Have a question about Library Science research? Send a question to Ann Jerabek, the Library Science Librarian.
Primary Library Science Databases
Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles, plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s.
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes journals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Library & Information Science Source (upgrade from Library Literature & Information Science Full Text)
Containing English and foreign-language periodicals, journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books, this database encompasses subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the history of library studies.
Classification Web
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Classification web is a Library of Congress database containing the LC Classification Schedules and the LC Subject Headings. It is used primarily by librarians, catalogers, and library science students.
- LC Subject Headings - Search LC subject authority records.
- LC Classification Schedules - Search LC classifications schedules and tables.
- Correlation database - Correlate the subject headings and the classification schedules.
Children's Core Collection
The Children's Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection
The Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in five through ninth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
Fiction Core Collection
List of classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. Covers the best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Covers individual novels and novellas contained in composite works. Includes bibliographic data, price, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from reviews.
Graphic Novels Core Collection
Highlights more than librarian-recommended titles for all age levels with descriptive and evaluative annotations, cover art, review excerpts and awards the title has won.
Public Library Core Collection: NonFiction
Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available.
Sears List of Subject Headings
Sears List of Subject Headings is a thesaurus-like database delivering a core list of headings, together with patterns and examples to guide the cataloger in creating further headings as needed.
Senior High Core Collection
The Senior High Core Collection includes materials for readers in ninth through twelfth grade, including books on a wide variety of topics for youth, ranging from Native Americans and rainforest ecology to health issues. The collection also includes curriculum-related material in social studies and the sciences; drama, novels, and short story collections; biographies; books for the librarian or media specialist; and recommended Web sites.
Something About the Author Online
Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Additional Databases
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)
This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes hundreds of thousands of citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Provides links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website (about 80% of ERIC documents since 1993).
JCR: ISI Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive and unique resource tool that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 60 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions, Science and Social Sciences.
Dissertations @ Sam Houston State University
Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.










