Primary Psychology Databases
APA Books & Handbooks
Recently published full-text ebooks from APA, as well as the following APA handbooks:
- APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook
- APA Educational Psychology Handbook
- APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis
- APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology
- APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology
- APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Please Note: These handbooks are the ONLY content to which the library has access inside the APA PsycNet interface. You may also want to search the library's separate subscription to PsycARTICLES on the EBSCOhost platform.
PsycARTICLES
A source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Psychiatry Online
PsychiatryOnline is a powerful web-based portal that features DSM-IV-TRŪ -- the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world -- and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of an unsurpassed collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., the most trusted and respected name in psychiatric publishing.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
Thousands of real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Hundreds of hours of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology Video Online
Documentaries, interviews, case studies, and experiments. Topics include addiction, group psychology, feminist psychology, family psychology, children & adolescent psychology, depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, providing vital information such as test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication dates, and test authors. A score index identifies what is measured by each test. TIP also points to reviews published in the MMY.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary database indexing social sciences journals in many disciplines, as well as relevant references from scientific and technical periodicals. International in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
Additional Databases
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Annual Reviews Science Collection
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.
Criminology Collection
The Criminology Collection includes the full-text of volume one to the present for select journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles cover such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.
Dissertations @ Sam Houston State University
Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
ebrary
ebrary contains e-books spanning all subject areas. Titles can be found in SamCat, the library's online catalog, or books can be searched within ebrary.
Films on Demand
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
View recently added and updated studies.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and law books. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications. Index to Legal Periodicals & Books covers all areas of jurisprudence, including recent court decisions, new legislation, and original scholarship.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
Westlaw Campus
Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.










