Have a question about Business research? Send a question to Lisa Shen, the Business Librarian.
What are You Looking For?
Journal Articles
Accounting & Tax
News, Law, & Country Info
Company, Industry, & Financial Info
Economics & Statistics
Citation Tools & Additional Resources
Research Guides in Business:
Journal Articles
+ Business Source Complete
- Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication.
- Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune
- Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries
- One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text
+ Business Abstracts with Full Text, 1913-present
- Scholarly (peer-reviewed) & trade journals covering topics including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, & business history
+ ScienceDirect
- Journal topics include Accounting, Business & Management, and Economics
- Some fulltext, include Elsevier Science's journals
- Include the Handbooks in Economics, select Source: "Subscribed books"
+ Emerald Management Xtra 120
- Journal articles covering topics on accounting, management, marketing, international business, organizational management, etc.
- Good global coverage, especially from the U.K and Western Europe
- Over ¾ of the articles are peer-reviewed
- Includes Emerald Management Reviews, a list of the top 300 business journals chosen annually by an independent accreditation board of management experts
+ JSTOR
- Scholarly articles, mostly full text
- Covers multiple subject areas, focuses on historical coverage
+ Social Science Citation Index
- Part of Web of Science; a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,700 social sciences journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as relevant references from over 3,300 scientific and technical periodical; international in scope
- Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques
- Leads to citations with bibliographical references for articles from over 1,700 journals. Many of the references include author-prepared abstracts
+ Index to Texas Magazines and Documents
- Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government
- Includes links to some full text when it is available
- Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria
+ RFID Journal
Research on Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) technology and its business applications
Go to Premium Content for case studies, best practices, etc.
Accounting & Tax
+ BNA Tax Management Library
- Analysis, news, and primary documents on financial accounting and taxation at state, federal, and international level
- Includes Internal Revenue Code, tax cases, and regulations
+ RIA Checkpoint
- For in-depth accounting and tax research; includes analysis from RIA, WG&L, and PPC
- Includes International Tax Library, providing analytical and primary source materials.
- Free individual login needed; please request an RIA login EACH SEMESTER to sign up; an email with your login username and password will be sent to the address you provide.
News, Law, & Country Info
+ A to Z World Culture
- Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore
+ CountryWatch
- News, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world
- Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues
+ Factiva.com
- Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts
- Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources
- Instructions for searching Factiva
+ LexisNexis Academic
- Full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers, journals and magazines
- Financial information for companies, including: SEC Reports, Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions, Disclosure Reports, NAARS -Annual Reports 84-95 and more
+ Westlaw Campus
- Best place to start legal research
- Cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes; full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews.
+ Access World News
- Covers 5,000 newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires, and broadcast transcripts
- Includes current and archived articles at the state, regional , national, and international levels
+ Regional Business News
- Full-text coverage of 75 business newspapers, newswires, and journals from various U.S. metropolitan and rural areas
- Updated daily
Company, Industry, & Financial Info
+ Business Source Complete
- Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Journal of Management, Journal of Business Communication, & Harvard Business Review
- Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune
- Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries
- One of the largest business article database at the Library; most articles are full-text
+ Business Insights: Global (formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
- Company profiles with SWOT analysis, history, market share
- Industry profiles and rankings
- Articles and case studies from academic journals and magazines
+ First Research
- Challenges, opportunities, and operations of 600+ industry segments
+ IBISWorld
- Reports on over 700 U.S. industries and market environments, searchable by NAICS and SIC codes
- Profiles on major public U.S. companies
- Includes Global Industry Reports
+ D & B Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet)
- 14 industry ratios covering critical areas of business performance in solvency, efficiency, and profitability
- Ratios are listed by SIC industry codes
+ D & B Key Business Ratios Archive
Archives of the D & B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, spanning 1979-2010.
+ Datamonitor360
- Company profiles with detailed information on companies including company overview, key facts, business description, history, major products and services, top competitors and SWOT analysis
- Industry profiles with key information on industries by country including market size, competitive landscape, forecast data and market performance
+ Mergent Online
- Extensive profiles on over 25,000 U.S. and international companies, including financial statements and ratios
- Industry Reports by major world regions and country profiles
- Most financial data are downloadable to Excel and PDF format
- Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. Be sure to log out when finished.
+ RMA e-statement Studies
- Financial Ratio Benchmarks (FRB) and Industry Default Probabilities (IDP) for 600+ industries by year, asset range, and region
- "All data downloaded from RMA's e-Statement Studies is the property of RMA and must be destroyed when the user leaves the University and/or when access to the database is terminated. Authors desiring to use RMA licensed content in a published piece of literature must consult this license: RMA License to Incorporate
+ Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage
- Company profiles, including financial data, top competitors, and extensive stock information
- Industry surveys, including trends, key ratios, and how to analyze a given industry
- Mutual funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) analysis and ranking
- Good "Financial Education" section for non-finance majors
+ Value Line Investment Survey Online
- Current and historical financial data for thousands of U.S. companies, mutual funds, etc.
- Analytical tools, rankings, and analysis to support investment research.
- Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot login, try again later. Be sure to log out when finished.
+ Thomas Register (ThomasNet)
- Directory of over 156,000 North American manufacturing companies
- Provides basic company info, websites, and product catalogs (when available)
- Searchable by product type, region, and company type (e.g. manufacturer, supplier, retailer, etc.)
Economics & Statistics
+ Economic Literature (EconLit)
- Includes journal articles, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, book chapters and essays
- International in scope
- Some articles are available in full-text (click on the "Search For Full Text" link)
+ Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research
- Publications from the Conference Board, a global, independent research organization
- Research Reports on key management and economic topics
- Annual Studies on executive compensation and Economic Research on market forecast and economic indicators
- Search the Business Management Research collection - please note Economic Datasets are not included in this search
+ National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers Online
- Provides working papers by National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers; many of these reports of initial findings are subsequently published in scholarly journals
- Working papers published after 1994 are available in full-text (early 500 NBER Working Papers are published each year)
+ Mergent Online - Economics Time Series
- U.S. economic data collected from primary sources and updated daily
- Hundreds of key economic series in daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly frequencies, up to 10 years
+ ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)
- Provides access to a wide range of statistical publications from the federal government, including labor, business, foreign exchange statistics, and more
+ STAT-USA Sources (Guide from the University of Central Florida)
- STAT-USA, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, provided authoritative Federal information for the business, economic, and trade communities.
- The STAT-USA Office has closed down; its services are no longer available. Please use this guide to locate the data sources that were provided through the STAT-USA website.
Citation Tools & Additional Resources
+ EndNote Web
- Read introduction / instructions for SHSU EndNote Web users.
- Video: Create an EndNote Web account off-campus -- PC.
- Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
+ Reference Universe
- Meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print.
- Searches the complete index of each reference book.
- Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
Databases Available in the Library:
Research InSight on DVD/Network
- Software program for accessing and performing in-depth analysis of financial data
- This is not a web-based resource like other databases. It can only be accessed from the Library Reference Desk Area computers, or Library laptops available for checkout to use within the Library
- To Access: Go to your Start Menu > Library Resources > Research Insight > click the Research Insight link. View instructions for using Research Insight (PDF)










