Fast Links

Reference Databases

Back to Subject List

Reference Databases

A to Z World Culture

Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.

American National Biography

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Biographies of thousands of men and women whose lives have shaped the United States. Updated and revised regularly.

Biography Index Past and Present

Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

Book Review Digest Plus, 1905-present

Book Review Digest Plus indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction, and provides many full-text reviews or review excerpts. Includes books for children, young adults, and adults.

Books in Print

Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from tens of thousands of North American publishers. Now including Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S., which is updated quarterly.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite

Includes Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, and Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History.

Credo Reference

Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.

Dictionary of National Biography

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past since the fourth century BC.

Britannica Academic Edition / Encyclopedia Britannica

Britannica Academic Edition includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with tens of thousands of articles and biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, please try again later. Please be sure to logout when you have finished.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

EPodunk

Website providing searchable database of towns and cities in the U.S. Includes a brief profile, followed by links to local events, genealogy, government, statistics, museums and colleges, festivals, historic sites and neighborhoods, moving guides, postcards, churches, politics, etc.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Collection of reference books in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right or on "Show All" at left of screen.

Handbook of Texas Online

Nonpartisan, multidisciplinary encyclopedia from the Texas State Historical Association. Addresses almost every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture.

HeritageQuest Online

American culture and history, local and family history, starting with 13 original colonies. U.S. census and family & local history books; index of genealogy & local history articles. Special collections of Revolutionary War and Freedman's Bank records.

Index to Texas Magazines and Documents

Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government. Includes links to some full text when it is available. Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria.

JCR: ISI Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field

JCR is available annually in two editions, Science and Social Sciences.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through millions of quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Oxford Music Online

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Comprehensive music research platform providing combined access to Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Oxford Reference

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Oxford Reference combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

Reader's Guide to Periodicals Literature, 1890-present

Readers' Guide contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Texas Reference Sources Online

This free online publication, produced by the Reference Round Table of the Texas Library Association, is a useful guide to all the best printed and electronic reference sources about Texan history, culture, politics, science, and more. An excellent tool to support all Texas-related research.

UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory

UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

World Almanac

A general reference source on the U.S., each of the 50 states, and other countries. Includes a timeline of the year, biographies, encyclopedia entries, statistics, information on the federal government, historical facts, flags and maps, important manmade and natural landmarks, awards and prizes information, and sports information.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System