Primary Education Journal Article Databases
Education Research Complete
Full-text education journals; topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. Includes journals, books and monographs, and conference papers.
Education Full Text, 1929-present
Comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks, cover to cover. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Includes both current and retrospective collections.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)
This comprehensive index covers all areas of education including scholarly research and practitioner information, from 1966 to the present. Indexes hundreds of thousands of citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Provides links to fulltext ERIC documents available on the EDRS website (about 80% of ERIC documents since 1993).
APA Books & Handbooks
Recently published full-text ebooks from APA, as well as the following APA handbooks:
- APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook
- APA Educational Psychology Handbook
- APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis
- APA Handbook of Counseling Psychology
- APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology
- APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
Please Note: These handbooks are the ONLY content to which the library has access inside the APA PsycNet interface. You may also want to search the library's separate subscription to PsycARTICLES on the EBSCOhost platform.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, providing vital information such as test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication dates, and test authors. A score index identifies what is measured by each test. TIP also points to reviews published in the MMY.
Physical Education Index
Provides indexing and abstracts to journals and magazines with some linking out to full-text articles.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Web of Science
Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Curriculum and Instruction
Professional Development Collection
Specialized collection of high-quality education journals and educational reports, designed for professional educators.
Education in Video
Streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers, including teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
goENC
Explore the most comprehensive collection of materials for math and science educators. You can find lesson ideas, articles about teaching practices, curriculum resources, professional development tools, and much more.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers full-text, searchable MARC records and reviews of children's books.
Primary Search
Provides full text for popular magazines for elementary school research. Articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full-text information dates as far back as 1990. Updated daily.
Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Middle Search Plus also contains biographies, primary-source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra -- School Edition also provides full-text reference books, biographies, primary-source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
Texas Reference Center
Texas history, diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, etc. Books, journals, biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas, with Texas and national news coverage.
TOPICsearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains articles from diverse sources, including many in full text.
Vocational & Career Collection
Provides full-text coverage of trade and industry-related periodicals. Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public.
Additional Databases
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Children's Core Collection
The Children's Catalog includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in pre-school through sixth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
Dissertations @ Sam Houston State University
Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.
ebrary
ebrary contains e-books spanning all subject areas. Titles can be found in SamCat, the library's online catalog, or books can be searched within ebrary.
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Films on Demand
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
View recently added and updated studies.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library.
Index to Texas Magazines and Documents
Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government. Includes links to some full text when it is available. Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria.
JSTOR
Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection
The Middle and Junior High Core Collection includes fiction and nonfiction, story collections, picture books and magazines for readers in five through ninth grade. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The list of recommended Web sites includes both subscription databases and free Web sites, including the publisher's name and phone number, price, grade level, and URL.
Fiction Core Collection
List of classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. Covers the best authors and their most widely read works in literary and popular fiction, old and new, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns, and romance. Covers individual novels and novellas contained in composite works. Includes bibliographic data, price, descriptive annotations, and evaluative quotations from reviews.
Public Library Core Collection: NonFiction
Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available, plus information on electronic editions of works where available.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Senior High Core Collection
The Senior High Core Collection includes materials for readers in ninth through twelfth grade, including books on a wide variety of topics for youth, ranging from Native Americans and rainforest ecology to health issues. The collection also includes curriculum-related material in social studies and the sciences; drama, novels, and short story collections; biographies; books for the librarian or media specialist; and recommended Web sites.
Westlaw Campus
Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.










