Fast Links

Databases A - Z

Popular Databases:               Mobile Databases Mobile Databases


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W

A

+

A to Z World Culture

Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.

+

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.

+

Academic Video Online

Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Acceda Noticias

Spanish-language news from across the U.S. and Latin America. Current and archived newspapers and other news sources. Part of the larger database, Access World News.

+

AccessScience

Up-to-date gateway to scientific knowledge, with content ranging from basic introductory material to extended article entries and live journal citations in key scientific areas including biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, physics, and beyond.

+

Access World News

Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.

+

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)

The Digital Library provides online access to all ACM titles from volume 1 - forward. All journals, sigs, conference proceedings, newsletters, transactions, and magazines published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and selected titles published by affiliated organizations are included.

+

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)

ACS provides full-text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year.

+

African American Newspapers 1827-1998

Approximately 270 U.S. newspapers, 1827-1998, document African American experiences.

+

African American Periodicals 1825-1995

Periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Academic & political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and more.

+

AGRICOLA

Millions of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering all areas of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

+

Alt-HealthWatch

Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides full-text articles from international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.

+

Ambrose Video

Collection of online films, including the complete BBC Shakespeare Plays, as well as numerous titles in history and the sciences (including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environmental science, geology, meteorology, and physics). Closed-captioning provided in all videos; after selecting a video, roll over the video player and click the "CC" button at the upper right.

+

America: History and Life

U.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Local, state, and international journals (mostly English-language).

+

American History in Video

Hundreds of hours of documentary video in the history of the United States. Most videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

American National Biography (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Biographies of thousands of men and women whose lives have shaped the United States. Updated and revised regularly.

+

American Periodicals, 1740-1940

U.S. periodicals, including special interest, general, children's, women's, literary, and professional.

+

American State Papers 1789-1838

U.S. Congressional and Executive documents, 1789-1838.

+

America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1998

American and U.S. local newspapers from all 50 states, ranging from 1690 to 1998.

+

Annual Reviews Science Collection

Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.

+

APA Books & Handbooks

Recently published full-text ebooks from APA, as well as the following APA handbooks:
- APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook
- APA Educational Psychology Handbook
- APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis
- APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology
- APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology
- APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology

Please Note: These handbooks are the ONLY content to which the library has access inside the APA PsycNet interface. You may also want to search the library's separate subscription to PsycARTICLES on the EBSCOhost platform.

+

APA Style Guide to Electronic References

A digital copy of the APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th edition, providing APA-style guidance on citing electronic sources of many varieties.

+

ArchiveGrid

Search the collection descriptions for nearly a million collections of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. ArchiveGrid does NOT contain the full-text or images of these collections, but it helps researchers identify what material an archive holds and how to contact the archive to request copies or arrange a visit.

+

Area Studies Video Online

Streaming video related to Middle Eastern, Latin American, African, Eastern European, and Asian Studies, as well as other global communities. Interdisciplinary coverage of cultural, political, and socioeconomic issues. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Art and Architecture in Video

Streaming video collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Art Full Text, 1929-present

Periodicals covering advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. Also includes exhibition reviews and reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed periodicals. Includes materials in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Includes both current and retrospective collections.

+

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series I

U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, all 50 states, circa 1610-2006. Articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more in full text.

+

ArticleFIRST

Index of articles from journals in several disciplines, including business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.

+

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

Top     

B

+

Barron's Digital Microfilm, 2008-present

Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of Barron's without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.

+

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Native North American culture, history, and life, 16th century to present. U.S. and Canadian books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.

+

Biography Index Past and Present

Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

+

Biological Abstracts

The premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.

+

BioOne

BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.

 

Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century -- See History Vault

+

Black Studies Center

African Americans, African Diaspora, and Africa, primarily 20th century. Historical newspapers, videos, images, scholarly essays, index of recent and historical periodical articles (some full text), and index of black literature.

+

BNA Tax Management Library

Analysis, news, and primary documents on financial accounting and taxation at state, federal, and international level. Includes Internal Revenue Code, tax cases, and regulations.

+

Book Review Digest Plus, 1905-present

Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides many full-text reviews or review excerpts. Includes books for children, young adults, and adults.

+

Books in Print

Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from tens of thousands of North American publishers. Now including Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S., which is updated quarterly.

+

Britannica Academic Edition / Encyclopedia Britannica

Britannica Academic Edition includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with tens of thousands of articles and biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.

+

British Periodicals I & II

British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as British view of events in America & world.

+

Burney Collection: 17th- & 18th-Century Newspapers & More

17th-18th century English newspapers, pamphlets, and books.

+

Business Abstracts with Full Text, 1913-present

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) & trade journals covering topics including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, & business history.

 

Business & Company Resource Center - is now Business Insights Global

+

Business and Economics Video Online

Streaming video in business, including case studies, documentaries, interviews, biographies, lectures, and instructional videos. Topics include marketing, sales, finance, macro and microeconomics, personnel management, logistics & operation, strategy, negotiations, theory, cross-cultural issues, social media marketing, ethics, project management, leadership, and entrepreneurship. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Business Insights: Global

Business Insights: Global provides company profiles with SWOT analysis, history, and market share; industry profiles and rankings; and articles and case studies from academic journals and magazines.

+

Business Source Complete

Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.

Top     

C

+

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

Citations for millions of books, official publications, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Links out to full text when available (including many items in British Periodicals).

+

Cabell's Online Directories of Publishing Opportunities in...

Lists publication requirement and contact information for journals. Topics/disciplines include: Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, and Psychology.

+

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

CAMIO contains color images of works in the fine arts, architecture, photography, and the decorative arts, drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress and prominent art museums. The images may be used for educational and research purposes if properly credited, but may not be published or otherwise distributed.

+

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.

+

Children's Core Collection

The Children's Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.

+

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.

+

Choice Reviews Online

Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year, Choice publishes thousands of reviews that are timely, authoritative, concise, and easy to use.

+

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

+

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)

Nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing.

+

The Civil War, Parts 1-6

- Histories, rosters, and muster lists for all Union regiments.
- Union & Confederate commanding officer memoirs, strategies, tactics.
- Selected newspaper content, 1850s-1860s: North, South, Midwest regions; Democratic, Republican, Know-Nothing political views.
- Memoirs, rosters, pamphlets, regimental histories, other documents illustrating the war experience in Iowa and the Northeast.

+

Classification Web (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students.
- LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records.
- LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables.
- Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.

+

ComAbstracts

Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.

+

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides online access to full-text articles from many communication and mass media journals and indexing and abstracting for hundreds more.

 

Community of Science Funding Opportunities - see Pivot

+

Computer Source

Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.

+

The Conference Board

Publications from the Conference Board, a global, independent research organization. Includes Research Reports on key management and economic topics. Offers Annual Studies on executive compensation and Economic Research on market forecast and economic indicators. Search the Business Management Research collection - please note Economic Datasets are not included in this search.

+

Consumer Health Complete

Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men's & women's health, addictions, medications, etc.

+

Contemporary Authors

For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers may current writers in a wide range of media.

+

Contemporary Literary Criticism

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) is the world's leading resource for information on modern literature. CLC Select presents significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.

+

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works

Thousands of real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Hundreds of hours of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.

+

CQ Press Political Reference Suite

Includes Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, and Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History.

+

CQ Researcher

Explores "hot" issues in the news with in-depth, objective, balanced reports. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers, and citizens on all sides of every issue. Reports also include charts, graphs, sidebar articles, pro-con feature, chronology, lengthy bibliographies, and a list of contacts.

+

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains physical constants and formulas, properties of elements and organic and inorganic compounds, and other chemical data.

+

CRCnetBASE

Provides e-books in the areas of Forensics/Law Enforcement and Nutrition. All these titles can be searched and opened from the SamCat online catalog, or the whole collection can be searched as a database.

+

Credo Reference

Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.

+

Criminal Justice (CJ) Abstracts

Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.

+

Criminal Justice and Law in Video

Streaming video, including documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals in justice and public safety. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Criminology Collection

The Criminology Collection includes the full-text of volume one to the present for select journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles cover such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.

+

Current Index to Statistics (CIS) Online

The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from fully-indexed core journals; non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content; proceedings and edited books; and other sources.

 

Current Research @ - see Dissertations & Theses @ Sam Houston State University

Top     

D

+

D & B Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)

Key Business Ratios from D & B (Dun & Bradstreet) allows research of both public and private companies' industry benchmarks. It provides 14 industry ratios, listed by SIC industry codes, which cover critical areas of business performance in solvency, efficiency, and profitability.

+

D & B Key Business Ratios Archive

Archives of the D & B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, spanning 1979-2010.

+

Dallas Morning News Historical Archive 1885-1984

Documents major events in Texas, the U.S. and the world, 1885-1984. Full papers: articles, photos, graphics, maps, political cartoons, editorials, ads, recipes, etc.

+

Dance in Video

Hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Some videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Datamonitor360

Datamonitor company profiles provide detailed information on companies including company overview, key facts, business description, history, major products and services, top competitors and company view. Industry profiles provide key information on industries by country including market size, competitive landscape, forecast data and market performance.

+

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Selected essays from the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.

+

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

Complete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.

+

Dictionary of National Biography (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past since the fourth century BC.

+

Dissertations and Theses Full Text

Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.

+

Dissertations @ Sam Houston State University

Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.

Top     

E

+

Early American Imprints 1639-1819 (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker)

Virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639-1819. Documents almost every aspect of life in colonial America and the early U.S.

+

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.

+

ebrary
Download ebooks from this collection

ebrary contains e-books spanning all subject areas. Titles can be found in SamCat, the library's online catalog, or books can be searched within ebrary.

+

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Download ebooks from this collection

Details on downloading and using e-books in this collection.
Huge collection of e-books in all subject areas. Books may be read online or downloaded to certain devices. These e-books are identical to the print versions. Create a free, personal MyEBSCOhost account to save bookmarks, notes, highlighting, etc.

+

EBSCOhost, All Databases (English Version)

Access the main menu of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.

+

EBSCOhost, All Databases (Spanish Version)

Access the main menu, in Spanish, of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.

+

EBSCOhost Electronic Journal Service (EJS)

Access to full text of all the online journals to which SHSU subscribes with EBSCO.

+

EconLit (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Includes journal articles, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, book chapters and essays. International in scope. Some articles are available in full-text (click on the "Search For Full Text" link).

+

Economía y Negocios

Several hundred journals, written in Spanish and Portuguese, addressing the disciplines of business and economics.

+

The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2008

Every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2008, including full-color images, multiple search indexes, and browsing facilities. Timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news, including political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.

+

Education Full Text, 1929-present

Comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks, cover to cover. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Includes both current and retrospective collections.

+

Education in Video

Streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers, including teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Education Research Complete

Full-text education journals; topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Includes journals, books and monographs, and conference papers.

+

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.

+

Electronic Collections Online

Scholarly journals from 1995 to early 2012 (content addition ceased Feb 1, 2012). Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited full text for journals in most subject areas.

+

Emerald Management Xtra 120

Journal articles covering topics on accounting, management, marketing, international business, organizational management, etc. Good global coverage, especially from the U.K and Western Europe. Over ¾ of the articles are peer-reviewed. Includes Emerald Management Reviews, a list of the top 300 business journals chosen annually by an independent accreditation board of management experts.

+

Emerald Management Reviews

Indexes a range of academic, trade, and popular journals in accounting, business and management from 1989 to the present. Provides independently written reviews drawn from the world's best management titles, hand-picked annually by a board of experts. Specialist reviewers write independent reviews based, then classify, keyword, and quality-code each individual article.

+

Encyclopedia Britannica / Britannica Academic Edition

Britannica Academic Edition includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with tens of thousands of articles and biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.

+

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, please try again later. Please be sure to logout when you have finished.

+

EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; How to create an account off-campus

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

+

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)

This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes hundreds of thousands of citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Provides links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website (about 80% of ERIC documents since 1993).

+

Essay and General Literature Index, 1900-present

Essay and General Literature is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada, and also provides full bibliographic information on the collective titles indexed. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. Also links to thousands of full-text books in the HathiTrust digital library.

+

Ethnic Studies Video Online

Films documenting the struggles and triumphs of underrepresented, indigenous, and immigrant communities. Covering Native American Studies, Chicano Studies, African American Studies, and examinations of other racially marginalized communities, the films present issues of social justice, racial and socioeconomic inequalities, and the groups’ contributions to history, culture, and society. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Ethnographic Video Online

Educational and documentary streaming videos in ethnography. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Evidence Analysis Library (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) is a synthesis of the best, most relevant nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions. An objective and transparent methodology is used to assess food and nutrition-related science. The EAL provides systematic reviews and practice guidelines related to the topics of food and nutrition. The systematic reviews are developed by Academy members for Academy members based on a predefined approach and criteria, using meticulous methods and electronic tools to ensure objectivity, transparency and reproducibility.

Top     

F

+

Factiva.com

Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources. Instructions for searching Factiva.

+

Federal Digital System (formerly GPO Access Online)

The Federal Digital System, formerly known as GPO Access Online, is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.

+

FictionConnection

Use this readers advisory tool to discover fiction titles similar to books you already enjoy.

+

Fiction Core Collection

List of classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. Covers the best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Covers individual novels and novellas contained in composite works. Includes bibliographic data, price, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from reviews.

+

Films on Demand

Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.

+

FirstGov

FirstGov is intended to be your first resource to find any government information on the Internet, with topics ranging from business and economy to money and benefits to science and technology - and everything in between!

+

First Research

First Research allows users to easily understand the challenges, opportunities, and operations of more than 600 Industry Segments.

+

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1974

U.S. intelligence on international affairs. Covers Asia, Africa, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, Soviet Union, etc. Transcribed and translated radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories--often first-hand reports of events as they occurred.

+

FORENSICnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE) (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
FORENSICnetBASE provides online access to e-books on forensic science, criminal justice, and law enforcement published by CRC Press.

+

Fuente Academica

Spanish-language scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers.

+

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia covering a variety of subject areas.

Top     

G

+

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Collection of reference books in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right or on "Show All" at left of screen.

+

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Provides essays, images, and audio examples, including entries by expert contributors from all over the world.

+

General Science Full Text

General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

+

GeoRef and GeoRef in Process

GeoRef contains citations for journals plus numerous conference papers, theses, and other publications in the fields of geology, geophysics, and paleontology. Citations cover the years 1785-present for geology of North America and the years 1933-present for geology of other areas worldwide.

+

goENC

Explore the most comprehensive collection of materials for math and science educators. You can find lesson ideas, articles about teaching practices, curriculum resources, professional development tools, and much more.

+

Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources)

Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.

+

GPO (Government Printing Office)

Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.

+

GrantsInfo.US American Grants and Loans Database

Provides information leading to financial help in the form of subsidies, grants, loans, joint ventures, or any funding program offered by the United States government or private corporations. Sources are compiled by experts and refreshed on a daily basis for the best data accuracy. Includes detailed contact information, a description of each grant, loan or program, and links to relevant websites. Searchable by both keyword and agency.

+

GreenFILE

GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles.

+

Grove Music Online

Includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Updated regularly.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Top     

H

+

Handbook of Texas Online

Nonpartisan, multidisciplinary encyclopedia from the Texas State Historical Association. Addresses almost every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture.

+

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

+

Health and Society in Video

Hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews that define and explore today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Full-text journal articles, as well as access to a medical encyclopedia, prescription drug information, a medical dictionary, and up-to-date health news for consumer researchers.

+

Health Reference Center Academic

This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full text for journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.

+

Health Source: Consumer Edition

A consumer-focused database with a large collection of health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, with access to full-text, consumer health magazines.

+

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides access to scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical and nursing topics. Additionally this database features the AHFS Consumer Medication guide, which is a recognized standard for patient drug information in both English and Spanish.

+

HeritageQuest Online

American culture and history, local and family history, starting with 13 original colonies. U.S. census and family & local history books; index of genealogy & local history articles. Special collections of Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records.

+

Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980

Hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, printed in U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Includes both Spanish-language and Spanish/English bilingual newspapers.

+

Historical Abstracts

World history (not including U.S. and Canada), 1450 to present. Covers Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe, Middle East, etc. Journals from around the world.

+

Historical Statistics of the United States

Source for qualitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.

+

History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

Documents diverse topics of the black Civil Rights Movement from the last decade of 19th century through last decade of 20th century. Includes:
- Federal government agency records.
- Papers from major organizations such as the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Black Power Movement groups, and many more.
- Papers from major civil rights figures such as Bayard Rustin, Mary McLeod Bethune, and others.

+

Houston Chronicle, 1985-present

The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.

+

Humanities Full Text

Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

+

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

+

Humanities Video Online

Multidisciplinary collection of films with a broad range of titles in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Top     

I

+

IBISWorld

Reports on hundreds of U.S. industries and market environments, searchable by NAICS and SIC codes. Profiles on major public U.S. companies. Includes Global Industry Reports.

+

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
View recently added and updated studies

View recently added and updated studies.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.

+

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

Includes online access to articles from peer-reviewed journals and magazines with archives back to 1988, plus conference proceedings with archives back to 1995.

+

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

Complete, full-color run of the world’s most iconic illustrated newspaper. Covers topics such as news, wars, royal events, scientific invention, exploration, fashion, and more.

+

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Index to Legal Periodicals & Books covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.

+

Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)

Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles, plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s.

+

InfoSci from IGI Global

InfoSci provides full-text chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000, as well as thousands of full-text journal articles. Teaching cases and a complete information science dictionary are also included. Topics covered include information/computer science, and technology as applied to business & public administration, engineering, education, medical & health care, and social sciences.

+

InfoTrac Newsstand

Collection of local, regional, and national full text newspapers, including the Austin American-Statesman, Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Star Telegram, New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, etc. Backfiles go as far back as 1996 for most newspapers.

+

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts

IPCA provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Covers some of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more.

+

IPA Source: IPA Transcriptions and Literal Translations of Songs and Arias

IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Provides thousands of texts, including hundreds of aria texts.

Top     

J

+

JCR: ISI Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field

JCR is available annually in two editions, Science and Social Sciences.

+

Job and Career Accelerator

The first fully integrated online career and job search platform. Designed to guide any job seeker through the most effective career selection and job search possible. From creating powerful resumes to assessing career alternatives, job seekers have everything they need in one easy-to-use application.

+

Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

The Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by specialists from around the world, the Online Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

+

JSTOR

Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

+

JSTOR Plant Science

JSTOR Plant Science provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It may be useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.

Top     

K

+

Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) (number of simultaneous users is limited)

Key Business Ratios from D & B (Dun & Bradstreet) allows research of both public and private companies' industry benchmarks. It provides 14 industry ratios, listed by SIC industry codes, which cover critical areas of business performance in solvency, efficiency, and profitability.

Top     

L

+

Learning Express Library

Online learning platform that provides the most comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with college skills, job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Access more than 800 online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.

+

Legal Collection

This database contains full text for many of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.

+

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.

+

Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes journals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

+

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, 1905-present

Library Literature & Information Science is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed. Includes both current and retrospective collections, which document all of the innovations, controversies, and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship.

+

Library Music Source

The complete or nearly complete published works of the world's great composers for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion and guitar. Hundreds of thousands of sheet music pages, including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples.

+

Library of Texas

The Library of Texas allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple public and academic library catalogs, the TexShare commercial databases, and other knowledge collections. Texans no longer need to use a separate interface for each individual library or database.

+

Literature Criticism Online

Centuries of literary analysis, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals, in an online format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.

+

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors.

+

Literary Reference Center

A comprehensive database of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism articles/essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more. Also includes a wide range of leading encyclopedias and other works in literary studies.

Top     

M

+

Marcive Web Docs

Provides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.

+

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra -- School Edition also provides full-text reference books, biographies, primary-source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.

+

MasterFILE Premier

Covers general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals.

+

MathSciNet

Identifies and provides reviews of journal papers and book chapters in math and related disciplines, some with links to full text.

+

MedicLatina

Articles from peer-reviewed Spanish-language medical journals published in Latin America.

+

MEDLINE

Huge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.

+

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, providing vital information such as test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication dates, and test authors. A score index identifies what is measured by each test. TIP also points to reviews published in the MMY.

+

Merck Manual

One of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.

+

Mergent Online (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Extensive profiles on tens of thousands of U.S. and international companies, including financial statements and ratios. Industry Reports by major world regions and country profiles. Most financial data are downloadable to Excel and PDF format. Includes Economics Time Series, providing key U.S. economic data.

+

Middle and Junior High Core Collection

The Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in five through ninth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.

+

Middle Search Plus

Provides full text for popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains biographies, primary-source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

+

Military and Government Collection

This database includes hundreds of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets and other content with current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.

+

Modern Language Association (MLA) Directory of Periodicals

Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, this directory lists periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. Periodicals relating to the areas of literature, language, linguistics, culture, and folklore are included. Entries for each title include editor, publisher, language, information about submission for publication, advertising rates, and copyright ownership. Search this database by keyword, subject, title, scope, ISSN , and more.

+

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography

Provides over a million citations for items from thousands of journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.

+

Music Index

The Music Index surveys data from hundreds of international music periodicals and reviews new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject Heading List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organologic topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

Top     

N

+

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers

Provides working papers by National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers; many of these reports of initial findings are subsequently published in scholarly journals. Working papers published after 1994 are available in full-text, with hundreds of papers published each year.

+

National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)

The NCDC is the world's largest repository of weather and climate data (current and historical), and serves as an archive for data from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Access to the NCDC is provided through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).

+

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are full-text.

+

National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994

Every page and every photograph of the official journal of the National Geographic Society, from the first issue to the mid-1990s.

+

Natural & Alternative Treatments

The database contains full-text articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information.

+

Naxos Music Library (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Naxos Music Library provides online access to well over one million tracks in classical, jazz, world, classic rock, and nostalgia music. Also includes music notes, instrumentation, CD cover artwork, synopses and libretti for 700+ operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, and more. A free Naxos app is available from both iTunes and Google Play. (Watch this video for help setting up the app.)

+

Naxos Music Library: Jazz (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Tracks from more than 6,000 CDs of both jazz legends and contemporary jazz, including famous names and independent labels.

+

New York Times Historical, 1851 to 3 years ago

Every page of every issue of the New York Times, from 1851 until approximately 3 years ago.

+

New York Times (Late Edition, East Coast) Digital Microfilm, 2008-present

Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.

+

Newsbank

The Newsbank portal provides access to a large number of current and historical newspapers, as well as several other collections of historical documents.

+

Newspaper Source

Selected full text from national (U.S.) and international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts, and regional (U.S.) newspapers. Updated daily.

+

Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections Online

Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection

+

Nineteenth (19th) Century Masterfile

Indices to 19th-century newspapers, periodicals, books, and government documents. Science/engineering history as well as politics, literature, social history, and much more.

+

Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive

19th-century newspapers from various urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Strong in topics such as Civil War, African-American history, Western migration, etc.

+

Non-FictionConnection

Use this readers advisory tool to discover non-fiction titles similar to books you already enjoy.

+

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. The current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

+

Nursing Resource Center

Brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results, animated anatomy and physiology diagrams, and Gale encyclopedia texts. Search results are returned in tabs corresponding to steps in the nursing process. Common disease and drug searchable from search boxes on Basic search page.

+

Nutrition Care Manual (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.

+

NUTRITIONnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE) (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Provides e-books in Nutrition (as well as Forensic Science, and the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics).

Top     

O

+

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

+

Opera in Video

Hundreds of hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Many performances include captions with translated lyrics.

+

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC)

Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.

+

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through millions of quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

+

Oxford Index

Oxford Index provides one interface to search across all of SHSU's Oxford journal subscriptions, plus American National Biography and Grove Music Online.

+

Oxford Music Online (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Comprehensive music research platform providing combined access to Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

+

Oxford Reference (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Oxford Reference combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.

Top     

P

+

PapersFIRST

An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

+

Papers of Thomas Jefferson

Search & view 37 volumes of Jefferson's papers, 1743 to his death in 1826. Includes all illustrations and bibliographical content of print edition, plus linked cross-references and indexes.

+

Periodicals Archive Online

Journal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

+

Philosopher's Index (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
PI covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. Contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews, published from 1940 to the present. Indexes journals from many countries in numerous languages.

+

Philosophy and Religious Studies in Video

Hundreds of films documenting philosophical and religious thought and how it shapes human behavior today, including documentaries, debates, personal interviews, biographies, and other primary source footage. Spanning from the Ancient Greeks to the Frankfurt School, from Hinduism to Christianity, from Classical Chinese Philosophy to American Pragmatism, the collection covers a broad range of perspectives. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Physical Education Index

Provides indexing and abstracts to journals and magazines with some linking out to full-text articles.

+

Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)

PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. Provides access to Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains full text of all APS journal articles published from 1893–2008.

+

Pivot (formerly Community of Science Funding Opportunities)

Pivot allows researchers in all disciplines to search for funding opportunities, research and collaboration opportunities, and people. It is one of the most comprehensive databases of funding from government and private sources.

+

Play Index

Citations to tens of thousands of plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. Includes hundreds of monologues, ranging from classic and historical to contemporary, written in or translated into English. For each play, details are provided such as plot summary, musical requirements, and set and scenery considerations. Narrow your search by genre, style, age-level appropriateness, cast size, or number of male/female roles.

+

Politics and Current Affairs Video Online

Issue-based documentaries from around the world. Films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history, including topics such as Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries.

+

Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson

Hundreds of hours of presidential tapes from the LBJ administration. Covers many major issues, from the War on Poverty to the Civil Rights Movement to the Vietnam War. Audio files and full transcription and annotation for each conversation. Also includes photo and video galleries and a linked timeline.

+

Primary Search

Provides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates as far back as 1990. Updated daily.

+

ProceedingsFIRST

An index of worldwide conference proceedings.

+

Professional Development Collection

Specialized collection of high-quality education journals and educational reports, designed for professional educators.

+

Project Euclid

Euclid Prime is a collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid.

+

Project MUSE

Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.

+

ProQuest Congressional

Federal legislative research database that provides a searchable electronic version of the CIS/Index for legislative research from 1970 forward and the full-text of publications from the U.S. Congress, current Code of Federal Regulations and the current U.S. Code.

+

ProQuest Criminal Justice

Provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.

+

ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.

+

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

+

PsycARTICLES

A source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.

+

Psychiatry Online

PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR® -- the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world -- and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

+

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.

+

Psychology Video Online

Documentaries, interviews, case studies, and experiments. Topics include addiction, group psychology, feminist psychology, family psychology, children & adolescent psychology, depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

PsycINFO

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

+

Public Library Core Collection: NonFiction

Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available.

Top     

R

+

RAND Texas

RAND Texas provides data about Texas at the state, county, and city levels. Subject areas include business and economics, community (including crime statistics), education, energy and environment, government finance, health and socioeconomic data, and population and demographics.

+

RCLWeb: Resources for College Libraries

A collection of recommended titles, considered the premier core list for academic libraries.

+

Reader's Guide to Periodicals Literature, 1890-present

Readers' Guide contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

+

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

+

Regional Business News

Full-text coverage of business newspapers, newswires, and journals from various U.S. metropolitan and rural areas. Updated daily.

+

Religion & Philosophy Collection

Hundreds of full-text periodicals, most peer-reviewed, in philosophy (including all major subfields); religion (including Judaism, Christianity, and non-western religions); denominational theology; exegesis and interpretation of sacred texts; and the intersection of religion with other fields such as archaeology, history, law, political science, and sociology.

+

Research Insight [on DVD / Network]

Software program for accessing and performing in-depth analysis of financial data. View instructions for using Research Insight (PDF).
This not a web-based resource like other databases. It can only be accessed from the Library Reference Desk Area computers, or Library laptops available for checkout to use within the Library. To Access: Go to your Start Menu > Library Resources > Research Insight > click the Research Insight link.

+

RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) Journal, including case studies

Includes research on Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology and its business applications. Go to Premium Content for case studies, best practices, etc.

+

RIA Checkpoint & International Tax Library (number of simultaneous users is limited)
     Request an RIA login (must be done each semester)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Request an RIA login (must be done each semester).
For in-depth accounting and tax research; includes analysis from RIA, WG&L, and PPC. Includes International Tax Library, providing analytical and primary source materials.
Free individual login needed; please request an RIA login EACH SEMESTER to sign up; an email with your login username and password will be sent to the address you provide.

+

RMA e-Statement Studies

Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB) and Industry Default Probabilities (IDP) for 600+ industries by year, asset range, and region.
"All data downloaded from RMA's e-Statement Studies is the property of RMA and must be destroyed when the user leaves the University and/or when access to the database is terminated." Authors desiring to use RMA licensed content in a published piece of literature must consult this license: RMA License to Incorporate.

+

Roper Center

Archive of public opinion research, containing hundreds of thousands of questions and answers from 1935 to the present. For access to the datasets, click on Login and set up a free account.
- iPoll database of questions and answers
- Full datasets to conduct analyses of archived surveys
- Roper Center Homepage

Top     

S

+

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari is an electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals, providing searchable full-text contents of thousands of books selected for SHSU.

+

Sage Premier / Sage Journals Online

SAGE Premier provides access to hundreds of SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999.

+

Sage Research Methods
Tutorial videos on navigation and use

Watch tutorial videos to learn how to navigate and use this resource.
Sage Research Methods Online is comprised of Sage's Little Green Books, Little Bluebooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and selected journal articles. You have the option to create an account to save your work, download book chapters, and view explanatory videos.
Please note: Some features of this resource are not optimized for use on iPads.

+

Science & Technology Collection

The Science & Technology Collection contains hundreds of leading full-text journals in topics such as aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.

+

Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

+

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines.

+

Science Video Online

Films covering Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

SciFinder Scholar
Email lib_erl@shsu.edu from your SHSU email account to request a login.

Email lib_erl@shsu.edu from your SHSU email account to request a login. By return email, you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.

SciFinder provides access to databases of chemical abstracts; organic and inorganic substances and biosequences; reactions from journal literature and patents; compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists; international commercial suppliers; references from currently published journals; and patent information from active patent-issuing authorities.

+

Scribner Writers Series

Detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Many authors in the Scribner Writers Series are seen from multiple perspectives through two, three, or sometimes four essays. Students can go directly to an entry on a specific author, combine search criteria for a much more complex search, or explore thematic and chronological topics to make connections among writers.

+

Sears List of Subject Headings

Sears List of Subject Headings is a thesaurus-like database delivering a core list of headings, together with patterns and examples to guide the cataloger in creating further headings as needed.

+

Senior High Core Collection

The Senior High Core Collection includes materials for readers in ninth through twelfth grade, including books on a wide variety of topics for youth, ranging from Native Americans and rainforest ecology to health issues. The collection also includes curriculum-related material in social studies and the sciences; drama, novels, and short story collections; biographies; books for the librarian or media specialist; and recommended Web sites.

+

The Serials Directory

Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains U.S. and international titles, including newspapers; historical data for additional titles; and data from publishers worldwide.

+

Short Story Index, 1915-present

Short Story Index indexes more than 250,000 stories published in collections, anthologies, and periodicals. It includes the full text of almost 5,000 short stories and links to the full text of thousands more in the HathiTrust Digital Library. Users can search by keywords, author, title, date, or subject, but also by literary technique, theme, locale, or narrative devices.

+

SingersBabel

SingersBabel helps musicians gain an awareness of the synergy of words and music by integrating traditional teaching tools with established technology. Developed through work with diction specialists, SingersBabel includes tools to teach and refine pronunciation, enhance comprehension, understand changes in language, improve diction, and understand and evaluate diverse viewpoints. Note: Some features of this resource may not function correctly in Internet Explorer.

+

Social Science Electronic Data Library

Provides access to hundreds of premier datasets and thousands of variables. Each dataset is structured identically and includes the raw data file, SPSS program statements, SAS program statement, SPSS data dictionary, SPSS frequencies, SPSS portable file, and a User's Guide.

+

Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Multidisciplinary database indexing social sciences journals in many disciplines, as well as relevant references from scientific and technical periodicals. International in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.

+

Social Sciences Full Text

Wide assortment of important English-language journals published in the social sciences, including many peer-reviewed journals and content dating back as far as 1983.

+

SocINDEX

Comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.

+

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.

+

SpringerLINK

+

Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage

Company profiles, including financial data, top competitors, and extensive stock information. Industry surveys, including trends, key ratios, and how to analyze a given industry. Mutual funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) analysis and ranking. Good "Financial Education" section for non-finance majors.

+

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref is a core collection of healthcare related e-books. Also included is access to evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, drug formulas, math converters, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, American Pharmacists Association DrugInfoLine, and NCLEX-RN podcasts. STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts allows you to receive email alerts, based on your areas of interest, for evidence-based articles published in clinical healthcare journals.

+

STAT-USA Sources (Guide from University of Central Florida)

STAT-USA, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, provided authoritative Federal information for the business, economic, and trade communities. The STAT-USA Office has closed down; its services are no longer available. Please use this guide to locate the data sources that were provided through the STAT-USA website.

+

STN Easy (Scientific & Technical Information Network)

STN Easy provides access to the leading chemical indexing database, Chemical Abstracts, and CA Registry. The use of this database is restricted to faculty, upper division and graduate students within the Department of Chemistry.

Top     

T

+

Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for some of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

+

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Maps, 1867-1970, chart the development of 400+ Texas towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city/town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet : 1 inch. Created to assist fire insurance companies in assessing insurance risk. Maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time of drawing and previous numbers.

+

Texas Reference Center

Texas history, diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, etc. Books, journals, biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas, with Texas and national news coverage.

+

Texas Reference Sources Online

This free online publication, produced by the Reference Round Table of the Texas Library Association, is a useful guide to all the best printed and electronic reference sources about Texan history, culture, politics, science, and more. An excellent tool to support all Texas-related research.

+

Theatre in Video

Definitive performances of the world's leading plays, as well as film documentaries, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

Thomas Register (ThomasNet)

Directory of North American manufacturing companies. Provides basic company info, websites, and product catalogs (when available). Searchable by product type, region, and company type (e.g. manufacturer, supplier, retailer, etc.)

+

The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-2006

"World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, 1785-2006.

+

TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains articles from diverse sources, including many in full text.

+

Twayne's Authors Series

The Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.

+

Twentieth (20th) Century American Poetry

This collection includes thousands of poems drawn from volumes by hundreds of poets, including Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and many more. The majority of the poems included are copyrighted works specially licensed from major publishers. All major poetry movements and schools are represented.

+

Twentieth (20th) Century English Poetry

A collection of poetry volumes by hundreds of poets from 1900 to the present day, incorporating the works of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond. Authors included range from canonical to popular to lesser known but important poets; represented are names such as Yeats, Housman, Lawrence, Sassoon, Eliot, Plath, Kipling, William Empson, Simon Armitage, and many more. Many of the major themes of 20th century writing -- nationality, politics, war, sexuality, religion and gender -- are also represented.

Top     

U

+

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory

UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

+

Urban Studies Abstracts

Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Items are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. Coverage dates as far back as 1973.

+

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994

Reports, documents, journals of U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1994. Every publication from 15th - 103rd Congresses.

+

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps

Over 65,000 maps, 1872-1979, 42nd Congress 3rd session - 96th Congress 1st session. Diverse topics such as diseases, railroads, migrations, explorations, international events, & more.

Top     

V

+

Value Line Investment Survey Online (number of simultaneous users is limited)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Value Line provides current and historical financial data for thousands of U.S. companies, mutual funds, etc., along with analytical tools, rankings, and analysis to support investment research.

+

Vocational & Career Collection

Provides full-text coverage of trade and industry-related periodicals. Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public.

+

Vogue Archive (1892-present)

Entire run of Vogue magazine from 1892-present, including text, images, captions, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Useful for researching fashion design and marketing, popular culture, photography and visual arts, gender, social history, designing period costumes, and more.

Top     

W

+

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) Digital Microfilm, 2008-present

Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the Wall Street Journal without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.

+

Web of Science

Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

+

Westlaw Campus

Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.

+

Wiley Online Library

Search and browse millions of articles from thousands of journals, books, and other materials in the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Subjects range from Agriculture, Business, and Chemistry to Criminology, Nursing, and Psychology.

+

Women's and Gender Studies Video Online

Films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics. The collection addresses issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, gay and lesbian studies, and provides insight into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

World Almanac

A general reference source on the U.S., each of the 50 states, and other countries. Includes a timeline of the year, biographies, encyclopedia entries, statistics, information on the federal government, historical facts, flags and maps, important manmade and natural landmarks, awards and prizes information, and sports information.

+

WorldCat

Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.

+

World History Collection

Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains cover-to-cover full text of numerous journals, including many peer-reviewed titles. Full text dates as far back as 1964.

+

World History in Video

Documentaries covering earliest civilizations to the late 20th century. Includes Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

World Languages and Literature in Video

Documentary films and adaptations covering the leading figures in world literature. Selections cover studies of languages, cultures, and literary traditions—including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Japanese, Chinese, and Latin America. Through interviews, biographies, and surveys of regional literatures and literary periods, the database offers researchers and students a comprehensive resource for study of literature through time and around the globe. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

+

World News Connection

Full-text summaries and translations into English of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is 1996-present.

Top     

Looking for something different? View a list of electronic journal packages to which the Library subscribes, or search all of the library's journal titles.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System