Health & Kinesiology

Primary Health & Kinesiology Journal Article Databases

Health Reference Center: Academic

This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text to over 700 journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

The Health and Wellness Resource Center provides indexing to 827 journals, of which 625 provide full-text articles. There is also access to a medical encyclopedia, prescription drug information, a medical dictionary, and up-to-date health news for consumer researchers.

MEDLINE

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes indexing to over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's and from over 4600 scholarly and professional journals in all aspects of medicine, veterinary medicine, and allied health science.

Physical Education Index

Physical Education Index provides indexing and abstracts to over 340 journals and magazines, with subjects ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

Additional Databases

Wilson General Science Full Text

Wilson General Science Full Text is a database that indexes articles from 1989, abstracts articles from 1993, and additionally provides the full text of selected periodicals from 1995 to the present. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Wilson Omnifile Full Text

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega edition includes indexing and full-text articles from Wilson General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific, technical and medical database, with over 59 million citation abstracts. ScienceDirect also provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines.

Project Muse

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.

Nutrition Care Manual

The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Merck Manual

The Merck Manual is one of the most popular general medicine resources on-line. This electronic version provides the same information as found in the 1999, 17th print edition. There is both a search engine that generates a list of results pertaining to the subject, displayed in decreasing order of relevance; and a Table of Contents for browsing subject.

Consumer Health Complete

(CHC) is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.