Criminal Justice & Legal Databases

Back to Subject List

Primary Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts (1968 - current)

Index with abstracts of the major scholarly journals, books, and reports in criminology and related disciplines. This is the best place to search for scholarly article citations.

Criminal Justice Periodical Index (1981 - current)

CJPI provides information on criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal law. Contains full text of selected scholarly journals.

Criminology: A Sage Full Text Collection (1982 - current)

Criminology includes the full-text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years. Encompassing over 4,100 articles, it covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.

Primary Legal Cases & Journal Article Databases

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text is a bibliographic database that cites articles from legal periodicals and indexes law books. Full text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to the full-text of hundreds of newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, legal cases, and public laws. Primarily covers legal and business topics. Formerly called Academic Universe.

Westlaw Campus

Westlaw campus provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research

Additional Databases

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Columbia International Affairs Online is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Dissertations and Theses - Sam Houston State University

Provides full text access to dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced after 1996. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free. Dissertations are currently produced in the College of Criminal Justice and the College Education & Applied Science

FORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE

ForensicNetBase provides online access to more than sixty e-books on forensic science, criminal justice and the law published by CRC Press. It incorporates LAWENFORCEMENTnetBASE.

ICPSR

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. ICPSR adds value by providing data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files, converting codebooks to PDF and providing detailed descriptions of the studies. Some datasets are enhanced for use in ICPSR’s online Data Analysis System (from the ICPSR User Guide). Sam Houston State University’s membership in ICPSR is provided by the Office of Graduate Studies. An informational guide to ICPSR is available from the library. Click here to view recent updates and additions.

JSTOR

Search or browse for full-text articles in back issues of about 100 journals in several areas, including African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, History, Political Science, and Sociology.

NCJRS

The National Criminal Justice Reference Service is the research library of the Department of Justice. This database provides summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Many of the publications from 1995 forward are provided full text.

Project MUSE

A collection of 100 full text journals, subjects including anthropology, ethnic studies, history, political science and other social sciences.

PsycINFO (1877- current)

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

ScienceDirect (1996 - current)

Indexing and abstracting of major journals in many fields of social sciences, medicine, science and engineering; provides full text of Elsevier-published journals including the Journal of Criminal Justice and Addictive Behaviors.

SocINDEX

SocINDEX™ is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. The database features more than 1,969,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300+ term sociological thesaurus. It contains informative abstracts for more than 1,120 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Subjects include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.