English

Back to Subject List

Literature-specific Databases

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive, full text database that provides plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, classic texts and much more. In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism, The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Literary Encyclopedia, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus, and more.

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) is the world's leading resource for information on modern literature. CLC Select presents significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.

MLA International Bibliography

Provides over one million citations for items from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies; updated ten times per year.

Essay and General Literature Index (Wilson)

Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally, more than 20 annuals and serial publications are indexed. Essay and General Literature Index also provides full bibliographic information on collective titles indexed. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Contemporary Authors

For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) contains essays that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Topics covered include novelists; short-story writers; poets; dramatists; screenwriters; song lyricists; children's authors; literary movements and genres; literary biographers, critics, and scholars; travel writers; journalists; historians; philosophers; cultural theorists; book collectors and bibliographers; publishing houses; and individual literary works.

Back to Top

Historical Newspapers, Periodicals, and Documents

American Periodicals Series Online

Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

British Periodicals I & II

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index

C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 10 bibliographic indexes, including over 300,000 records from the ongoing digitization of British Periodicals Collection I.

Early American Imprints,Series I. Evans(1639-1800)

Based on the renowned "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's "Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography," the collection was first published by Readex in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society. For decades, the collection has served as the definitive resource of information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, slavery, temperance, witchcraft and just about any other topic imaginable.

Early American Imprints,Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker(1801-1819)

Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. The continuation of Readex's Early American Imprints: Series I, this rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before. Also can be searched as part of Archive of Americana.

18th Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to a vast range of English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera. Based on the extensive microfilm collection: the Eighteenth Century.

Back to Top

General & Reference Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

As a part of Web of Science, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. It is international in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques. Leads to citations with bibliographical references for articles from over 1,100 journals, as well as links to the full-text of articles if available. The database contains searchable, full-length, English-language author abstracts.

JSTOR

Search or browse for thousands of full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in several areas, including Linguistics, Language & Literature, Classical Studies, & British Studies.

Project MUSE

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with subjects ranging from the humanities to sciences.

Wilson Humanities Full Text

Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

EndNote

Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Forum Network

On the Forum Network free website, PBS and NPR bring together thousands of lectures by some of the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policy makers and community leaders. The geographic scope is international, and time periods covered range from prehistoric through the 21st century.

MIT Open Courseware

Free online course materials from the Massachusettes Institute of Technology (MIT) in a wide array of subject areas. Includes courses in language, linguistics, and television and film as methods of story-telling.

Open Yale Courses

Online introductory course material from Yale University in a variety of subject areas. Available Literature courses include Milton, The American Novel Since 1945, and Modern Poetry.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Oxford Reference Online

RO combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference Online.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Back to Top

Related Subject Areas

Biography


History

Back to Top