General/Multidisciplinary Databases
Back to Subject ListThe following databases are very broad and can be used for a variety of subjects and topics. These databases are ideal for researchers choosing or beginning to research a topic.
The
icon indicates that full text is available for that database. For more in-depth and
focused databases pertaining to a particular subject, please see the Databases by Subject section.
Academic Search Premier 
(Indexing and Abstracting 1984 - current; Full Text 1990 - current) Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.
ArticleFirst (1990 - current)
Index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals in several disciplines, including business, science, humanities, social science, medicine, technology, and popular culture.
Current Research @
Provides fulltext of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
EBSCOhost (All Databases) English Version 
Access the main menu of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
EBSCOhost (All Databases) Spanish Version 
Access the main menu, in Spanish, of all the EBSCOhost databases SHSU subscribes to.
EBSCOHost Electronic Journal Service
Access to full text of all the online journals to which SHSU subscribes.
Electronic Collections Online
An OCLC collection of scholarly journals from 1995 forward. Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited fulltext for journals in subject areas of agriculture, library science, anthropology, literature business, medicine, economics, philosophy, education, political science, fine arts, psychology, geography, religion, history, science, language, social science, law, and technology.
JSTOR 
Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically .
LexisNexis Academic (1983 - current) 
Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
Library of Texas
The Library of Texas allows users to easily discover and retrieve desired information from multiple library catalogs, databases, and other knowledge collections. Texans no longer need to use a separate interface for each individual library or database. At present, the Library of Texas searches through the catalogs of 63 public libraries, 26 academic libraries, and 40 TexShare commercial databases.
MasterFILE Premier 
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for nearly 1,860 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,780 periodicals. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984.
PapersFirst (1993 - current)
An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
ProceedingsFirst (1993 - current)
An index of worldwide conference proceedings.
ReferenceUniverse
ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Student Resource Center GOLD 
A fully integrated database containing thousands of curriculum-targeted primary documents, biographies, topical essays, background information, critical analyses, full-text coverage of 800 magazines, over 10,000 photographs and illustrations, and more than 8 hours of audio and video clips. Geared towards K-12.
Wilson Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index is also included.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition 
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database. Full-text articles from five additional periodical databases are also included when available: Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, and Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Wilson Readers' Guide Full Text (1982 - current) 
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
Wilson Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
