Databases and Indexes
The databases and indexes provided by the Newton Gresham Library allow users to search multiple journals, newspapers, and other periodicals to find information.
Alphabetical List of All Databases
Databases by Subject
General/Multidisciplinary Databases
Reference Databases
Trial Databases
Database access problems
General/Multidisciplinary Databases
General and multidisciplinary databases are very broad and can be used for a variety of subjects and topics. These databases are ideal for researchers choosing or beginning to research a topic. Below are some of the most popular general databases, click here to see all of the general and multidisciplinary databases.
The
icon indicates that full text is available for that database.
Academic Search Premier 
(Indexing and Abstracting 1984 - current; Full Text 1990 - current) Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.
EBSCOhost (All Databases) English Version 
Access the main menu of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
JSTOR 
Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
LexisNexis Academic (1983 - current) 
Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition 
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
More General/MultiDisciplinary Databases
Reference Databases
XreferPlus 
xreferplus is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 150 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in xreferplus.
World Almanac 
Offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.
Oxford Reference Online 
ORO combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference Online.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Encyclopedia Americana 
The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations.
More Reference Databases
Databases by Subject
To find more focused information for a topic in a specific subject area, please click on the appropriate subject below.
Economics Education English Forensic Science Geology/Geography Health & Kinesiology History Library Science Mathematics |
Trial Databases
The following databases are being evaluated by the NGL for purchase. They are only available on campus.
Book Index with Reviews
This database contains information on over 4 million book titles in a wide range of formats with more than 800,000 full-text searchable reviews from sources such as Library Journal, CHOICE, and Publishers Weekly. Book Index with Reviews allows users to identify the most popular titles in any genre or subject area, keep and maintain lists and bibliographies, browse lists of new and forthcoming titles by topic, and set up notification alerts for release of new titles in areas of interest.
UserName: ac5164
Password: TX77341
End Date: 07/29/08
Brittanica Online - Academic Edition
Continuously updated, this award-winning reference site is now faster, easier to use, and full of new content specifically designed to meet the needs of research libraries. The foundation of Britannica Online (BOL) is the Encyclopaedia Britannica, the largest, most authoritative encyclopedia in the world. Includes:
• Over 75,000 Articles from Encyclopaedia Britannica and over 23,000 biographies
• Year in Review (back to 1993)
• World Data Analyst – Britannica’s exclusive database of current and past statistics on the countries of the world
• Gateway to the Classics – An extensive collection of significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science
• Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus
• Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Quotations
• Full-text journal and magazine articles from EBSCO and ProQuest journals – more than 700 titles, hand-selected for college needs
• BBC & New York Times daily headlines
• World Atlas – Access Britannica maps through this interactive resource
UserName: albert
Password: einstein
End Date: 08/05/08
Cambridge Histories Online
This unique historical e-reference database allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse. Includes extensive bibliographic referencing enhancing usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
End Date: 08/05/08
ForensicNetbase
CRC Press forensic handbooks online. Includes over 200 titles in full-text, searchable format.
UserName: lib_eae@shsu.edu
Password: SamHouston
End Date: 06/29/08
Oxford Digital reference Shelf
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern WorldThe Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
These 3 encyclopedias are examples of the e-reference works available from Oxford University Press.
UserName: sneakpeek
Password: fromoxford
End Date: 07/15/08
