Fast Links

Geology/Geography Databases

Back to Subject List

Primary Literature Databases

GeoRef and GeoRef in Process

GeoRef contains citations for journals plus numerous conference papers, theses, and other publications in the fields of geology, geophysics, and paleontology. Citations cover the years 1785-present for geology of North America and the years 1933-present for geology of other areas worldwide.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines.

General Science Full Text

General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

Video Databases

Ambrose Video

Films in the sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environmental science, geology, meteorology, and physics. Closed-captioning provided in all videos; after selecting a video, roll over the video player and click the "CC" button at the upper right.

Films on Demand

Thousands of educational films in almost every discipline. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.

Science Video Online

Films covering Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.

AGRICOLA

Millions of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering all areas of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

Annual Reviews Science Collection

Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.

Education Source

International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Electronic Collections Online

Scholarly journals from 1995 to early 2012 (content addition ceased Feb 1, 2012). Provides indexing, abstracts, and limited full text for journals in most subject areas.

EPodunk

Website providing searchable database of towns and cities in the U.S. Includes a brief profile, followed by links to local events, genealogy, government, statistics, museums and colleges, festivals, historic sites and neighborhoods, moving guides, postcards, churches, politics, etc.

ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)

This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes hundreds of thousands of citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Provides links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website (about 80% of ERIC documents since 1993).

JSTOR

Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

Marcive Web Docs

Provides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

WorldCat

Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Free Geographic Maps and Data Sets Online

GeoData.gov, the GeoSpatial One-Stop

This government website serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data. The portal is a catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more. The metadata records were submitted to the portal by government agencies, individuals, and companies, or by harvesting the data from geospatial clearinghouses.

National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program

The National Geologic Map Database contains over 88,000 maps, along with a lexicon of geologic names. The site also contains basic information and educational material about geologic maps.

Texas Geographic Information System (GIS) Maps & Data

This website from the Texas General Land Office provides a wide variety of downloaded GIS data sets related to the state. Maps and data are provided in the following subject areas: energy resources, professional services, oil spills and coastal response, and coastal management.

Huntsville City Maps and Geographic Information System (GIS) Data

This resource, prepared by the City of Huntsville, Texas, GIS division, provides a variety of GIS maps and reports on topics such as FEMA flood review, planning & development, property, and mapping control.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System