Foreign Languages
Back to Subject ListForeign Language Journal and Newspaper Databases
Reference Databases
Literature Databases
General Databases
Foreign Language Journal and Newspaper Databases
Periodicals Archive Online 
Covers: 1770 - 1995. Formerly PCI Full Text. Updated annually. Indexes over 10.75 million articles in 3,142 journals. The scope is international and multi-disciplinary, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Includes full image of over 350 journals and the archive will continue to grow each year.
Fuente Academica 
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage (including PDF) for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.
MedicLatina 
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals.
Economia y Negocios 
Economía y Negocios is the result of a collaborative effort between EBSCO Publishing and ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados). More than 70,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, provide coverage for over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere. This continuously updated bibliographic database is an indispensable tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics.
Texas Reference Center 
Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.
Reference Databases
CredoReference
(formerly XreferPlus)
This is a good source for electronic bilingual dictionaries, among other things. Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 200 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.
Oxford Reference Online
This is a good source for electronic bilingual dictionaries, among other things. ORO combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference Online.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.
ReferenceUniverse
ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Literature Databases
MLA International Bibliography
Provides over one million citations for items from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies; updated ten times per year.
Contemporary Authors
For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) is the world's leading resource for information on modern literature. CLC Select presents significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) contains essays that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Literary Reference Center 
Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000 classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews, 8,400 classic texts and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center also includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™, and much more.
General Databases
JSTOR 
Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Project MUSE 
Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.
Academic Search Complete 
(Indexing and Abstracting 1984 - current; Full Text 1990 - current) Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.
