Databases By Subject

Alphabetical List Trial Databases Access Problems

QuickLinks to Databases:

Databases By Subject

To find more focused information for a topic in a specific subject area, please click on the appropriate subject below. The icon indicates that full text is available for that database.

    Economics

  Education

  English

  Foreign Languages

  Forensic Science

  Geology/Geography

  Health & Kinesiology

  History

  Library Science
 

Trial Databases

The following databases are being evaluated by the NGL for purchase. They are only available on campus.

Ebrary

Ebrary is a database with thousands of books in a digital format. The electronic books collection covers a broad scope of academic subject areas. Hundreds of titles are added every month and most of ebrary's content has been published since 2000.

ENDS: March 16, 2010

Computing Reviews

Computing Reviews (CR) aims to provide access to current research, theory and applications in all subdisciplines of computing via the review medium. CR compiles expert, unbiased critical reviews of current publications of note in computing. The goals of CR are to provide an overview of developments in computing to both specialists and generalists who wish to survey the field as a whole; isolate and illuminate quality materials; and build and enhance communities of computer scientists and others by promoting the exchange of ideas.

ENDS: Mar 20, 2010

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1:
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2:

This BETA version trial consists of a select group of titles from the Revolutionary War Period, whereas the final product will house the overall collection of materials from the American Antiquarian Society's (AAS) library documenting the life of Americans from Colonial America to the Civil War and Reconstruction.

ENDS: Mar 20, 2010

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 (BETA):

The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 (BETA) presents digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture published and digitized by Arte Público Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., covering geographically the fifty states of the Union. The premier collection documents intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.

ENDS: Mar 20, 2010

Sage E-Reference Collection

This collection provides full-text access to 85 high-quality specialized encyclopedias and reference titles. Subjects covered include Education, Sociology, History, Political Science, Anthropology, Psychology, and many others. All articles are signed by the author, and citations are provided for each entry in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats.

  • Select All SAGE Reference Online Encyclopedias A-Z to browse encyclopedias
  • Select All SAGE Reference Online Handbooks A-Z to browse handbooks

ENDS: March 31, 2010

Social Science Electronic Data Library

The Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) is a premium health and social science resource consisting of over 500 datasets from more than 250 studies. The datasets are organized into 9 topically-focused collections or archives and each was selected for inclusion by a National Advisory Panel of experts in that archive’s topical focus. SSEDL is a unique source of primary re¬search data known for the quality of exemplary data, usability of the format and accessibility for easy search and analysis.

ENDS: March 31, 2010