Sociology

Back to Subject List

Primary Sociology Databases

SocINDEX

SocINDEX™ is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,969,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300+ term sociological thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 1,120 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Subjects include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Wilson Social Sciences Full-Text

Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Additional Databases

Alternative Press Index

Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Provides in-depth coverage of alternative sources of information in the social sciences and humanities from 1991 to the present. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines, and selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects include anarchism, indigenous peoples, democracy, labor, ecology, national liberation, feminism, socialism, gay and lesbian issues.

Alternative Press Index Archive

An index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Comprehensive guide to over 700 international and interdisciplinary sources of alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines; provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.

Black Studies Center (ProQuest/Chadwyk-Healey)

Black Studies Center is a searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Includes links to full-text articles for many articles.

Current Index to Statistics(CIS) Online

The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.

EndNote

Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, GreenFILE’s initial release includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles, including comprehensive coverage – from volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913), and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) (Wilson)

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index is also included.

Access is for three users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. ICPSR adds value by providing data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files, converting codebooks to PDF and providing detailed descriptions of the studies. Some datasets are enhanced for use in ICPSR’s online Data Analysis System (from the ICPSR User Guide). Sam Houston State University’s membership in ICPSR is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library. Click here to view recent updates and additions.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC)

OVRC draws on Greenhaven Press' acclaimed social issues print series as well as other reference content to create a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Viewpoint articles — frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets — and Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.

Access is for two users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries.

Population Index

Updated annually. Covers all fields of interest to demographers. Contains selective indexing with abstracting from journals, books, working papers, doctoral dissertations and other sources. (user's guide).

ProjectMuse

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Urban Studies Abstracts

Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.