Psychology

Back to Subject List

Primary Psychology Databases

PsycINFO

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Psychiatry Online

PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.

Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest)

Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Tests in Print

Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Wilson Social Sciences Full Text

Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete

(Indexing and Abstracting 1984 - current; Full Text 1990 - current) Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.

Criminology: A Sage Full Text Collection (1982 - current)

Criminology includes the full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years. Encompassing over 4,100 articles, it covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.

Current Research @

Provides fulltext of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws. Primarily covers legal and business topics. Formerly called Academic Universe.

Westlaw Campus

Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.