Library Science
Back to Subject List
Primary Library Science Databases
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Library Literature & Information Science is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students.
- LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records.
- LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables.
- Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
The Children’s Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.
The Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in five through ninth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
Public Library Core Collection: Fiction features classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. The best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, are listed, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Public Library Core Collection: Fiction provides entries for individual novels and analytic entries for novellas and novels contained in composite works. You will find more than 8,000 titles listed, with entries providing complete bibliographic data, price, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available.
The Senior High Core Collection includes materials for readers in nine through twelvth grade. Selected and recommended by specialists in library service to young adults in senior high schools and public libraries across the United States, the books listed encompass a wide variety of topics for youth, ranging from material on Native Americans and rainforest ecology to health issues. The collection also includes curriculum-related material in social studies and the sciences; drama, novels, and short story collections; biographies; and books for the librarian or media specialist. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
Additional Databases
ERIC (via EbscoHost)
This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. There are several versions of the ERIC database available from the library's website; all provide links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website, E*Subscribe. E*Subscribe contains about 80% of the ERIC documents available since 1993. The library also maintains the ERIC Document collection on microfiche (1966 to present). ERIC can also be accessed:
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions. Only the editions and years that our institution subscribes to will display on the home page(currently only 2003).
- Science Edition: Contains data from over 5,700 journals in the areas of science and technology.
- Social Sciences Edition: contains data from over 1,700 journals in the social science.
Book Index with Reviews includes over 4 million book reviews across all subjects, including all lexiles/reader categories. Includes over 800,000 full-text reviews from multiple sources. BIwR is also a readers' advisroy system with each book having a four star popularity rating system.
Provides fulltext of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 1,000,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.