Fast Links

Communication Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Communications research? Send a question to Teri Oparanozie, the Communications Librarian.

Primary Communication Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides online access to full-text articles from many communication and mass media journals and indexing and abstracting for hundreds more.

ComAbstracts

Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.

Additional Databases

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.

Films on Demand

Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Films on Demand provides instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. The Films Media Group (FMG) serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Shopware, and Meridian. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.

Academic Video Online

Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Polling the Nations

Polling the Nations is a compilation of thousands of surveys conducted by hundreds of polling organizations in the United States and other countries.

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Provides indexing to all statistics issued by the U.S. government since 1973 through CIS' American Statistics Index and provides the actual statistical tables for approximately 60% of the indexed information.

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari is an electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals, providing searchable full-text contents of thousands of books selected for SHSU.

Sage Research Methods

Watch tutorial videos to learn how to navigate and use this resource.
Sage Research Methods Online is comprised of Sage's Little Green Books, Little Bluebooks, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and selected journal articles. You have the option to create an account to save your work, download book chapters, and view explanatory videos.
Please note: Some features of this resource are not optimized for use on iPads.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System