Newspapers and Current Events
Current Events
Current Newspapers
Historical Newspapers
Current Events Databases
CQ Researcher (1923-current) 
This award-winning full-text online version of the print publication explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. The CQ Researcher's hallmark is scrupulous objectivity and balance. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC)
OVRC draws on Greenhaven Press' acclaimed social issues print series as well as other reference content to create a dynamic online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Viewpoint articles — frameworks that allow students to explore each topic's many facets — and Thomson Gale's Information Plus series featuring statistics and government data placed in context.
Access is for two users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Current Newspaper Databases
America's Newspapers (Newsbank, INC.) 
Full-text access to 644 national newspaper titles, including 31 Texas titles. Tracks information at the state, national and international levels. Updates are available the next day after publication (24 hrs).
Houston Chronicle (1985-current)
The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.
INFOTRAC Custom Newspapers
A web-based collection of local, regional, and national full text newspapers, including the Austin American-Statesman, Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Star Telegram (5/99-2/01), New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, etc. Backfiles go as far back as 1996 for most newspapers.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers, journals and magazines, including selected articles from the Wall Street Journal.
Texas Reference Center 
The Texas Reference Center includes the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. Also available in the Texas Reference Center are more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston.This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
World News Connection
World News Connection (WNC) offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world, WNC provides users with the power to identify what really is happening in a specific country or region. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. (taken from wnc.dialog.com).
Historical Newspaper Databases
America's Historical Newspapers. (1690-1922) 
America's Historical Newspapers provides bibliographic and full-image access to nearly two centuries' worth of local newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690 - 1876), Early American Newspapers, Series II (1758 - 1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series III (1829 - 1922).
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977) 
The Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977) is a unique full-image digital collection documenting major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, as reported in this leading metropolitan daily newspaper. Available only from NewsBank, the archive is a valu-able resource for primary source research into the news of the day, cul-ture, government, economics, politics, science, social issues, and more. Researchers access cover-to-cover searchable text, then view PDFs of the full page, or individual articles, photos, graphics, maps, political cartoons, editorials, display and classified advertisements, recipes – the complete content of the newspaper.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Historical New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue published in 1851 through 2005. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
19th Century Masterfile
Indices to Nineteenth-Century Newspapers, Periodicals, Books and Government Documents.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
This new database provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
The Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985)
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 delivers every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London). The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
