health Complete
 (CHC) is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
- Contemporary Authors
 For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) is the world's leading resource for information on modern literature. CLC Select presents significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
- Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Includes links to full-text articles for many articles.
- CQ Researcher (1923-current)
 This award-winning full-text online version of the print publication explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. The CQ Researcher's hallmark is scrupulous objectivity and balance. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report..
- CredoReference (formerly XreferPlus)
Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 200 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.
- Criminal Justice (CJ) Abstracts
Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals Index
 CJPI provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.
- Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
 Criminology includes the full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years. Encompassing over 4,100 articles, it covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.
- Current Index to Statistics(CIS) Online
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.
- Current Research @

Provides fulltext of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
D
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977)

The Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977) is a unique full-image digital collection documenting major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, as reported in this leading metropolitan daily newspaper. Available only from NewsBank, the archive is a valu-able resource for primary source research into the news of the day, cul-ture, government, economics, politics, science, social issues, and more. Researchers access cover-to-cover searchable text, then view PDFs of the full page, or individual articles, photos, graphics, maps, political cartoons, editorials, display and classified advertisements, recipes – the complete content of the newspaper.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) contains essays that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
- Dictionary of National Biography
 An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- Disclosure Corporate Snapshots
Corporate and financial information on corporations whose shares are traded in the U.S.; updated weekly.; searchable by business description, SIC code, name and more. Each record includes company name, Disclosure company number, company address and telephone number, status, state of incorporation, NYSE symbol, SIC codes, and a brief description of the business.
- Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest)
 Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861, and more than 60,000 new citations are added to the database every year. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
- Dissertations and Theses - Sam Houston State University
 Provides fulltext of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
E
- Early
American Imprints, Series I. Evans(1639-1800)
 Based on the renowned "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's "Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography," the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society. For decades, the collection has served as the definitive resource of information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, slavery, temperance, witchcraft and just about any other topic imaginable.
- Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker(1801-1819)

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before.
- EBSCOHost (All Databases) - English Version

Access the main menu of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
- EBSCOHost (All Databases) - Spanish Version

Access the main menu, in Spanish, of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
- EBSCOHost Electronic Journal Service

Access to full text of all the online journals to which SHSU subscribes.
- Economic Literature
(EconLit) Subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plusbooks, dissertations, and working papers related to economics.
- Economia y Negocios
 Economía y Negocios is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics.
- Education Full Text (Wilson)
(Coverage dates: Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1996+)
Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with fulltext) not covered by ERIC's CIJE.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Electronic Collections Online
An OCLC collection of scholarly journals from 1995 forward. Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited fulltext for journals in subject areas of agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion, history, science, language, social science, law, and technology.
- eLibrary Curriculum
Designed specifically for K-12 schools and libraries. Students find the answers they need from more than 2,000 full-text magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts-plus thousands of pictures, maps, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, plus audio/video content.
- Emerald Fulltext

Emerald Full Text is a collection of over 40,000 articles from over 100 of the most prestigious management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989. Emerald Fulltext covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management and quality to operations management.
- Emerald Management Reviews
Includes independent article reviews from 400 leading international management journals published world-wide. The current collection of more than 190,000 reviews which is growing at a rate of approximately 1,500 reviews per month, represents the best of management thinking, having been identified and accepted for inclusion in the database by an elite accreditation review panel.
- Encyclopedia Americana

Online version of print encyclopedia, it blends the depth and accuracy of the print edition with the currency expected of an online reference work.
- Encyclopedia of Animals
 This extensive database provides students with thousands of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals. Each entry begins with a simple category breakdown of the animal including Kingdom, Class, Order, Genus & Species, and Geographical Locale as well as a detailed description. Many entries include colorful images.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music

First published in print in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken on the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
Access is for three users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- ERIC (via EbscoHost)
This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. There are several versions of the ERIC database available from the library's website; all provide links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website, E*Subscribe. E*Subscribe contains about 80% of the ERIC documents available since 1993. The library also maintains the ERIC Document collection on microfiche (1966 to present). ERIC can also be accessed:
- Essay & General literature Index (Wilson)
Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications are indexed. Essay and General Literature Index also provides full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
F
- FictionConnection
Use this readers advisory tool to discover titles similar to books you already enjoy.
- FirstGov
FirstGov is intended to be your first resource to find any government information on the Internet, with topics ranging from business and economy to money and benefits to science and technology - and everything in between!
- FirstSearch (per-search)
DESCRIPTION
- Fuente Academica
 is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
 This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
G
- General Science Full Text (Wilson)
Wilson General Science Full Text is a database that indexes articles from 1989, abstracts articles from 1993, and additionally provides the full text of selected periodicals from 1995 to the present. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- GEOBASE
This database indexes more than 2000 journals published world-wide; and contains over 600,000 citations in the disciplines of geology, geography and ecology.
- GPO Access Online (Government Printing Office)
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.
- GPO Monthly Catalog (Government Printing Office)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
- GreenFILE
GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, GreenFILE’s initial release includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles, including comprehensive coverage – from volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913), and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.
- Grove Music Online

Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes). Grove Music Online will be updated regularly to ensure it remains the most up to date music reference work on the Internet.
Access is for three users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
H
- Handbook of Texas

The Handbook of Texas, provided by the Texas State Historical Association is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center

The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides indexing to 827 journals, of which 625 provide full-text articles. There is also access to a medical encyclopedia, prescription drug information, a medical dictionary, and up-to-date health news for consumer researchers. Includes the Health Reference Center and Alternative Health module.
- Health Reference Center Academic

This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text to over 700 journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.
- HeritageQuest Online (Genealogy and Local History)

ProQuest Information and Learning Company's HeritageQuest provides an ongoing collection of research materials for tracing family lineage and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. This collection assembles genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954, HA currently covers over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, HA includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.
- Houston Chronicle (Newsbank)
Date Range: (1985-Current). The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.
- Humanities Full Text (Wilson)
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) (Wilson)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index is also included.
Access is for three users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
I
- IBISWorld
Provides instant access to over 700 United States industries – everything from Shoes Stores to Gold Ore Mining and all industries in between. IBIS also offers many other reports such as the “Global” Industry Reports covering world industry analysis.
- ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. ICPSR adds value by providing data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files, converting codebooks to PDF and providing detailed descriptions of the studies. Some datasets are enhanced for use in ICPSR’s online Data Analysis System (from the ICPSR User Guide). Sam Houston State University’s membership in ICPSR is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.
- IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

Includes online access to articles from 22 peer-reviewed journals and magazines with archives back to 1988, plus more than 1,200 conference proceedings with archives back to 1995.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (Wilson)
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Index to Legal Periodicals & Books covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s.
- InfoTrac Custom Newspapers (state and national newspapers)
Search a collection of over 100 sources from around the globe for full-text articles. Cover-to-cover coverage of USA Today, Austin-American Statesman from 1996, Washington Times from 1996, Houston Chronicle from 1996, Fort Worth Star Telegram (5/99-2/01), The Financial Times from 1996, The Times (London) since 1986, and many more. Search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields. Backfiles go as far back as 1996 for most newspapers.
- Ingenta
The world's largest website for the search and delivery of research articles, ingenta.com offers you access to article summaries from over 20,000 publications linked to the full text of over 4,500 titles.
- Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts
IPCA provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more.
J
- JCR : ISI Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions. Only the editions and years that our institution subscribes to will display on the home page(currently only 2003).
- Science Edition: Contains data from over 5,700 journals in the areas of science and technology.
- Social Sciences Edition: contains data from over 1,700 journals in the social science.
- JSTOR

Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
L
- Legal Collection
 This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
- LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
- LexisNexis Congressional

Federal legislative research database that provides a searchable electronic version of the CIS/Index for legislative research from 1970 forward and the full-text of publications from the U.S. Congress, current Code of Federal Regulations and the current U.S. Code.
- LexisNexis Statistical

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
 LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (Wilson)
Library Literature & Information Science is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Library of Texas
The Library of Texas allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge collections. Texans no longer need to use a separate interface for each individual library or database. At present, the Library of Texas searches through the catalogs of 63 public libraries, 26 academic libraries, and 40 TexShare commercial databases.
- Literary Reference Center (new interface)
 Ebscohost Interface (old interface)- Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000 classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews, 8,400 classic texts and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center also includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™, and much more.
- Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
M
- Marcive Web Docs
Provides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.
- MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier provides full text for nearly 1,860 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,780 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
- MathSciNet
A product of the American Mathematical Society MathSciNet is a comprehensive database indexing over 1800 world-wide scholarly journals in mathematics.
- MedicLatina

a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.
- MEDLINE (via EBSCOHost)
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes indexing to over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's and from over 4600 scholarly and professional journals and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Merck Manual
The Merck Manual is one of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine that generates a list of results pertaining to the subject, displayed in decreasing order of relevance; and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online offers Internet access to information on 10,000 U.S. and 15,000 international companies, including annual reports, company histories, and financial data.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Middle Search Plus

provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.
- Million Dollar Database
D&B Million Dollar Database provides the information professional, marketer and sales executive with information on over 1,300,000 U.S. leading public and private businesses. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies. Important note: use of this database is restricted to one person at a time. If the database is in use, you will receive the following alert: "This User Name and Password is already in use". If you receive this alert, please try to access the database at another time.
- Military and Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. The Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, this directory lists periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography . Periodicals relating to the areas of literature, language, linguistics, culture, and folklore are included. Entries for each title include editor, publisher, language, information about submission for publication, advertising rates, and copyright ownership. Search this database by keyword, subject, title, scope, ISSN , and more.
- MLA International Bibliography
Provides over one million citations for items from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies; updated ten times per year.
- Music Index
The Music Index surveys data from more than 640 international music periodicals and review new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject Heading List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organologic topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
N
- Natural & Alternative Treatments

The database contains almost two hundred articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment. It also contains detailed, evidence-based information on herbs and supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information.
- NCJRS
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are provided full text.
- NetLibrary
Netlibrary is a collection of 45,000 + online books available to the SHSU community through library purchase and the efforts of Texshare. Books may be read online by clicking “View this eBook”. Netlibrary electronic books are identical to the print versions, with all titles represented in the library’s SamCAT online catalog. A free personal account may be set up within Netlibrary to save favorites or to create notes for books. Netlibrary may be searched as a database, with “Advanced Search” options for full-text and keyword searching across the entire SHSU collection of books.
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Historical New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue published in 1851 through 2001. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Newspaper Source

provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
- 19th Century Masterfile
Indices to Nineteenth-Century Newspapers, Periodicals, Books and Government Documents.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
This new database provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
- Nutrition Care Manual
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
O
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC)
OVRC draws on Greenhaven Press' acclaimed social issues print series as well as other reference content to create a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Viewpoint articles — frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets — and Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
Access is for two users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Oxford Reference Online
ORO combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference Online.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
P
- PapersFIRST
An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
- Periodicals Archive Online

Covers: 1770 - 1995. Formerly PCI Full Text. Updated annually. Indexes over 10.75 million articles in 3,142 journals. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Includes full image of over 350 journals and the archive will continue to grow each year.
- Philosopher's Index
 PI covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. Contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews, published from 1940 to the present. Indexes over 560 journals from more than 40 countries in 30 languages.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
- Physical Education Index
Physical Education Index provides indexing and abstracts to over 340 journals and magazines, with subjects ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
- Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries.
- Population Index
Updated annually. Covers all fields of interest to demographers. Contains selective indexing with abstracting from journals, books, working papers, doctoral dissertations and other sources. (user's guide).
- Primary Search

provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
- ProceedingsFIRST
An index of worldwide conference proceedings.
- Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
- Project MUSE

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.
- PROLA/Physical Review Online Archive

PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. The majority of the collection consists of scanned images of the printed journals available as either GIF images or as PDF files. The complete archive consists of all of Physical Review back to 1893, all of Physical Review Letters back to 1958, Physical Review Special Topics from 1998 to present, and all of Reviews of Modern Physics back to 1929.
- PsycINFO (Ebsco)
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- Psychiatry Online
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
R
- RCLNet - Resources for College Libraries
RCL is the result of a unique collaboration between Choice, a publishing division of ACRL, and bibliographic authority Bowker. RCL is considered the long-awaited successor to the third edition of Books for College Libraries, published in 1988.
- Readers' Guide Full Text (Wilson)
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) (Wilson)
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Refworks
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager. Import citations from SamCat and other online databases or type in information directly. Then use RefWorks when writing papers to format citations and create your bibliography.
Please be advised that Internet Explorer 7 users may experience extreme slowness when using RefWorks. This is due to IE's Phishing Filter (a new feature to IE7) that evaluates web page contents. Microsoft has a downloadable patch that can rectify this. You can download the patch here: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/928089
- Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection

This database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
- Research InSight on the Web
Research Insight on the Web delivers Standard & Poor's company information and sophisticated analytic content directly to Microsoft® Excel users through the Internet. THIS IS NOT A WEB-BASED DATABASE LIKE BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE, this database is an Excel plug-in, which can be accessed from on campus by going to the "Library Resources Installation Menu" to install the plugin. Once installed, you will have a new menu option within Excel called "RI Web Tools".
- RIA Checkpoint
Students must log in here (Request an RIA login) to request a username/password to gain access to the Ria Checkpoint database. Once the required information is filled out and sent in by the student, an e-mail will be sent to the e-mail address provided by the student. The e-mail will contain a username and password to access Checkpoint. This will NOT be your campus username/password, but one given to you directly by RIA. To access the database click on the name (Ria Checkpoint in blue) up above.
S
- Safari Tech Books Online

Safari is an electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals. The searchable full-text contents of 4700 books selected for SHSU are available online.
- ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific, technical and medical database, with over 59 million citation abstracts. ScienceDirect also provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines.
- Science & Technology Collection

The Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder is a client server application that can be found on your computer by going to START, then ALL PROGRAMS, and then opening LIBRARY RESOURCES. You may run the program at this point or create a shortcut for your desktop for easy access. Each time you login to SciFinder Scholar you will be asked to Accept or Decline the CAS Information Use Policy. When the database is in use you will receive a message that there are too many concurrent users, please try again later.
SciFinder Scholar developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service provides access to:
- CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
- CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and biosequences
- CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
- CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
- CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
- Medline, the National Library of Medicine’s database
- References from over 9,500 currently published journals and patent information from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities
- The latest scientific breakthroughs almost as soon as they are published with references added daily and some patent information as recent as two days ago
- Complete coverage of chemistry and life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines
- Scribner Writers Series

Gain access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Many authors in the Scribner Writers Series are seen from multiple perspectives through two, three or sometimes four essays. Students can go directly to an entry on a specific author, combine search criteria for a much more complex search, or explore thematic and chronological topics to make connections among writers.
- Serials Directory

provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide.
- Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson)
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Social Services Abstracts
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. (The interface for this database is provided by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) rather than by SilverPlatter.)
- SPIN Web (Searchable Physics Information Notices)
The SPIN database (Searchable Physics Information Notices) produced by the American Institute of Physics provides the most current indexing and abstracting of more than 100 major physics, astronomy, and engineering journals and conference proceedings. It provides access to over 1 million abstracts and is updated daily. Approximately 50,000 new records are added annually.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
This searchable database is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others. It includes export tools so that data can be downloaded into spreadsheet programs for further analysis.
- STAT-USA
STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government. This database is accessible only in the Library. During weekdays go to Government Documents Department for access, weekend access is available at the Reference Desk. Outside of Huntsville, access is available through a Federal Depository Library. Click here to locate a Federal Depository Library.
- STNEasy
STN Easy provides access to the leading chemical indexing database, Chemical Abstracts, and CA Registry. The use of this database is restricted to faculty, upper division and graduate students within the Department of Chemistry.
T
- Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
- Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Produced over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities, of which we have access to scanned images of maps from 1867-1970 of more than 400 Texas towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assisit fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
- Texas Reference Center

Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
- ThomasNET(Thomas Register)
Thomas Register on the Internet includes both American and Canadian companies. 156,914 companies and 7,782 online supplier catalogs and web links are found in Thomas Register.
- The Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985)
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 delivers every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London). The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
- TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.
- Twayne's Authors Series
The Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry
This collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets. This unparalleled collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. The majority of the poems included are copyright works specially licensed from print publishers such as New Edition, City Lights Books, Houghton Mifflin, W. W. Norton and Yale University Press. The collection reflects the variety and dynamism of American poetic voices in this century of change: all major movements and schools are represented, form the traditionalism of Robert Frost to the modernism of H.D. (Hilda Doolittle), the confessional poetry of Anne Sexton to the proletarian poems of Muriel Rukeyser. The Imagists, Beat Poets, Harlem Renaissance, Black Mountain and Deep Image schools are all featured. In addition, many contemporary writers of the 1980s and90s who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.
- Twentieth Century English Poetry
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day. Offers online access to the poetry of some of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. It incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond, including over forty distinguished authors from The Faber Poetry Library. Authors include the established and canonical such as Yeats, Housman, Lawrence, Sassoon, Eliot, Plath, Ted Hughes and Seamus Heaney, popular and accessible figures such as Kipling, Betjeman and Wendy Cope, lesser known but important names like William Empson and W.S. Graham and, among prominent contemporaries, Simon Armitage, Eavan Boland and Carol Ann Duffy. Many of the major themes of 20th century writing -- nationality, politics, war, sexuality, religion and gender -- can be understood anew through this vast and representative collection.
U
- Ulrichsweb.com
Ulrichís Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
- Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.
V
- Vocational & Career Collection

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.
W
- Westlaw Campus
Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
- World Almanac
Offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.
- WorldCat
The WorldCat database contains more than 99 million records describing items owned by your library or 60,000 libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. Includes the following types of items: books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscripts, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes.
- World History Collection

offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East . World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.
- World News Connection
World News Connection, compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information covering significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues worldwide.
- WorldScope
Financial reports on companies worldwide derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Each record includes a description of the business, selected financials, key ratios, and officers; updated weekly.
X
- CredoReference (formerly XreferPlus)
Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 200 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.
|