Computer Science

Primary Computer Science Journal Article Databases

ACM Portal: the ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)

The Digital Library provides online access to all ACM titles from volume 1 - forward. All journals, sigs, conference proceedings, newsletters, transactions, and magazines published by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), and selected titles published by affiliated organizations are included.

Computer Source

Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

Includes online access to articles from 22 peer-reviewed journals and magazines with archives back to 1988, plus more than 1,200 conference proceedings with archives back to 1995.

Safari Tech Books Online

Safari is an electronic reference library for programming and IT professionals. The searchable full-text contents of 4700 books selected for SHSU are available online.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete provides full text for over 1,260 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,880 journals. Over 700 of the over 1,260 full text journals are peer reviewed. Over 1,670 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed.

Business Source Complete

A large index and full-text database for business journals. Useful for MIS, and applications of computers to business, accounting, and related fields.

Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Information Science & Technology Abstracts is a leading database in the areas of information science. ISTA indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important periodicals in this field. Coverage dates back to the mid 1960s.

Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts

IPCA provides abstracts and indexing for literature related to personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and all other applied areas. Over 400 of the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals are covered, including those that focus on specific topics such as Macintosh and Windows platforms, programming, web development and more.

NetLibrary

The Netlibrary site provides searchable content within 45,000 books in all subject areas. Computer books range from practical “how-to” to theoretical.

SamCAT

(the library's online catalog): Provides author, title, and subject access to print and electronic books, and journal titles, as well as to many online and print government publications and websites. For access to journal contents, consult other databases in this guide.

ScienceDirect

(publisher database with full text access to subscribed titles). Provides indexing and abstracting of approximately 100 computer science journal titles, with full text access to 41 journals.

SpringerLINK

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific, technical and medical database, with over 59 million citation abstracts. ScienceDirect also provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines. Provides indexing and abstracting of approximately 100 computer science journal titles, with full text access to 41 journals.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.