Chemistry

Primary Chemistry Journal Article Databases

ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications

ACS provides full-text access to over 30 journals published by the American Chemical Society, coverage from early as 1879 to current year with over 3 million pages of original chemistry.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific, technical and medical database, with over 59 million citation abstracts. ScienceDirect also provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines.

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder is a client server application that can be found on your computer by going to START, then ALL PROGRAMS, and then opening LIBRARY RESOURCES. You may run the program at this point or create a shortcut for your desktop for easy access. Each time you login to SciFinder Scholar you will be asked to Accept or Decline the CAS Information Use Policy. When the database is in use you will receive a message that there are too many concurrent users, please try again later. SciFinder Scholar developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service provides access to:
  • CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
  • CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and biosequences
  • CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
  • CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
  • CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
  • Medline, the National Library of Medicine’s database
  • References from over 9,500 currently published journals and patent information from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities
  • The latest scientific breakthroughs almost as soon as they are published with references added daily and some patent information as recent as two days ago
  • Complete coverage of chemistry and life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines

Additional Databases

STNEasy

STN Easy provides access to the leading chemical indexing database, Chemical Abstracts, and CA Registry. The use of this database is restricted to faculty, upper division and graduate students within the Department of Chemistry.

Wilson General Science Full Text

Wilson General Science Full Text is a database that indexes articles from 1989, abstracts articles from 1993, and additionally provides the full text of selected periodicals from 1995 to the present. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Wilson Omnifile Full Text

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega edition includes indexing and full-text articles from Wilson General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.

Project Muse

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, Reference Universe searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.