Fast Links

Political Science Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Political Science research? Send a question to Linda Meyer, the Political Science Librarian.

Primary Political Science Databases

ProQuest Congressional

Federal legislative research database that provides a searchable electronic version of the CIS/Index for legislative research from 1970 forward and the full-text of publications from the U.S. Congress, current Code of Federal Regulations and the current U.S. Code.

World News Connection

Full-text summaries and translations into English of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is 1996-present.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.

Access World News

Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.

Area Studies Video Online

Streaming video related to Middle Eastern, Latin American, African, Eastern European, and Asian Studies, as well as other global communities. Interdisciplinary coverage of cultural, political, and socioeconomic issues. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.

CQ Press Political Reference Suite

Includes Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, and Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)

View recently added and updated studies.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.

Index to Texas Magazines and Documents

Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government. Includes links to some full text when it is available. Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria.

JSTOR

Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

Politics and Current Affairs Video Online

Issue-based documentaries from around the world. Films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history, including topics such as Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

Military and Government Collection

This database includes hundreds of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets and other content with current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Roper Center

Archive of public opinion research, containing hundreds of thousands of questions and answers from 1935 to the present. For access to the datasets, click on Login and set up a free account.
- iPoll database of questions and answers
- Full datasets to conduct analyses of archived surveys
- Roper Center Homepage

Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Multidisciplinary database indexing social sciences journals in many disciplines, as well as relevant references from scientific and technical periodicals. International in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994

Reports, documents, journals of U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1994. Every publication from 15th - 103rd Congresses.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps

Over 65,000 maps, 1872-1979, 42nd Congress 3rd session - 96th Congress 1st session. Diverse topics such as diseases, railroads, migrations, explorations, international events, & more.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System