Political Science

Back to Subject List

Primary Political Science Databases

LexisNexis Congressional

Federal legislative research database that provides a searchable electronic version of the CIS/Index for legislative research from 1970 forward and the full-text of publications from the U.S. Congress, current Code of Federal Regulations and the current U.S. Code.

Alternative Press Index

Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Provides in-depth coverage of alternative sources of information in the social sciences and humanities from 1991 to the present. Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines, and selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects include anarchism, indigenous peoples, democracy, labor, ecology, national liberation, feminism, socialism, gay and lesbian issues.

Wilson Social Sciences Full Text

Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

World News Connect

Full-text summaries and translations into English of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is 1996-present.

Additional Databases

ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. ICPSR adds value by providing data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files, converting codebooks to PDF and providing detailed descriptions of the studies. Some datasets are enhanced for use in ICPSR’s online Data Analysis System (from the ICPSR User Guide). Sam Houston State University’s membership in ICPSR is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library. Click here to view recent updates and additions.

Military and Government Collection

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries.

Social Science Citation Index

As a part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,700 social sciences journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as relevant references from over 3,300 scientific and technical periodicals. It is international in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
Leads to citations with bibliographical references for articles from over 1,700 journals. Many of the references include author-prepared abstracts.

LexisNexis Statistical

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

Index to Texas Magazines and Documents

Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government. Includes links to some full text when it is available. Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote

Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.