Fast Links

Biography Databases

Back to Subject List

Biographical Databases

Biography Index Past and Present

Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

American National Biography

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Biographies of thousands of men and women whose lives have shaped the United States. Updated and revised regularly.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

Complete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.

Dictionary of National Biography

(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past since the fourth century BC.

Contemporary Authors

For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers may current writers in a wide range of media.

Additional Databases

Britannica Academic Edition / Encyclopedia Britannica

Britannica Academic Edition includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with tens of thousands of articles and biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.

Credo Reference

Credo is a giant online reference library that provides access to reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law. See the titles in Credo.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System