Fast Links

Dance Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Dance research? Send a question to Janice Lange, the Dance Librarian.

Online Video Collections

Academic Video Online

Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Dance in Video

Hundreds of hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Some videos include interactive text transcripts.

Films on Demand

Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.

Primary Dance Databases

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR

Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

Project MUSE

Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.

Vogue Archive (1892-present)

Entire run of Vogue magazine from 1892-present, including text, images, captions, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Useful for researching fashion design and marketing, popular culture, photography and visual arts, gender, social history, designing period costumes, and more.

Additional Tools

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System