Fast Links

Forensic Science Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Forensic Science research? Send a question to Susan Strickland or to Lynn McMain, the Forensic Science Librarians.

Primary Science Databases

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)

ACS provides full-text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year.

Biological Abstracts

The premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.

FORENSICnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE)

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
FORENSICnetBASE provides online access to e-books on forensic science, criminal justice, and law enforcement published by CRC Press.

MEDLINE

Huge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.

General Science Full Text

General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines.

Web of Science

Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

Primary Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice (CJ) Abstracts

Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.

Criminology Collection

The Criminology Collection includes the full-text of volume one to the present for select journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles cover such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.

ProQuest Criminal Justice

Provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.

Primary Legal Cases & Journal Article Databases

Legal Source

Includes scholarly law journals, scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. Covers topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment, and more. International scope covers U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.

Westlaw Campus

Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.

Additional Databases

Dissertations @ Sam Houston State University

Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.

JSTOR

Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are full-text.

Project MUSE

Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

SciFinder Scholar

Email lib_erl@shsu.edu from your SHSU email account to request a login. By return email, you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.

SciFinder provides access to databases of chemical abstracts; organic and inorganic substances and biosequences; reactions from journal literature and patents; compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists; international commercial suppliers; references from currently published journals; and patent information from active patent-issuing authorities.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition includes indexing and full-text articles from General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System