Forensic Science

Back to Subject List

Primary Science Databases

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications

ACS provides full-text access to over 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year with over 3 million pages of original chemistry.

Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts is the premier abstracting and indexing database for biology and botany world-wide, indexing over 8 million citations from over 3,700 journals in all disciplines of the biological sciences.

FORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE

ForensicNetBase provides online access to more than sixty e-books on forensic science, criminal justice and the law published by CRC Press. It incorporates LAWENFORCEMENTnetBASE.

MEDLINE (via EBSCOHost)

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes indexing to over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's and from over 4600 scholarly and professional journals and provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Access to MEDLINE is also available via the database ScienceDirect.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific, technical and medical database, with over 59 million citation abstracts. ScienceDirect also provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines.

Web of Science

Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1999 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Biological Abstracts is also searchable on the Web of Science platform. When full-text access is available, links provide access.

Primary Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts (1968 - current)

Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.

Criminal Justice Periodical Index (1981 - current)

CJPI provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.

Criminology: A Sage Full Text Collection (1982 - current)

Criminology includes the full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years. Encompassing over 4,100 articles, it covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.

Primary Legal Cases & Journal Article Databases

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws. Primarily covers legal and business topics. Formerly called Academic Universe.

Westlaw Campus

Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research

Additional Databases

Current Research @

Provides full text access to dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free. Dissertations are currently produced in the College of Criminal Justice and the College Education & Applied Science

JSTOR

Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in several areas, including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, History, Political Science, and Sociology.

NCJRS

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are provided full text.

Project MUSE

A collection of 100 full text journals, subjects including anthropology, ethnic studies, history, political science and other social sciences.

PsycINFO (1877- current)

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

SciFinder Scholar (Web Version)

SciFinder Scholar now has a web version. The client version will not be available after 02/01/09.
To register for the web version send an email to Eric Elmore requesting user registration information. By return email you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.

SciFinder Scholar developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service provides access to:
  • CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
  • CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and biosequences
  • CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
  • CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
  • CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
  • Medline, the National Library of Medicine’s database
  • References from over 9,500 currently published journals and patent information from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities
  • The latest scientific breakthroughs almost as soon as they are published with references added daily and some patent information as recent as two days ago
  • Complete coverage of chemistry and life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines

Wilson General Science Full Text

Wilson General Science Full Text is a database that indexes articles from 1989, abstracts articles from 1993, and additionally provides the full text of selected periodicals from 1995 to the present. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Wilson Omnifile Full Text

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega edition includes indexing and full-text articles from Wilson General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote

Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.