Fast Links

Art Databases

Back to Subject List

Have a question about Art research? Send a question to Michelle Martinez, the Art Librarian.

Primary Art Databases

Art and Architecture in Video

Streaming video collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.

Art Full Text, 1929-present

Periodicals covering advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. Also includes exhibition reviews and reproductions of works of art that appear in the indexed periodicals. Includes materials in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Includes both current and retrospective collections.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)

Covers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

CAMIO contains color images of works in the fine arts, architecture, photography, and the decorative arts, drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress and prominent art museums. The images may be used for educational and research purposes if properly credited, but may not be published or otherwise distributed.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals.

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition

Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.

Project MUSE

Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities.

Vogue Archive (1892-present)

Entire run of Vogue magazine from 1892-present, including text, images, captions, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs. Useful for researching fashion design and marketing, popular culture, photography and visual arts, gender, social history, designing period costumes, and more.

Additional Databases

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote Web

Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT | Contact Web Editor
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System