Music

Primary Music Databases

Music Index

The Music Index surveys data from more than 640 international music periodicals and review new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject Heading List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organologic topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

Grove Music Online

Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes). Grove Music Online will be updated regularly to ensure it remains the most up to date music reference work on the Internet.

Access is for three users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

First published in print in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken on the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.

Access is for three users only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Additional Databases

Periodicals Archive Online

Covers: 1770 - 1995. Formerly PCI Full Text. Updated annually. Indexes over 10.75 million articles in 3,142 journals. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Includes full image of over 350 journals and the archive will continue to grow each year.

Wilson Humanities Full Text

Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

JSTOR

Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

Project Muse

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with subjects ranging from the humanities to sciences.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search)

Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from more than 5,800 social science and science journals; includes more than 1.4 million records containing bibliographic citations; an additional 700+ records give preferred and variant names of cited authors. A&HSearch indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more, and is the online equivalent of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, compiled by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); updated weekly. Includes: arts, humanities, related social science and science information.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.