Fast Links

Chemistry Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Chemistry research? Email a question to Lynn McMain, the Chemistry Librarian - or chat with her when she's online:

 

Primary Chemistry Journal Article Databases

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)

ACS provides full-text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines.

SciFinder Scholar

Email lib_erl@shsu.edu from your SHSU email account to request a login. By return email, you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.

SciFinder provides access to databases of chemical abstracts; organic and inorganic substances and biosequences; reactions from journal literature and patents; compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists; international commercial suppliers; references from currently published journals; and patent information from active patent-issuing authorities.

Video Databases

Ambrose Video

Films in the sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environmental science, geology, meteorology, and physics. Closed-captioning provided in all videos; after selecting a video, roll over the video player and click the "CC" button at the upper right.

Films on Demand

Thousands of educational films in almost every discipline. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.

Science Video Online

Films covering Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Additional Databases

Annual Reviews Science Collection

Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics contains physical constants and formulas, properties of elements and organic and inorganic compounds, and other chemical data.

General Science Full Text

General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.

STN Easy (Scientific & Technical Information Network)

STN Easy provides access to the leading chemical indexing database, Chemical Abstracts, and CA Registry. The use of this database is restricted to faculty, upper division and graduate students within the Department of Chemistry.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition includes indexing and full-text articles from General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.

Project MUSE

Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System