Reference Databases

Back to Subject List

 

American National Biography

American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Associations Unlimited

Contains information for approximately 440,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations. Includes IRS 501(c) data on U.S. non-profits. Provides full-text association materials (brochures, pamphlets and membership application forms) for about 2,500 U.S. associations.

Book Index with Reviews (Ebsco)

Book Index with Reviews includes over 4 million book reviews across all subjects, including all lexiles/reader categories. Includes over 800,000 full-text reviews from multiple sources. BIwR is also a readers' advisroy system with each book having a four star popularity rating system.

Bowkers Books In Print

Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from over 44,000 North American publishers. Now including Publishers, Distributors and Wholesalers of the U.S., which is updated quarterly.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Dictionary of National Biography

An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Encyclopedia Americana

Online version of print encyclopedia, it blends the depth and accuracy of the print edition with the currency expected of an online reference work.

GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of over 100 reference books (July 2008) that are searchable together or individually. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to history, philosophy, religion, science, business, information & publishing, literature, law, medicine, education, technology, and biography. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right or on "Show All" at left of screen.

The Handbook of Texas

The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations.

HeritageQuest

ProQuest Information and Learning Company's HeritageQuest provides an ongoing collection of research materials for tracing family lineage and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. This collection assembles genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.

JCR : ISI Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
  • Most frequently cited journals in a field
  • Highest impact journals in a field
  • Hottest journals in a field
  • Leading journals in a field
  • Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions. Only the editions and years that our institution subscribes to will display on the home page(currently only 2003).
  • Science Edition: Contains data from over 5,700 journals in the areas of science and technology.
  • Social Sciences Edition: contains data from over 1,700 journals in the social science.

LexisNexis Statistical (January 1983 - current)

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Oxford Reference Online

ORO combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference Online.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager. Import citations from SamCat and other online databases or type in information directly. Then use RefWorks when writing papers to format citations and create your bibliography.

Ulrichsweb.com

Ulrichís Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

World Almanac

Offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.

CredoReference (formerly XreferPlus)

--Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 200 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.