Fast Links

Music Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Music research? Send a question to Bruce Hall, the Music Librarian.

Primary Music Databases

Music Index

The Music Index surveys data from hundreds of international music periodicals and reviews new journals for possible inclusion. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are carefully categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject Heading List. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organologic topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

Grove Music Online

Includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Updated regularly.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.
Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, please try again later. Please be sure to logout when you have finished.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

A comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Provides essays, images, and audio examples, including entries by expert contributors from all over the world.

IMSLP: International Music Score Library Project

IMSLP is a source for more than 200,000 musical scores. Additionally, IMSLP scores can be downloaded directly into piaScore, a free iPad app for viewing and annotating scores.

IPA Source: IPA Transcriptions and Literal Translations of Songs and Arias

IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Provides thousands of texts, including hundreds of aria texts.

Library Music Source

The complete or nearly complete published works of the world's great composers for orchestra, chamber ensemble, piano, organ, voice, chorus, strings, winds, percussion and guitar. Hundreds of thousands of sheet music pages, including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples.

SingersBabel

SingersBabel helps musicians gain an awareness of the synergy of words and music by integrating traditional teaching tools with established technology. Developed through work with diction specialists, SingersBabel includes tools to teach and refine pronunciation, enhance comprehension, understand changes in language, improve diction, and understand and evaluate diverse viewpoints. Note: Some features of this resource may not function correctly in Internet Explorer.

Online Music Recordings

Naxos Music Library

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Naxos Music Library provides online access to well over one million tracks in classical, jazz, world, classic rock, and nostalgia music. Also includes music notes, instrumentation, CD cover artwork, synopses and libretti for 700+ operas, more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, and more. A free Naxos app is available from both iTunes and Google Play. (Watch this video for help setting up the app.)

Naxos Music Library: Jazz

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Tracks from more than 6,000 CDs of both jazz legends and contemporary jazz, including famous names and independent labels.

Online Video Collections

Opera in Video

Hundreds of hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Many performances include captions with translated lyrics.

Ethnographic Video Online

Educational and documentary streaming videos in ethnography. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Additional Databases

Periodicals Archive Online

Journal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

JSTOR

Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

Project MUSE

Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System