+ |
A to Z World Culture
Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
|
+ |
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.
|
+ |
Academic Video Online
|
+ |
Access World News
Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with over 5,000 newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Also includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
|
+ |
ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
The Digital Library provides online access to all ACM titles from volume 1 - forward. All journals, sigs, conference proceedings, newsletters, transactions, and magazines published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and selected titles published by affiliated organizations are included.
|
+ |
ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
ACS provides full-text access to over 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year with over 3 million pages of original chemistry.
|
+ |
African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Approximately 270 U.S. newspapers, 1827-1998. Chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
|
+ |
African American Periodicals 1825-1995
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
|
+ |
AGRICOLA
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
|
+ |
Alt-HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
|
+ |
Ambrose Video
Collection of online films, including the complete BBC Shakespeare Plays, as well as numerous titles in history and the sciences (including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environmental science, geology, meteorology, and physics).
|
+ |
America: History and Life
U.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Local, state, and international journals (over 90% in English language). Links out to many full-text articles from other databases.
|
+ |
American History in Video
Hundreds of hours of documentary video in the history of the United States.
|
+ |
American Memory Project from the Library of Congress
American history, 1400-present. Millions of items: written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music. Free website from the Library of Congress.
|
+ |
American National Biography (number of simultaneous users is limited)
American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
|
+ |
American Periodicals Series Online
U.S. periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Special interest, general, children's, women's magazines & literary & professional journals.
|
+ |
American Social History Online
American social history, 19th-20th century (some 17-18th & 21st century content). Free online collection of over 500,000 documents and images.
|
+ |
American State Papers 1789-1838
U.S. Congressional and Executive documents, 1789-1838. Covers many topics, such as Lewis and Clark expedition and trade with China.
|
+ |
America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922
American and U.S. local newspapers from all 50 states, ranging from 1690 to 1977.
Includes Early American Newspapers Series I (1690-1876), Series II (1758-1900), Series III (1829-1922); African American Newspapers (1827-1998); Texas Historical Newspapers (1836-1977).
|
+ |
Annual Reviews Science Collection
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.
|
+ |
APA Handbooks: Educational Psychology Handbook, and Handbook of Ethics in Psychology
The Educational Psychology Handbook examines theories, constructs, and critical issues;individual differences, cultural factors, and contextual factors;and applications to learning and teaching.
In the Handbook of Ethics in Psychology, contributors investigate the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, forensic, health, and tele- psychology.
Please Note: These two handbooks are the ONLY content to which the library has access in APA PsycNet. If you wish to search PsycArticles, you can do it through the library's subscription with EBSCO.
|
+ |
ArchiveGrid
Search the collection descriptions for nearly a million collections of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. ArchiveGrid does NOT contain the full-text or images of these collections, but it helps researchers identify what material an archive holds and how to contact the archive to request copies or arrange a visit.
|
+ |
Art Full Text (formerly Wilson)
Provides access to 600 periodicals covering advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes exhibition reviews and reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins in 1984; abstracting coverage begins in 1994; and full text coverage for selected periodicals begins in 1997.
|
+ |
Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984 (formerly Wilson)
An invaluable, in-depth record of contemporary art history, Art Index Retrospective indexes almost 600 publications over 55 years, many of them peer-reviewed, plus citations for over 25,000 book reviews and indexing of art reproductions. Coverage includes fine, decorative, and commercial art. In addition to the leading English-language art journals, Art Index Retrospective also covers a host of publications in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
|
+ |
Art Museum Image Gallery (formerly Wilson)
This database provides more than 165,000 high-quality art images and related multimedia, all rights-cleared for educational use. Images include detailed descriptions with curatorial text, provenance data, etc. Covers many times and places, from 3000 BC to the present, and from Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.
|
+ |
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series I
U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture in all 50 states. Content dates from approximately 1610-2006. All-digital access to periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more.
|
+ |
ArticleFIRST
Index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals in several disciplines, including business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.
|
+ |
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from more than 5,800 social science and science journals; includes more than 1.4 million records containing bibliographic citations; an additional 700+ records give preferred and variant names of cited authors. A&HSearch indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more, and is the online equivalent of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, compiled by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); updated weekly. Includes: arts, humanities, related social science and science information.
|
+ |
Barron's Digital Microfilm, 2008-present
Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of Barron's without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
|
+ |
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Native North American culture, history, and life, from the 16th century to present. Books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the U.S. and Canada.
|
+ |
Biography Index Past and Present (formerly Wilson)
W
Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
|
+ |
Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts is the premier database for biology, botany and related topics world-wide, indexing over 4000 journals. Provides primarily citations, but links out to some full-text articles.
|
+ |
BioOne
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
|
+ |
BIR Entertainment
Information on about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles, with more being added regularly. Find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or a specific genre.
|
+ |
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
37 collections of federal government agency records that document the black Civil Rights Movement, from the last decade of the 19th century to the last decade of the 20th century. Covers diverse topics such as the Great Migration, Brown vs. Board, the Montgomery Bus Boycott, the March on Washington, the Voting Rights Act, the Rodney King case, and many more.
|
+ |
Black Studies Center
African Americans, African Diaspora, and Africa, primarily 20th century. Historical newspapers, videos, images, scholarly essays, index of recent and historical periodical articles (with some full text), and index of black literature.
|
+ |
BNA Tax Management Library
Analysis, news, and primary documents on financial accounting and taxation at state, federal, and international level. Includes Internal Revenue Code, tax cases, and regulations
|
+ |
Book Review Digest Plus, Current & Retrospective (formerly Wilson)
Includes current (1984-present) and retrospective (1905-1982) collections.
Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides many full-text reviews or review excerpts. Includes books for children, young adults, and adults.
|
+ |
Books In Print
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from over 44,000 North American publishers. Now including Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S., which is updated quarterly.
|
+ |
Britannica Online / Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with more than 75,000 articles and 23,000 biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.
|
+ |
British Periodicals I & II
British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
|
+ |
Burney Collection: 17th- and 18th-Century Newspapers & More
Early English newspapers, pamphlets, and books, 17th and 18th centuries.
|
+ |
Business and Company Resource Center (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Company profiles on U.S. and international companies, some with SWOT analysis and industry rankings. U.S. Industry profiles by NAICS and SIC codes. Articles from scholarly journals, trade journals, and business and news magazines.
|
+ |
Business Abstracts with Full Text (formerly Wilson Business Full Text)
Contains both scholarly (peer-reviewed) and trade journal articles covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
|
+ |
Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global provides company profiles with SWOT analysis, history, and market share; industry profiles and rankings; and articles and case studies from academic journals and magazines.
|
+ |
Business Knowledge Research - Conference Board
Publications from the Conference Board, a global, independent research organization. Includes Research Reports on key management and economic topics. Offers Annual Studies on executive compensation and Economic Research on market forecast and economic indicators. Search the Business Management Research collection - please note Economic Datasets are not included in this search
|
+ |
Business Source Complete
Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication.. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
|
+ |
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Citations for millions of books, official publications, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Links out to full text when available (including many items in British Periodicals).
|
+ |
Cabell's Online Directories of Publishing Opportunities in ...
Lists publication requirement and contact information for over 3,490 journals. Topics include: Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, and Psychology
|
+ |
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
CAMIO contains over 100,000 color images of works in the fine arts, architecture, photography, and the decorative arts, drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress and prominent art museums. The images may be used for educational and research purposes if properly credited, but may not be published or otherwise distributed.
|
+ |
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.
|
+ |
Children's Core Collection (formerly Wilson)
The Children's Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
|
+ |
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.
|
+ |
Choice Reviews Online
Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year Choice publishes more than 7,000 reviews that are timely, authoritative, concise, and easy to use.
|
+ |
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
|
+ |
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) indexes 4175 nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing. Includes full-text for more than 750 journals.
|
+ |
The Civil War, Parts 1-6
Regimental histories, rosters, and muster lists representing all Union regiments. Commanding officer memoirs, strategies and tactics (mostly Union, some Confederate). Selected newspaper content from 1850s and 1860s representing Union, Confederate, and Midwestern experiences from varied political perspectives (papers with Democrat, Republican, and Know-Nothing ownership). Two special collections of memoirs, rosters, pamphlets, regimental histories, and many other documents which illustrate the war experience in Iowa and the Northeast.
|
+ |
Classification Web (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students.
. LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records.
. LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables.
. Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.
|
+ |
ComAbstracts
The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
|
+ |
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides online access to full-text articles from more than 160 communication and mass media journals and indexing and abstracting to more than 285 journals. It is the merger of two popular databases -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
|
+ |
Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities
COS includes funding opportunities from all disciplines including arts and humanities, medicine, social sciences and sciences. It is one of the most comprehensive databases of funding from government and private sources.
|
+ |
Computer Source
Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
|
+ |
Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research
Publications from the Conference Board, a global, independent research organization. Includes Research Reports on key management and economic topics. Offers Annual Studies on executive compensation and Economic Research on market forecast and economic indicators. Search the Business Management Research collection - please note Economic Datasets are not included in this search.
|
+ |
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support patients' information needs. This full text database covers all health related topics such as aging, diseases, syndromes, addictions, and medications.
|
+ |
Contemporary Authors
For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media.
|
+ |
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) is the world's leading resource for information on modern literature. CLC Select presents significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
|
+ |
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Thousands of real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
|
+ |
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Hundreds of hours of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
|
+ |
CountryWatch
News, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
|
+ |
CQ Researcher
This award-winning full-text online version of the print publication explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. The CQ Researcher's hallmark is scrupulous objectivity and balance. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report..
|
+ |
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains physical constants and formulas, properties of elements and organic and inorganic compounds, and other chemical data.
|
+ |
CRCnetBASE
Provides e-books in the areas of Forensics/Law Enforcement and Nutrition, as well as the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. All these titles can be searched and opened from the SamCat online catalog, or the whole collection can be searched as a database.
|
+ |
CredoReference
Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 200 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.
|
+ |
Criminal Justice (CJ) Abstracts
Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.
|
|
Criminal Justice Periodicals - See ProQuest Criminal Justice |
+ |
Criminology Collection
The Criminology Collection includes the full-text of volume one to the present for approximately 25 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Encompassing over 4,100 articles, it covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.
|
+ |
Current Index to Statistics (CIS) Online
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003) that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.
|
+ |
Current Research @
Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
|
+ |
D & B Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)
Key Business Ratios from D & B (Dun & Bradstreet) allows research of both public and private companies' industry benchmarks. It provides 14 industry ratios, listed by SIC industry codes, which cover critical areas of business performance in solvency, efficiency, and profitability.
|
+ |
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive 1885-1984
Documents major events in Texas, the U.S. and the world, 1885-1984. Full papers: articles, photos, graphics, maps, political cartoons, editorials, ads, recipes, etc..
|
+ |
Dance in Video
Hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
|
+ |
Datamonitor360
Datamonitor company profiles provide detailed information on companies including company overview, key facts, business description, history, major products and services, top competitors and company view. Industry profiles provide key information on industries by country including market size, competitive landscape, forecast data and market performance.
|
+ |
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) contains essays that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Topics covered include novelists; short-story writers; poets; dramatists; screenwriters; song lyricists; children's authors; literary movements and genres; literary biographers, critics, and scholars; travel writers; journalists; historians; philosophers; cultural theorists; book collectors and bibliographers; publishing houses; and individual literary works.
|
+ |
Dictionary of National Biography (number of simultaneous users is limited)
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.
|
+ |
Dissertations and Theses - Full Text
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1861, and more than 60,000 new citations are added to the database every year. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
|
+ |
Dissertations @ Sam Houston State University
Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
|
+ |
Documenting the American South
Southern history, literature, and culture, colonial period through early 20th century. Books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, songs.
|
+ |
Early
American Imprints 1639-1819
Virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639-1819 (millions of pages from more than 70,000 items). Documents almost every aspect of life in colonial America and the early U.S.
Includes Series I: Evans (1639-1800), Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819), and supplements to both series from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
|
+ |
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
|
+ |
ebrary
|
+ |
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Details on downloading and using e-books in this collection
Netlibrary is a collection of 45,000 + online books available to the SHSU community through library purchase and the efforts of Texshare. Books may be read online by clicking "View this eBook." Netlibrary electronic books are identical to the print versions, with all titles represented in the library's SamCAT online catalog. A free personal account may be set up within Netlibrary to save favorites or to create notes for books. Netlibrary may be searched as a database, with "Advanced Search" options for full-text and keyword searching across the entire SHSU collection of books.
|
+ |
EBSCOhost, All Databases - English Version
Access the main menu of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
|
+ |
EBSCOhost, All Databases - Spanish Version
Access the main menu, in Spanish, of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
|
+ |
EBSCOHost Electronic Journal Service
Access to full text of all the online journals to which SHSU subscribes with EBSCO.
|
+ |
Economic Literature (EconLit)
Includes journal articles, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, book chapters and essays. International in scope. Some articles are available in full-text (click on the "Search For Full Text" link)
|
+ |
Economía y Negocios
Economía y Negocios is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics.
|
+ |
Education Full Text (formerly Wilson)
(Coverage dates: Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1994+, "select" Full Text 1996+)
Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC's CIJE.
|
+ |
Education in Video
Streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers, including teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
|
+ |
Education Research Complete
This is the world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals, covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues are also covered. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for over 1,400 journals, full text for more than 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
|
+ |
Eighteenth (18th) Century Collections Online (ECCO)
English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
|
+ |
Electronic Collections Online
An OCLC collection of scholarly journals from 1995 forward (new content additions will end Feb 1, 2012). Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited full text for journals in subject areas of agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion, history, science, language, social science, law, and technology.
|
+ |
Emerald Management Xtra 120
Emerald ManagementXtra combines the Emerald Fulltext and Emerald Management Reviews databases through an integrated search and navigation system, providing citation access to over 500 authoritative business titles, 76% of which are peer-reviewed. Use Emerald Management Xtra to access more than 120 journals with over 50,000 full text articles, 185,000 reviews from the world's leading management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.
|
+ |
Emerald Management Reviews
Emerald management reviews is a bibliographic database which indexes a range of academic, trade and popular journals in accounting, business and management from 1989 to the present. Emerald Management Reviews provides independently written reviews drawn from over 400 of the world's best management titles, hand-picked on a yearly basis by an Accreditation Board of leading management experts. The added value of this service comes from its specialist reviewers who write independent reviews based on their own expert knowledge, then classify, keyword and quality code each individual article.
|
+ |
Encyclopedia Britannica / Britannica Online
Britannica Online includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with more than 75,000 articles and 23,000 biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.
|
+ |
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (number of simultaneous users is limited)
First published in print in 1992, The Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the largest project ever undertaken on the subject. This authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
|
+ |
Encyclopedia of Political Science
Comprehensive coverage of the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics around the world.
|
+ |
Encyclopedia of Religion in America
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life, this encyclopedia explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America. Covers the significant denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, from the beginning of European settlement to the present.
|
+ |
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History
Explores the events, policies, people, ideas, institutions, groups, and movements that have created and shaped political life in the United States. Organized around seven key eras in American history with each era including an A-Z of major players and events, thus enabling users to trace themes over time or delve deeply into interconnected elements of a particular era.
|
+ |
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Videos: Create an account off-campus with PC
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Note about APA 6th edition: The EndNote website details a few issues with EndNote and the new APA 6th edition.
|
+ |
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. There are several versions of the ERIC database available from the library's website; all provide links to full-text ERIC documents available on the EDRS website, E*Subscribe. E*Subscribe contains about 80% of the ERIC documents available since 1993. The library also maintains the ERIC Document collection on microfiche (1966 to present). ERIC can be accessed:
|
+ |
Essay & General Literature Index, Current & Retrospective (formerly Wilson)
Includes current (1984-present) and retrospective (1900-1983) collections.
Essay and General Literature is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada, and also provides full bibliographic information on the collective titles indexed. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film. Also links to thousands of full-text books in the HathiTrust digital library.
|
+ |
Euclid Prime (Project Euclid)
Euclid Prime is a collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid.
|
+ |
Factiva.com
Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources. Instructions for searching Factiva
|
+ |
Federal Digital System (formerly GPO Access Online)
The Federal Digital System, formerly known as GPO Access Online, is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993.
|
+ |
FictionConnection
Use this readers advisory tool to discover fiction titles similar to books you already enjoy.
|
+ |
Fiction Core Collection (formerly Wilson Public Library Core Collection: Fiction)
Fiction Core Collection features classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. The best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, are listed, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Fiction Core Collection provides entries for individual novels and analytic entries for novellas and novels contained in composite works. You will find more than 8,000 titles listed, with entries providing complete bibliographic data, price, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
|
+ |
Films on Demand
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to an educational cross-curricular digital library on a wide range of subjects from academic to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian.
|
+ |
FirstGov
FirstGov is intended to be your first resource to find any government information on the Internet, with topics ranging from business and economy to money and benefits to science and technology - and everything in between!
|
+ |
FORENSICnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE) (number of simultaneous users is limited)
FORENSICnetBASE provides online access to more than sixty e-books on forensic science, criminal justice, and law enforcement published by CRC Press.
|
+ |
Fuente Academica
is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
|
+ |
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
|
+ |
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of over 100 reference books (July 2008) that are searchable together or individually. Subjects covered include, but are not limited to history, philosophy, religion, science, business, information & publishing, literature, law, medicine, education, technology, and biography. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right or on "Show All" at left of screen.
|
+ |
General Science Full Text (formerly Wilson)
General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals from 1995 to the present. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
|
+ |
GeoRef & GeoRef in Process
GeoRef contains citations for over 3,500 journals plus numerous conference papers, theses, and other publications in the fields of geology, geophysics, and paleontology. Citations cover the years 1785-present for geology of North America and the years 1933-present for geology of other areas worldwide.
|
+ |
goENC
Explore the most comprehensive collection of materials for math and science educators. You can find lesson ideas, articles about teaching practices, curriculum resources, professional development tools, and much more.
|
+ |
Google Scholar (customized to link to SHSU resources)
Google Scholar uses the familiar Google interface to search citations of scholarly books and articles. By using Google Scholar through this custom link on the library's website, your search results will automatically include links to online content owned by SHSU.
|
+ |
GPO (Government Printing Office)
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
|
|
GPO Access Online - See Federal Digital System |
+ |
GrantsInfo.US: American Grants and Loans Database
Provides information leading to financial help in the form of subsidies, grants, loans, joint ventures, or any funding program offered by the United States government or private corporations. Sources are compiled by experts and refreshed on a daily basis for the best data accuracy. Includes detailed contact information, a description of each grant, loan or program, and links to relevant websites. Searchable by both keyword and agency.
|
+ |
GreenFILE
GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles.
|
+ |
Grove Music Online (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Grove Music Online is an integrated music resource on the web, including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (second edition; 3 volumes). Grove Music Online will be updated regularly to ensure it remains the most up to date music reference work on the Internet.
|
+ |
Handbook of Texas Online
Almost every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture. Nonpartisan, multidisciplinary encyclopedia from the Texas State Historical Association.
|
+ |
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
|
+ |
Health and Wellness Resource Center
The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides full text to 625 journals. There is also access to a medical encyclopedia, prescription drug information, a medical dictionary, and up-to-date health news for consumer researchers.
|
+ |
Health Reference Center Academic
This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text to over 700 journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.
|
+ |
Health Source: Consumer Edition
A consumer focused database with a large collection of health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, with access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
|
+ |
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical and nursing topics. Additionally this database features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers over 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets, with more than 4,700 drug brand names.
|
+ |
HeritageQuest Online
American culture and history, local and family history, starting with 13 original colonies. U.S. census and family & local history books; index of genealogy & local history articles. Special collections of Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records.
Video Tutorials: HQ Intro - PERSI - Revolutionary War & Freedman's Bank.
|
+ |
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including both Spanish-language papers and papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
|
+ |
Historical Abstracts
World history (not including U.S. and Canada), 1450 to the present. History of Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe, Middle East, etc. Journals from around the world. Links out to many full-text articles.
|
+ |
Houston Chronicle
Date Range: (1985-Current). The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.
|
+ |
Humanities Full Text (formerly Wilson)
Humanities Full Text includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
|
+ |
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 (formerly Wilson)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
|
+ |
IBISWorld
Reports on over 700 U.S. industries and market environments, searchable by NAICS and SIC codes. Profiles on major public U.S. companies. Includes Global Industry Reports
|
+ |
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
View recently added and updated studies
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. ICPSR adds value by providing data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files, converting codebooks to PDF and providing detailed descriptions of the studies. Some datasets are enhanced for use in ICPSR's online Data Analysis System (from the ICPSR User Guide). Sam Houston State University's membership in ICPSR is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.
|
+ |
IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
Includes online access to articles from 22 peer-reviewed journals and magazines with archives back to 1988, plus more than 1,200 conference proceedings with archives back to 1995.
|
+ |
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (formerly Wilson)
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Index to Legal Periodicals & Books covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
|
+ |
Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s.
|
+ |
InfoSci from IGI Global
InfoSci provides full-text chapters from every book and reference work IGI Global has published since the year 2000 (over 1,400 e-books), as well as thousands of full-text articles from over 130 journals. Teaching cases and a complete information science dictionary are also included. Topics covered include information/computer science, and technology as applied to business & public administration, engineering, education, medical & health care, and social sciences.
|
+ |
InfoTrac Newsstand
Search a collection of over 100 sources from around the globe for full-text articles. Cover-to-cover coverage of USA Today, Austin-American Statesman, Washington Times, Houston Chronicle, Fort Worth Star Telegram, The Financial Times, The Times (London), and many more. Search articles by title, headline, date, author, section or other assigned fields. Goes as far back as 1996 for most newspapers.
|
+ |
Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts
IPCA provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more.
|
+ |
IPA Source: IPA Transcriptions and Literal Translations of Songs and Arias
IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Provides over 5561 texts, including 919 aria texts.
|
+ |
Legal Collection
This database contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. The Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
|
+ |
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
|
| |
LexisNexis Congressional -- See ProQuest Congressional |
| |
LexisNexis Statistical Insight -- See ProQuest Statistical Insight |
+ |
Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
|
+ |
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (formerly Wilson)
Library Literature & Information Science is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
|
+ |
Library Music Source
The complete or nearly complete published works of the world's great composers for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion and guitar. Provides access to over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works, including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples.
|
+ |
Library of Texas
The Library of Texas allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge collections. Texans no longer need to use a separate interface for each individual library or database. At present, the Library of Texas searches through the catalogs of 63 public libraries, 26 academic libraries, and 40 TexShare commercial databases.
|
+ |
Literature Criticism Online
Centuries of literary analysis, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals, in an online format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
|
+ |
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
|
+ |
Literary Reference Center
EBSCOhost Interface (older interface)- Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000 classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews, 8,400 classic texts and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center also includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™, and much more.
|
+ |
Marcive Web Docs
Provides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.
|
+ |
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra -- School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
|
+ |
MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for nearly 1,860 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,780 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
|
+ |
MathSciNet
Identifies and provides reviews of journal papers and book chapters in math and related disciplines, some with links to full text.
|
+ |
MedicLatina
A Spanish-language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.
|
+ |
MEDLINE
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes indexing to over 4600 scholarly and professional journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Some linking out to full text articles.
|
+ |
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, contains full-text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
Tests in Print (TIP), also produced by the Buros Institute, serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.
|
+ |
Merck Manual
The Merck Manual is one of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine and a Table of Contents for browsing subjects.
|
+ |
Mergent Online (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Extensive profiles on over 25,000 U.S. and international companies, including financial statements and ratios. Industry Reports by major world regions and country profiles. Most financial data are downloadable to Excel and PDF format. Includes Economics Time Series, providing key U.S. economic data. |
+ |
Middle and Junior High Core Collection (formerly Wilson)
The Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in five through ninth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
|
+ |
Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.
|
+ |
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of these sites. The Military & Government Collection provides full text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles.
Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Additionally, many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
|
+ |
Modern Language Association (MLA) Directory of Periodicals
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, this directory lists periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography . Periodicals relating to the areas of literature, language, linguistics, culture, and folklore are included.
Entries for each title include editor, publisher, language, information about submission for publication, advertising rates, and copyright ownership. Search this database by keyword, subject, title, scope, ISSN , and more.
|
+ |
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Provides over one million citations for items from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies; updated ten times per year.
|
+ |
Music Index
The Music Index surveys data from more than 640 international music periodicals and review new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject Heading List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organologic topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
|
+ |
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Online
Provides working papers by National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers; many of these reports of initial findings are subsequently published in scholarly journals. Working papers published after 1994 are available in full-text (early 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year)
|
+ |
National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
The NCDC is the world's largest repository of weather and climate data (current and historical), and serves as an archive for data from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). Access to the NCDC is provided through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).
|
+ |
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are provided full text.
NCJRS is also available on the ProQuest platform.
|
+ |
Natural & Alternative Treatments
The database contains almost two hundred full text articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information.
|
| |
NetLibrary - See EBSCO eBook Collection |
+ |
New York Times Historical, 1851 to 3 years ago
Every page of every issue of the New York Times, from 1851 until approximately 3 years ago.
|
+ |
New York Times (Late Edition, East Coast) Digital Microfilm, 2008-present
Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
|
+ |
Newsbank
The Newsbank portal provides access to a large number of current and historical newspapers, as well as several other collections of historical documents.
|
+ |
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
|
+ |
Nineteenth (19th) Century Masterfile
Indices to 19th-century newspapers, periodicals, books, and government documents. Science/engineering history as well as politics, literature, social history, and much more. Links out to many full-text documents in other databases.
|
+ |
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
19th-century newspapers from various urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Strong in topics such as Civil War, African-American history, Western migration, etc.
|
+ |
Non-FictionConnection
Use this readers advisory tool to discover non-fiction titles similar to books you already enjoy.
|
+ |
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
|
+ |
Nursing Resource Center
Brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results, animated anatomy and physiology diagrams, and Gale encyclopedia texts. Search results are returned in tabs corresponding to steps in the nursing process. Common disease and drug searchable from search boxes on Basic search page.
|
+ |
Nutrition Care Manual (number of simultaneous users is limited)
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.
|
+ |
NUTRITIONnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE) (number of simultaneous users is limited)
Provides e-books in Nutrition (as well as Forensic Science, and the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics). Titles can be searched and opened from the SamCat online catalog, or the whole CRCnetBASE collection can be searched as a database.
|
+ |
PapersFIRST
An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
|
+ |
Papers of Thomas Jefferson
Provides all thirty-three volumes of Jefferson's papers published through 2006, plus the first four volumes of the Retirement Series, which documents the time between Jefferson's return to private life and his death in 1826. Includes all the illustrations and bibliographical content of the print edition, with the added convenience of linked cross-references and indexes.
|
+ |
Periodicals Archive Online
Journal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
|
+ |
Philosopher's Index
PI covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion. Contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews, published from 1940 to the present. Indexes over 560 journals from more than 40 countries in 30 languages.
|
+ |
Physical Education Index
Physical Education Index provides indexing and abstracts to over 340 journals and magazines. Some linking out to full-text articles.
|
+ |
Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
PROLA is The American Physical Society's Physical Review Online Archive. Provides access to Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. It contains full text of all APS journal articles published from 1893–2006.
|
+ |
Play Index (formerly Wilson)
Find citations to some 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present in the convenient electronic form patrons prefer. Search over 600 monologues, ranging from classic and historical to contemporary, written in or translated into English. For each play, details are provided such as plot summary, musical requirements, and set and scenery considerations. Narrow your search by genre, style, age-level appropriateness, cast size, or number of male/female roles.
|
+ |
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries.
|
+ |
Presidential Recordings of Lyndon B. Johnson
Hundreds of hours of presidential tapes covering the major issues of the LBJ administration, from the War on Poverty to the Civil Rights Movement to the Vietnam War. Each conversation is fully transcribed and annotated, and accompanied by its audio file. Also includes photo and video galleries, a linked timeline, and powerful XML-based searching ability.
|
+ |
Primary Search
Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
|
+ |
ProceedingsFIRST
An index of worldwide conference proceedings.
|
+ |
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
|
+ |
Project Euclid: Euclid Prime
Euclid Prime is a collection of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals in theoretical and applied mathematics and statistics hosted by Project Euclid.
|
+ |
Project MUSE
Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.
|
+ |
ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
(formerFederal legislative research database that provides a searchable electronic version of the CIS/Index for legislative research from 1970 forward and the full-text of publications from the U.S. Congress, current Code of Federal Regulations and the current U.S. Code.
|
+ |
ProQuest Criminal Justice (formerly Criminal Justice Periodicals)
Provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.
|
+ |
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. The database includes over 890 full-text titles, plus abstracting and indexing for over 1,000 more, and 12,300 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
|
+ |
ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)
Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.
|
+ |
PsycARTICLES
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA); this database is a source for full-text peer reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from 77 journals published by "APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®."
|
+ |
PsycINFO
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
|
+ |
Psychiatry Online
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TR®--the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world--and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
|
+ |
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for over 500 journals.
|
| |
Public Library Core Collection: Fiction - See Fiction Core Collection |
+ |
Public Library Core Collection: NonFiction (formerly Wilson)
Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available.
|
+ |
RAND Texas
RAND Texas provides data about Texas at the state, county, and city levels. Subject areas include business and economics, community (including crime statistics), education, energy and environment, government finance, health and socioeconomic data, and population and demographics.
|
+ |
RCLWeb - Resources for College Libraries
RCL is the result of a unique collaboration between Choice, a publishing division of ACRL, and bibliographic authority Bowker. RCL is considered the long-awaited successor to the third edition of Books for College Libraries, published in 1988.
|
+ |
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, Current & Retrospective (formerly Wilson)
Readers' Guide contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Includes both current collection (1983-present) and retrospective collection (1890-1982).
|
+ |
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
|
+ |
Regional Business News
Full-text coverage of 75 business newspapers, newswires, and journals from various U.S. metropolitan and rural areas. Updated daily.
|
+ |
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Provides full text access to 300 periodicals in both philosophy, including all its major subfields, and religion, including Judaism, Christianity, and non-western religions; denominational theology; exegesis and interpretation of sacred texts; and the intersection of religion with other fields such as archaeology, history, law, political science, and sociology. Over 250 periodicals are peer reviewed.
|
+ |
Research InSight on DVD/Network
Software program for accessing and performing in-depth analysis of financial data.
This is not a web-based resource like other databases. It can only be accessed from the Library Reference Desk Area computers, or Library laptops available for checkout to use within the Library. To Access: Go to your Start Menu > Library Resources > Research Insight > click the Research Insight link. View instructions for using Research Insight (PDF).
|
+ |
RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) Journal, including case studies
Include research on Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology and its business applications. Go to Premium Content for case studies, best practices, etc.
|
+ |
RIA Checkpoint & International Tax Library
Request an RIA login (must be done each semester).
For in-depth accounting and tax research; includes analysis from RIA, WG&L, and PPC. Includes International Tax Library, providing analytical and primary source materials.
Free individual login needed; please request an RIA login EACH SEMESTER to sign up; an email with your login username and password will be sent to the address you provide.
|
+ |
RMA e-Statement Studies
Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB) and Industry Default Probabilities (IDP) for 600+ industries by year, asset range, and region.
"All data downloaded from RMA's e-Statement Studies is the property of RMA and must be destroyed when the user leaves the University and/or when access to the database is terminated. Authors desiring to use RMA licensed content in a published piece of literature must consult this license: RMA License to Incorporate
|
+ |
Roper Center
|
+ |
Safari Tech Books Online
Safari is an electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals. The searchable full-text contents of 4700 books selected for SHSU are available online.
|
+ |
Sage Premier / Sage Journals Online
SAGE Premier provides access to 440+ SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfile to 1999.
|
+ |
Sage Research Methods
Watch these tutorial videos to learn how to navigate and use this resource.
Sage Research Methods contains over 120,000 pages of book, journal and reference content from leading SAGE authors in research methods, along with sophisticated search and discovery tools such as the Methods Map. Also included are over 640 books, 4 encyclopedias, 6 dictionaries and a major work containing journal articles, and the Complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series (aka the "Little Green Books"). Please note: Some features of this resource are not optimized for use on iPads.
|
+ |
Science & Technology Collection
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
|
+ |
Science Citation Index
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1999 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
|
+ |
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines.
|
+ |
SciFinder Scholar
Email lib_erl@shsu.edu from your SHSU email account to request a login.
SciFinder Scholar now has a web version. To register for the web version send an email to the Electronic Librarian requesting user registration information. By return email you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.
SciFinder Scholar developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service provides access to:
- CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
- CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and biosequences
- CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
- CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
- CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
- References from over 9,500 currently published journals and patent information from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities.
|
+ |
Scribner Writers Series
Gain access to 1,600 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Many authors in the Scribner Writers Series are seen from multiple perspectives through two, three or sometimes four essays. Students can go directly to an entry on a specific author, combine search criteria for a much more complex search, or explore thematic and chronological topics to make connections among writers.
|
+ |
Senior High Core Collection (formerly Wilson)
The Senior High Core Collection includes materials for readers in nine through twelvth grade. Selected and recommended by specialists in library service to young adults in senior high schools and public libraries across the United States, the books listed encompass a wide variety of topics for youth, ranging from material on Native Americans and rainforest ecology to health issues. The collection also includes curriculum-related material in social studies and the sciences; drama, novels, and short story collections; biographies; and books for the librarian or media specialist. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
|
+ |
Serials Directory
Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials. This database contains nearly 184,000 U.S. and international titles, including newspapers, historical data for an additional 20,000 titles and data from nearly 83,500 publishers worldwide.
|
+ |
Short Story Index, Current & Restrospective (formerly Wilson)
Includes current (1984-present) and retrospective (1915-1983) collections.
Short Story Index indexes more than 250,000 stories published in collections, anthologies, and periodicals. It includes the full text of almost 5,000 short stories and links to the full text of thousands more in the HathiTrust Digital Library. Users can search by keywords, author, title, date, or subject, but also by literary technique, theme, locale, or narrative devices.
|
+ |
Social Science Electronic Data Library
Provides access to more than 600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables. Each dataset is structured identically and includes the raw data file, SPSS program statements, SAS program statement, SPSS data dictionary, SPSS frequencies, SPSS portable file, and a User's Guide.
|
+ |
Social Sciences Citation Index
As a part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,700 social sciences journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as relevant references from over 3,300 scientific and technical periodicals. It is international in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
|
+ |
Social Sciences Full Text (formerly Wilson)
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
|
+ |
SocINDEX
SocINDEX™ is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,969,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300+ term sociological thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 1,120 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Subjects include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
|
+ |
Something About the Author Online
Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
|
+ |
SpringerLINK
(publisher database with full text access to subscribed titles). Provides indexing and abstracting of approximately 100 computer science journal titles, with full text access to 41 journals.
|
+ |
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage
Company profiles, including financial data, top competitors, and extensive stock information. Industry surveys, including trends, key ratios, and how to analyze a given industry. Mutual funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) analysis and ranking. Good "Financial Education" section for non-finance majors.
|
+ |
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a core collection of 84 healthcare related e-books selected from the best books available. Also included is access to evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, drug formulas and math converters, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, American Pharmacists Association DrugInfoLine, and NCLEX-RN podcasts. Another feature, STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts allows you to receive email alerts based on your areas of interest, on evidence-based articles published in over 130 clinical healthcare journals.
|
+ |
STAT-USA Sources (Guide from University of Central Florida)
STAT-USA, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, provided authoritative Federal information for the business, economic, and trade communities. The STAT-USA Office has closed down; its services are no longer available. Please use this guide to locate the data sources that were provided through the STAT-USA website.
|
+ |
STN Easy (Scientific & Technical Information Network)
STN Easy provides access to the leading chemical indexing database, Chemical Abstracts, and CA Registry. The use of this database is restricted to faculty, upper division and graduate students within the Department of Chemistry.
|
+ |
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
|
+ |
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Maps, 1867-1970, chart the development of 400+ Texas towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city/town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet : 1 inch. Created to assist fire insurance companies in assessing insurance risk. Maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time of drawing and previous numbers.
|
+ |
Texas High Technology Directory (Rich's Business Directories)
Information on over 20,000 companies in Texas that manufacture and develop high-tech products such as aerospace, defense, robotics, and biotechnology. Each company profile includes owner info, number of employees, sales volume, industry, products produced, etc.
|
+ |
Texas Reference Center
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
|
+ |
Texas Reference Sources Online
This free online publication, produced by the Reference Round Table of the Texas Library Association, is a useful guide to all the best printed and electronic reference sources about Texan history, culture, politics, science, and more. An excellent tool to support all Texas-related research.
|
+ |
Thomas Register (ThomasNet)
Directory of over 156,000 North American manufacturing companies. Provides basic company info, websites, and product catalogs (when available). Searchable by product type, region, and company type (e.g. manufacturer, supplier, retailer, etc.)
|
+ |
The Times of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
"World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, 1785-1985.
|
+ |
TOPICsearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.
|
+ |
Twayne's Authors Series
The Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of nearly 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.
|
+ |
Twentieth (20th) Century American Poetry
This collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets. This unparalleled collection includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. The majority of the poems included are copyright works specially licensed from print publishers such as New Edition, City Lights Books, Houghton Mifflin, W. W. Norton and Yale University Press. The collection reflects the variety and dynamism of American poetic voices in this century of change: all major movements and schools are represented, form the traditionalism of Robert Frost to the modernism of H.D. (Hilda Doolittle), the confessional poetry of Anne Sexton to the proletarian poems of Muriel Rukeyser. The Imagists, Beat Poets, Harlem Renaissance, Black Mountain and Deep Image schools are all featured. In addition, many contemporary writers of the 1980s and90s who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented.
|
+ |
Twentieth (20th) Century English Poetry
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day. Offers online access to the poetry of some of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. It incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond, including over forty distinguished authors from The Faber Poetry Library. Authors include the established and canonical such as Yeats, Housman, Lawrence, Sassoon, Eliot, Plath, Ted Hughes and Seamus Heaney, popular and accessible figures such as Kipling, Betjeman and Wendy Cope, lesser known but important names like William Empson and W.S. Graham and, among prominent contemporaries, Simon Armitage, Eavan Boland and Carol Ann Duffy. Many of the major themes of 20th century writing -- nationality, politics, war, sexuality, religion and gender -- can be understood anew through this vast and representative collection.
|
+ |
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) Digital Microfilm, 2008-present
Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the Wall Street Journal without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
|
+ |
Web of Science
Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1999 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
|
+ |
Westlaw Campus
Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.
|
+ |
Wiley Online Library
Search and browse millions of articles from thousands of journals, books, and other materials in the areas of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Subjects range from Agriculture, Business, and Chemistry to Criminology, Nursing, and Psychology.
|
| |
Wilson: Look up a specific database name, e.g., "Education Full Text" is under E and "Omnifile" is under O |
+ |
World Almanac
Offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike. Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics.
|
+ |
WorldCat
The WorldCat database contains over 200 million records describing items owned by your library or 70,000 libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. Includes the following types of items: books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscripts, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes.
|
+ |
World Digital Library
This free online site collects significant primary source documents from around the world and makes them available in multiple languages. Collection is especially strong in Latin America and Europe, though North America, the Middle East, Africa, Asia, and Oceania are also well represented. Produced with the support of many international institutions and the United Nations.
|
+ |
World History Collection
Offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East . World History Collection contains cover-to-cover full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964.
|
+ |
World News Connection
Full-text summaries and translations into English of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is 1996-present.
|