Education

Primary Education Journal Article Databases

Wilson Education Full Text

Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

ERIC (via EbscoHost)

This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, books, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. There are several versions of the ERIC database available from the library's website; all provide links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website, E*Subscribe. E*Subscribe contains about 80% of the ERIC documents available since 1993. The library also maintains the ERIC Document collection on microfiche (1966 to present). ERIC can also be accessed:

Dissertations and Theses - Full Text (ProQuest)

Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. More than 600,000 are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Tests in Print

Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Physical Education Index

(1970- current) CSA Physical Education Index abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Curriculum and Instruction

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.

CLCD - Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.

Encyclopedia of Animals

This extensive database provides students with thousands of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals. Each entry begins with a simple category breakdown of the animal including Kingdom, Class, Order, Genus & Species, and Geographical Locale as well as a detailed description. Many entries include colorful images.

Primary Search

provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

Middle Search Plus

provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags.

MAS Ultra: School Edition

This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Civil War Times, Congressional Digest, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 84,774 biographies and 100,554 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra -- School Edition contains more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 276,132 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Texas Reference Center

Texas Reference Center includes more than 80 full text journals and books about Texas history, ethnic & cultural diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business as well as home & garden and sports & leisure. The database contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans such as George Herbert Walker Bush, Lady Bird Johnson, Dan Moody, Susanna Dickinson and Sam Houston. Also available in the Texas Reference Center is the Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas with Texas and national news coverage. This EBSCOhost database is updated weekly.

TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.

Vocational & Career Collection

Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete

(Indexing and Abstracting 1984 - current; Full Text 1990 - current) Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.

CLCD - Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,400,000 MARC records and more than 280,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 36 review sources.

Children's Catalog/Children's Core Collection (Wilson)

The Children’s Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.

Current Research @

Provides fulltext of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.

JSTOR

Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in the areas of African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. This archive of scholarly journals of is best used for information older than 5 years.

LexisNexis Academic (1983 - current)

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.

Middle and Junior High Core Collection (Wilson)

The Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in five through ninth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.

Public Library Core Collection : Fiction (Wilson)

Public Library Core Collection: Fiction features classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. The best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, are listed, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Public Library Core Collection: Fiction provides entries for individual novels and analytic entries for novellas and novels contained in composite works. You will find more than 8,000 titles listed, with entries providing complete bibliographic data, price, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.

Public Library Core Collection : NonFiction (Wilson)

Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Senior High Core Collection (Wilson)

The Senior High Core Collection includes materials for readers in nine through twelvth grade. Selected and recommended by specialists in library service to young adults in senior high schools and public libraries across the United States, the books listed encompass a wide variety of topics for youth, ranging from material on Native Americans and rainforest ecology to health issues. The collection also includes curriculum-related material in social studies and the sciences; drama, novels, and short story collections; biographies; and books for the librarian or media specialist. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.