History
Back to Subject List
Articles About History (Journals, etc.)
Historical Newspapers, Periodicals, and Documents
Statistics and Datasets
Reference and General Databases
Related Subject Areas
Helpful Handouts:
- Help Me Choose a Database by Time, Place, and Type of Content
- What are Primary and Secondary Sources?
- Examples of Primary Sources in History and Tips for Searching
- Papers of the Presidents, Founding Fathers, and a Few Other Key Figures in U.S. History
Articles About History (Journals, etc.)
America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (for non-U.S. history, see Historical Abstracts). Includes local, state, and international journals (over 90% in English language). Links out to many full-text articles from other databases.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
This bibliographic database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. BNNA contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.
Black Studies Center 
Black Studies Center is a searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers over 2,000 journals published throughout the world, including the key historical journals from virtually every major country and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Links out to full-text articles from EBSCO's World History Collection.
JSTOR
Search or browse for thousands of full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in several areas, including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, History, Literature, and Philosophy.
Project Muse
Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with subjects ranging from the humanities to sciences.
Texas Reference Center 
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
World History Collection 
EBSCO's World History Collection offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Contains full text for nearly 150 titles, including many peer-reviewed journals. Full text dates as far back as 1964. Search this content through Historical Abstracts.
Historical Newspapers, Periodicals, and Documents
American Periodicals Series Online 
Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
American Social History Online 
Free online collection of over 500,000 digital images and documents pertaining to American social history; especially strong in 19th- and 20th-century content, but also contains some materials from the 17th, 18th, and 21st centuries.
America's Historical Newspapers. (1690-1922) 
America's Historical Newspapers provides bibliographic and full-image access to nearly two centuries' worth of local newspapers, including titles from all 50 present states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690 - 1876), Early American Newspapers, Series II (1758 - 1900) and Early American Newspapers, Series III (1829 - 1922). Also can be searched as part of Archive of Americana. Includes the collection Texas Historical Newspapers(1836-1977).
Archive of Americana 
Provides combined search interface for America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), Early American Imprints Series I: Evans (1639-1800), and Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819). Includes the collection Texas Historical Newspapers(1836-1977).
Black Studies Center 
Black Studies Center is a searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
British Periodicals I & II 
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index 
C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection I.
The Chicago Defender Newspaper 
The Black Studies Center database provides access to the full-text backfiles of two influential black newspapers: the Chicago Defender, 1910-1975, the most widely read black newspaper in the U.S. after World War II; and the Daily Defender, 1956-1975. You can also browse issues of these newspapers.
The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
This database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. The text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. A great effort has been made also to include articles which describe other than military concerns of the day. These include such topics as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, social events, etc.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977) 
The Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (1885-1977) is a unique full-image digital collection documenting major events in Texas, the United States, and the world, as reported in this leading metropolitan daily newspaper. Available only from NewsBank, the archive is a valuable resource for primary source research into the news of the day, culture, government, economics, politics, science, social issues, and more. Researchers access cover-to-cover searchable text, then view PDFs of the full page, or individual articles, photos, graphics, maps, political cartoons, editorials, display and classified advertisements, recipes – the complete content of the newspaper.
Documenting the American South (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill)
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century. Consists of thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. Includes browse indexes for authors, titles, subjects and geographic names as well as K-12 classroom exercises and sample lesson plans based on sources in the collections.
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans(1639-1800)
Based on the renowned "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's "Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography," the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society. For decades, the collection has served as the definitive resource of information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, slavery, temperance, witchcraft and just about any other topic imaginable. Also can be searched as part of Archive of Americana.
Early American Imprints,Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker(1801-1819) 
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before. Also can be searched as part of Archive of Americana.
18th Century Collections Online (ECCO) 
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to a vast range of English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera. Based on the extensive microfilm collection: the Eighteenth Century.
HeritageQuest
ProQuest Information and Learning Company's HeritageQuest provides an ongoing collection of research materials for tracing family lineage and American culture, beginning with the 13 original colonies. This collection assembles genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and genealogical and local history serials.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Historical New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue published in 1851 through 2005. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
19th Century Masterfile
Indices to Nineteenth-Century Newspapers, Periodicals, Books and Government Documents.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers Digital Archive
This new database provides access to approximately 1.5 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
Periodicals Archive Online 
Covers: 1770 - 1995. Formerly PCI Full Text. Updated annually. Indexes over 10.75 million articles in 3,142 journals. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Includes full image of over 350 journals and the archive will continue to grow each year.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Produced over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities, of which we have access to scanned images of maps from 1867-1970 of more than 400 Texas towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assisit fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
The Times of London Digital Archive (1785-1985)
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 delivers every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London). The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. For the first time users are able to search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.
World Digital Library 
This free online site collects significant primary source documents from around the world and makes them available in multiple languages. Collection is especially strong in Latin America and Europe, though North America, the Middle East, Africa, Asia, and Oceania are also well represented. Produced with the support of many international institutions and the United Nations.
Statistics and Datasets
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. ICPSR adds value by providing data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files, converting codebooks to PDF and providing detailed descriptions of the studies. Some datasets are enhanced for use in ICPSR’s online Data Analysis System (from the ICPSR User Guide). Sam Houston State University’s membership in ICPSR is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library. Click here to view recent updates and additions.
LexisNexis Statistical
Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.
General and Reference Databases
Academic Search Complete 
(Indexing and Abstracting 1984 - current; Full Text 1990 - current) Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AH Search)
Indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from more than 5,800 social science and science journals; includes more than 1.4 million records containing bibliographic citations; an additional 700+ records give preferred and variant names of cited authors. A&HSearch indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more, and is the online equivalent of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, compiled by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); updated weekly. Includes: arts, humanities, related social science and science information.
Credo Reference
Search and browse dozens of specialized History reference books, entirely online. Covers a wide variety of geographic regions, time periods, and topics. View the complete list of History titles and click straight into any book!
EndNote
Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Forum Network
On the Forum Network free website, PBS and NPR bring together thousands of lectures by some of the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policy makers and community leaders. The geographic scope is international, and time periods covered range from prehistoric through the 21st century.
Handbook of Texas Online 
The Handbook of Texas, provided by the Texas State Historical Association is a multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories. The scope is broad and inclusive, designed to provide readers with concise, authoritative, and accessible articles that provide factual, nonpartisan accounts on virtually every aspect of Texas history and culture.
Index to Texas Magazines and Documents
Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government. Includes links to some full text when it is available. Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria.
MIT Open Courseware
Free online course materials from the Massachusettes Institute of Technology (MIT) in a wide array of subject areas. Includes material from a Seminar in Historical Methods.
Open Yale Courses
Online introductory course material from Yale University in a variety of subject areas. Available courses in Classics and History include Ancient Greece, Civil War and Reconstruction, and France Since 1871.
ReferenceUniverse
ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Texas Reference Sources (TRS) Online
This free online publication, produced by the Reference Round Table of the Texas Library Association, is a useful guide to all the best printed and electronic reference sources about Texan history, culture, politics, science, and more. An excellent tool to support all Texas-related research.
Wilson Humanities Full Text
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
WorldCat
The WorldCat database contains nearly 150 million records describing items owned by your library or 70,000 libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. Includes the following types of items: books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscripts / archive collections, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes.
