Have a question about Nursing research? Send a question to Lynn McMain, the Nursing Librarian.
Primary Nursing Databases
Journal Article Databases
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
Nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing.
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
Nursing Resource Center
Brings together disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results, animated anatomy and physiology diagrams, and Gale encyclopedia texts. Search results are returned in tabs corresponding to steps in the nursing process. Common disease and drug searchable from search boxes on Basic search page.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides access to scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical and nursing topics. Additionally this database features the AHFS Consumer Medication guide, which is a recognized standard for patient drug information in both English and Spanish.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. The current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
MEDLINE
Huge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.
Electronic Books
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref is a core collection of healthcare related e-books. Also included is access to evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, drug formulas, math converters, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, American Pharmacists Association DrugInfoLine, and NCLEX-RN podcasts. STAT!Ref Evidence Alerts allows you to receive email alerts, based on your areas of interest, for evidence-based articles published in clinical healthcare journals.
Additional Databases
Health Reference Center Academic
This database provides indexing, abstracts and some full text for journals and magazines in the health sciences. Designed for allied health science students as well as informed consumer health researchers.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, as well as access to a medical encyclopedia, prescription drug information, a medical dictionary, and up-to-date health news for consumer researchers.
Biological Abstracts
The premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines.
Consumer Health Complete
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men's & women's health, addictions, medications, etc.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
A consumer-focused database with a large collection of health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, with access to full-text, consumer health magazines.
NUTRITIONnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE)
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Provides e-books in Nutrition (as well as Forensic Science, and the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics).Nutrition Care Manual
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM), published by the American Dietetic Association for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and related health care professionals, provides a comprehensive source of research-based nutrition information and tools designed to be used in a clinical setting.E-Skeletons
This website from the University of Texas at Austin provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from an osteology database.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.










