Newton Gresham Library provides access to thousands of electronic books (ebooks) on many topics. Many other ebooks are available for anyone to access for free on the Internet.
Ebooks at the Newton Gresham Library
Ebooks at Other Websites
[ Search ]
English and Multilingual
French
German
Spanish
Other Languages
Ebooks at the Newton Gresham Library
Learn how to download Library ebooks to your mobile devices!
Ebooks from the library can be read online, on or off campus, by any user with an SHSU username and password. Many ebooks can be found in SamCat, the library catalog (choose Electronic Books in the box labeled "location groups"), or each collection can be searched individually.
Major ebook collections available from the Newton Gresham Library:
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Largest collection; all subject areas. Learn how to download ebooks to your mobile device (epub / Adobe Digital Editions format).
ebrary
All subject areas. Learn how to download ebooks to your mobile device (epub / Adobe Digital Editions format).
Business Expert Press
Downloadable (epub / Adobe Digital Editions format) business ebooks. To enter, click on “View Your Institution’s BEP ebooks.”
Credo Reference
Reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.). Entries/articles can be downloaded as PDFs, which can be transferred to most devices.
CRCnetBASE
Ebooks in Forensics/Law Enforcement and Nutrition.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Early American Imprints
Books and other documents published in America from 1639-1819. Items an be downloaded as PDFs.
Early English Books Online
Virtually every work printed in U.K. and its colonies, 1473-1700.
FORENSICnetBASE(part of CRCnetBASE)
Ebooks on Forensics and Law Enforcement.
Gutenberg-e
Award-winning history books from Columbia University and the American Historical Association. Chapters can be saved as HTML files (text).
GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.). Entries/articles can be downloaded as PDFs, which can be transferred to most devices.
InfoSci Books (IGI Global)
Information/computer science; technology applied to business & public administration, engineering, education, medical & healthcare, and social science. Book chapters can be downloaded as PDFs, which can be transferred to most devices.
Literary Reference Center
Classic works (primarily Western culture traditional works, e.g., Jane Austen, William Shakespeare, Herman Melville, and others); literary reference works. Many works can be downloaded as PDFs, which can be transferred to most devices.
MAS Ultra
Reference books for a high school audience. Entries/articles can be saved as HTML files (text); most also can be downloaded as MP3 audio files.
NUTRITIONnetBASE (part of CRCnetBASE)
Ebooks on Nutrition.
Oxford Reference
Reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.).
Safari Tech Books Online
Programming and information/computer science.
ScienceDirect
Ebooks in various science disciplines. TIP: When searching, limit search to "Subscribed sources" or "Subscribed books" to find books which SHSU users can access. Book chapters can be downloaded as PDFs, which can be transferred to most devices.
STAT!Ref
Ebooks in healthcare.
Texas Reference Center
Reference books about Texas. Many works can be downloaded as PDFs, which can be transferred to most devices, or saved as HTML files (text). Some works also can be downloaded as MP3 audio files.
Twayne's Authors Series
Books about U.S., English, and World authors.
Twentieth Century American and English Poetry
1300+ poetry volumes of American and English poetry. Works can be saved as HTML files (text).
Ebooks Freely Available at Other Websites
Please be aware: The Newton Gresham Library is not responsible for the content of the sites listed below and does not endorse additional sites to which these sites may link. Some of the websites listed below may include advertisements. Links last checked on 24 April 2012.
Even when ebooks are provided free of charge, copyright restrictions may still apply.
Online Ebooks Search Engine
| Search for title and author keywords: (in sites marked with * below) |
English and Multilingual
- * Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts - searchable database of ~14,000 public domain works (literature, philosophy, etc.) (Infomotions/Eric Lease Morgan)
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century - digitized works (New York Public Library Digital Schomburg)
- American Verse Project - American poetry volumes published before 1920 (U. Michigan)
- * Bartleby.com - great books online, including fiction and reference
- * Beowulf in Cyberspace - Old English facsimiles facing modern text translation (Benjamin Slade)
- * Bibles, Multilingual - (ARTFL Project, U. Chicago) (only title keywords in search, example: "King James")
- * British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832 - electronic texts (U. California, Davis)
- * Classic Bookshelf - "classic" works (by authors like Dickens, Twain, etc.); customize your reading interface (colors, font, size, etc.) (only authors in search)
- * Classic Reader - books, plays, and short stories from Shakespeare, Dickens, Austen, and more
- * Collected Works of Shakespeare (U. Sydney, Australia)
- Digital Culture Books (U. Michigan) - books on new media studies and the emerging field of digital humanities; read free online or pay to purchase print copies
- * Digital Dante - several English translations, with original Italian (Columbia U.)
- * Digital Scriptorium - multilingual medieval and renaissance manuscripts (Columbia U. Libraries)
- Electronic Books - index of sites, grouped by broad topics, that provide ebooks (U. Texas)
- UC Press E-Books Collection - 500+ academic press books available to public in full text
- * featherproof Books: Free Mini-Books - includes short-story-length mini-books and short excerpts of longer works, free for download (and origami-folding!)
- * Folklore and Mythology Online - full-text folklore and mythology (multicultural; translated) (D. L. Ashliman, U. Pittsburgh)
- * Full Books Online - organized by title
- Google Books - to search only complete electronic books, do an Advanced Search and choose "Full view only"
- * Internet Classics Archive - mostly Greco-Roman classics, some Persian and Chinese authors (MIT)
- * Internet Medieval Sourcebook - books, papers, etc. from medieval history and about medieval study (Fordham U., Center for Medieval Studies)
- * James Fenimore Cooper - texts online (James Fenimore Cooper Society, hosted by SUNY)
- The Making of America - books and articles from American history, antebellum period through Reconstruction (U. Michigan)
- National Academies Press - free ebooks from the publisher for the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council
- The Online Book Page - index of sites with free online books; lists available by specialty (Foreign Languages, Agriculture, etc.) (U. Pennsylvania)
- * Open Books (free and paid ebooks without Digital Rights Management, or DRM) (calibre)
- * Page by Page Books - classic books, stories, speeches, etc. available online
- * Project Gutenberg
- * Turning The Pages - great books online (British Library)
- * Victorian Women Writers Project (Indiana U.)
- * William Blake Archive (Library of Congress & UNC Chapel Hill)
- * World of Dante - with searchable Italian text, English translation, maps, and more (U. Virginia)
French
- * ARTFL Project - historical French dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference works (U. Chicago)
- * ABU: la Bibliotheque Universelle - public domain French texts (ABU)
- * Charrette Project - Chrétien de Troyes's Le Chevalier de la Charrette (Princeton U.)
- * Classici Stranieri (authors listed on the right)
- French Resources Online - language-learning resources (iLoveLanguages)
- * Gallica - Digital Library of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France
- * Lire les Femmes Ecrivains et les Litteratures Africaines - women writers of French-speaking Africa (U. Western Australia)
- * Litterature francophone virtuelle (ClicNet)
- Livre des sources medievales - medieval sources in French (Fordham U., Center for Medieval Studies)
- * Textes Francaise (ATHENA)
German
- * Austrian Literature Online - mostly in German
- * Bibliotheca Germanica - some online works in German (Bibliotheca Augustana)
- * Freiburger Anthologie
- * Classici Stranieri (authors listed on the right)
- German Resources Online - language-learning resources (iLoveLanguages)
- * German texts (Zeno.org)
- * MATEO - MAnnheimer TExte Online (U. Mannheim)
- * Ngiyaw eBooks - focus on Austrian women's history and literature
- * Projekt Gutenberg-DE - German texts (no direct relation to Project Gutenberg, United States)
- * WikiSource: Zeitschriften - links to pre-1930 German magazines (no newspapers) online
Spanish
- * Biblioteca Babab - downloadable PDFs of works from Spanish and Latin American authors, published by Babab.com
- Biblioteca Natcional de Espana, Biblioteca Digital Hispanica - various collections of digitized materials (Spanish National Library)
- * Biblioteca Natcional de Espana, Hemeroteca Digital - Digital newspapers (Spanish National Library)
- * Biblioteca Virtual Miguel De Cervantes - includes an extensive collection of Spanish literature, language, and history works, as well as a Spanish sign language library
- * Centro Virtual Cervantes: Literatura
- * Cervantes Project (Texas A&M U.)
- * Elaleph
- El Quijote en la BNE - various editions of Cervantes Quijote, digitized, in a great interactive reader
- * Golden Age Spanish Sonnets - in Spanish with English translations (Sweet Briar College)
- * Ibero-American Electronic Text Series - works in the humanities (U. Wisconsin-Madison)
- * Libro de fuente medieval - medieval sources in Spanish (Fordham U., Center for Medieval Studies)
- Memoria Chilena - Chilean historical books and other Spanish materials
- * Proyecto Filosofia en Espanol - philosophical works in Spanish
- Spanish Resources Online - language-learning resources (iLoveLanguages)
- * TEXTOS LEMIR - medieval Spanish texts
- * Works of Miguel de Cervantes (Fred F. Jehle, Indiana U.-Purdue U. Fort Wayne)
Various Other Languages Could Be Found At...
- Electronic Books - index of sites, grouped by broad topics (U. Texas)
- Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature - index of sites (WESSweb, U. Virginia)
- * Classical Latin Texts (Packard Humanities Institute)
- Major Text Collections Online: By Language - index of sites (Columbia U.)
- Resources - language-learning resources (iLoveLanguages)










