Trial Databases

Popular Databases:                Mobile Databases Mobile Databases

Access to trial databases is available for a LIMITED TIME. The Library encourages everyone to share their feedback concerning the usefulness of databases on trial. Your feedback can help to shape decisions about what we add to the Library's collection.


The Cochrane Library

Trial available until 29 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.


Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Trial available until 25 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

The full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains nearly 500,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. This resource includes full text for nearly 300 magazines and journals.


English Historical Documents Online

Trial available until 29 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

Key features of English Historical Documents Online include:
• Instant access to over 5,000 historical documents
• Highly discoverable content through Quick, Advanced and Faceted search
• Search refinement through adding and removing search filters directly on the results page
• Explore content by Date, Historiography and Historical methods, Population and environment, Society, Economic affairs and technology, Intellectual, cultural and the arts, Religious belief, practice and organization, Politics, administration and law, Military, Foreign affairs, Status entries and Source types
• Personalized login for individual users: bookmark entries, and save and manage searches
• Download, print, share and citation tools
• Institutional access via Shibboleth
• Institutional account management functionality
• COUNTER compliant analytics and usage statistics


International NewsStand

Trial available until 31 July 2014. Please share your feedback online.

ProQuest Newsstand International provides information from more than 280 of the world's top newspapers. The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are just a few of the sources in ProQuest Newsstand International. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also detailed information on sports, business, and the arts around the world. Citations and abstracts are available for all articles saving researchers time.


Oxford Bibliographies Online

Trial available until 6 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) is an entirely new research tool for the social sciences and humanities. A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research. Each entry is a selective guided tour through the key literature on a topic, receives multiple peer-reviews as well as Editorial Board approval, and is designed to facilitate a research experience with no dead ends. All citations are linked through to your collection via OpenURL, full-text via DOIs, or to the web via links to OCLC, WorldCat, and Google Books, allowing users to locate quickly full-text content directly from OBO. OBO is the ultimate collection development tool for librarians and time saving tool for students and researchers.


Palgrave MacMillan

Trial available until 30 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

Palgrave Connect eBooks
International Historical Statistics—NEW in 2013
Encyclopedia of Strategic Management-- NEW in 2013
Dictionary of Economics Archive
Statesman’s Yearbook Archive


ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)

Trial available until 27 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.


RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Trial available until 30 June 2014. Please share your feedback online.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature’s coverage spans 1967 to the present, and the database is updated monthly. However, the documentation of conference proceedings goes back to 1835, and further retrospective coverage is planned. Since its first publication in 1967, RILM has covered articles in over 11,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM includes over 700,000 records, and over 40,000 new records are added every year.


RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature

Trial available until 30 June  2014. Please share your feedback online.

RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature offers nearly 20,000 records, including music-related articles published in conference proceedings from 1835 through 1966 as well as articles published in Festschriften, honoring music scholars, from 1840 through 1966. Content also includes articles in anniversary volumes published in honor of musicians and composers dating back to the 18th century. Journal articles are the next priority for updates; hundreds will be abstracted and indexed every month going forward. Other document types will follow.


T&F eBooks

Trial available until 13 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

This site offers instant access to the world's premier Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, STM and Law content — from renowned imprints such as Routledge, Psychology Press and Focal Press. We have more than 40,000 titles available for purchase by institutions via our eBook collections — from general subject areas to interdisciplinary selections hand-picked by our editorial teams. We can also assist you to tailor-make your own custom package.


Worldbank eLibrary

Trial available until 30 April 2014. Please share your feedback online.

The World Bank is the world’s largest source of development assistance. In support of its mission—to end extreme poverty and promote shared prosperity—the World Bank conducts and publishes research on a broad range of global and regional issues. The World Bank eLibrary is a subscription-based website and has been serving the unique needs of researchers and librarians since 2003. Built on a new state-of-the-art platform, access to World Bank research and knowledge is faster, easier, and more convenient than ever. The eLibrary offers full-text access to the complete backlist of all books, working papers, and journal articles published by the World Bank since the 1990s. Content in the eLibrary is carefully curated to meet the highest academic and editorial standards. Users of eLibrary are assured full and immediate access to all academic research and scholarship published by the World Bank, the majority made available through Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor