Economics
Back to Subject List
Primary Economics Databases
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals and over 500 collective volumes per year, plus books, dissertations, and working papers related to economics.
STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. The NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Working Papers database includes bibliographic information for almost 7000 NBER working papers published since 1973. Abstracts are available for papers issued since September 1993 and full text for papers since November 1994. The images are available in PDF format and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader plug-in to view them.
Working as a global, independent membership organization in the public interest, the Conference Board conducts research, convenes conferences, makes forecasts, assesses trends, publishes information and analyses, and brings executives together to learn from one another. The Conference Board is a not-for-profit organization and holds 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt status in the United States. The online subscriptions includes 'Research Reports' on key business topics, 'Executive Action' reports, 'StraightTalk' - in-depth analysis of critical economic topics, 'Across the Board' magazine, and Topline data on business executives expectations (a measure of business confidence) consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators, and help-wanted index.
Additional Databases
The Business Source Complete database is a comprehensive, business periodical database that includes scholarly journals and business periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Business Source Complete contains content from full text sources ranging from general business periodicals such as Business Week, Forbes, Fortune, American Banker, etc. to academic journals such as Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, Academy of Management Review, Review of Economics & Statistics, etc. Business Source Complete provides cumulative indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,800 business journals and cumulative full text for 2,260 journals. Includes Data Monitor Reports.
Science Direct, a database of journals and books owned by Elsevier, a leading publisher of scientific, technical, and medical information. Science Direct provides indexing and fulltext access to selected journals in Economics and related business and social science areas, as well as fulltext access to the full set of Handbooks in Economics. (To search the Handbooks in Economics, select Source: “Subscribed books” in Science Direct).
As a part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,700 social sciences journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as relevant references from over 3,300 scientific and technical periodicals. It is international in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
Leads to citations with bibliographical references for articles from over 1,700 journals. Many of the references include author-prepared abstracts.
An index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Comprehensive guide to over 700 international and interdisciplinary sources of alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines; provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.
Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure
to log out when finished.
ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Provides access to industry norms (ratios and default probability/cash flow measures) for 600+ industries by year, asset range and region.
“All data downloaded from RMA's e-Statement Studies is the property of RMA and must be destroyed when the user leaves the University and/or when access to the database is terminated.”
Authors desiring to use RMA licensed content in a published piece of literature must consult this license: RMA License to Incorporate