Have a question about Sociology research? Send a question to Susan Strickland, the Sociology Librarian.
Primary Sociology Databases
SocINDEX
Comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
Social Science Electronic Data Library
Provides access to hundreds of premier datasets and thousands of variables. Each dataset is structured identically and includes the raw data file, SPSS program statements, SAS program statement, SPSS data dictionary, SPSS frequencies, SPSS portable file, and a User's Guide.
Sage Research Methods
Watch tutorial videos to learn how to navigate and use this resource.
Sage Research Methods Online is comprised of Sage's Little Green Books, Little Bluebooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and selected journal articles. You have the option to create an account to save your work, download book chapters, and view explanatory videos.
Please note: Some features of this resource are not optimized for use on iPads.
Additional Databases
Annual Reviews Science Collection
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.
Black Studies Center
African Americans, African Diaspora, and Africa, primarily 20th century. Historical newspapers, videos, images, scholarly essays, index of recent and historical periodical articles (some full text), and index of black literature.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CountryWatch
Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
Current Index to Statistics (CIS) Online
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from fully-indexed core journals; non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content; proceedings and edited books; and other sources.
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
View recently added and updated studies.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.
JSTOR
Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC)
Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries.
Project MUSE
Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.
PsycARTICLES
A source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Roper Center
Archive of public opinion research, containing hundreds of thousands of questions and answers from 1935 to the present. For access to the datasets, click on Login and set up a free account.
- iPoll database of questions and answers
- Full datasets to conduct analyses of archived surveys
- Roper Center Homepage
Urban Studies Abstracts
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Items are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. Coverage dates as far back as 1973.
Online Video Collections
Academic Video Online
Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts. Some of the most relevant subcollections are:
Films on Demand
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.










