Have a question about Biology research? Email a question to Lynn McMain, the Biology Librarian - or chat with her when she's online:
Primary Biology Journal Article Databases
Biological Abstracts
The premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.
BioOne
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
Video Databases
Ambrose Video
Films in the sciences, including astronomy, biology, chemistry, environmental science, geology, meteorology, and physics. Closed-captioning provided in all videos; after selecting a video, roll over the video player and click the "CC" button at the upper right.
Films on Demand
Thousands of educational films in almost every discipline. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click "CC" button at upper right for captions.
Science Video Online
Films covering Environmental Studies, Natural History, and the Physical and Biological Sciences-- including coverage of Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Geology, Oceanography, Ecology, Astronomy, and Geography. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Additional Databases
Annual Reviews Science Collection
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others.
General Science Full Text
General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
Nursing and allied health journals and other publications of the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing.
JSTOR Plant Science
JSTOR Plant Science provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It may be useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies.
All About Birds
This website from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology includes a Bird Guide that lets you search or browse information on over 585 species; identification tips, sound, and video for a growing number of common species; and other materials about birds.
E-Skeletons
This website from the University of Texas at Austin provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from an osteology database.
Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science)
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
SciFinder Scholar
Email lib_erl@shsu.edu from your SHSU email account to request a login. By return email, you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.
SciFinder provides access to databases of chemical abstracts; organic and inorganic substances and biosequences; reactions from journal literature and patents; compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists; international commercial suppliers; references from currently published journals; and patent information from active patent-issuing authorities.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition includes indexing and full-text articles from General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.
MEDLINE
Huge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.
JSTOR
Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Project MUSE
Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.
AGRICOLA
Millions of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering all areas of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Reference Universe
Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.
EndNote Web
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.










