Current Events
Current Newspapers
Historical Newspapers
Current Events
CountryWatch
Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
CQ Researcher
Explores "hot" issues in the news with in-depth, objective, balanced reports. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers, and citizens on all sides of every issue. Reports also include charts, graphs, sidebar articles, pro-con feature, chronology, lengthy bibliographies, and a list of contacts.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC)
Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
Politics and Current Affairs Video Online
Issue-based documentaries from around the world. Films focus on the key issues and events of recent global history, including topics such as Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Newspapers & Other News Sources
Access World News
Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
Barron's Digital Microfilm, 2008-present
Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of Barron's without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
Factiva.com
Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources. Instructions for searching Factiva.
Houston Chronicle, 1985-present
The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.
InfoTrac Newsstand
Collection of local, regional, and national full text newspapers, including the Austin American-Statesman, Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Star Telegram, New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, etc. Backfiles go as far back as 1996 for most newspapers.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
Newsbank
The Newsbank portal provides access to a large number of current and historical newspapers, as well as several other collections of historical documents.
Newspaper Source
Selected full text from national (U.S.) and international newspapers, television & radio news transcripts, and regional (U.S.) newspapers. Updated daily.
New York Times (Late Edition, East Coast) Digital Microfilm, 2008-present
Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
New York Times Historical, 1851 to 3 years ago
Every page of every issue of the New York Times, from 1851 until approximately 3 years ago.
Regional Business News
Full-text coverage of business newspapers, newswires, and journals from various U.S. metropolitan and rural areas. Updated daily.
Texas Reference Center
Texas history, diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, etc. Books, journals, biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas, with Texas and national news coverage.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) Digital Microfilm, 2008-present
Though not exactly a searchable database, this digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the Wall Street Journal without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Available issues will be approximately 2-3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
World News Connection
Full-text summaries and translations into English of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, radio and television broadcasts, periodicals, non-classified technical reports and local media sources from around the world. Specializes in socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Coverage is 1996-present.
Historical Newspapers
For more historical newspapers, see the History Databases page.










