Business

Back to Subject List

Primary Business Journal Article Databases

Business Source Complete

The Business Source Complete database is a comprehensive, business periodical database that includes scholarly journals and business periodicals covering topics such as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more. Business Source Complete contains content from full text sources ranging from general business periodicals such as Business Week, Forbes, Fortune, American Banker, etc. to academic journals such as Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, Academy of Management Review, Review of Economics & Statistics, etc. Business Source Complete provides cumulative indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,800 business journals and cumulative full text for 2,260 journals. Includes Data Monitor Reports.

Wilson Business Full Text

Full-Text, Mega Edition, a collection of H. W. Wilson full-text databases; including abstracts and indexing back to 1983 for many titles.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Additional Databases

ABI/INFORM

U.S. and international articles on business and management. Provides abstracts of articles from international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. Offers the full text of some articles.

Accounting with Tax & Standards

Search key accounting standards from FASB, GASB, and IASB along with top accounting literature. Standards content includes Original Pronouncements, Statements, Interpretations, Board Opinions, AICPA Interpretations, Current Text, EITF Abstracts and much more. International in scope, this product has in-depth coverage of accounting policies, state and national tax legislation, corporate taxation, as well as related accounting topics such as auditing, compensation, pension plans, and financial management.

Associations Unlimited

Contains information for approximately 440,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations. Includes IRS 501(c) data on U.S. non-profits. Provides full-text association materials (brochures, pamphlets and membership application forms) for about 2,500 U.S. associations.

BNA Tax Management Library

Contains access to the 'U.S.Income Series' and the 'Estates, Gifts and Trusts Series'. The Library includes expert analyses by leading tax authorities; productivity tools such as forms, plans, letters, documents and the e-Financial Analyst financial analysis generator; primary source materials such as IRS documents, Federal and State Codes, Federal and Supreme Court cases; and news and commentary.

Business and Company Resource Center

The Business & Company Resource Center offers accurate, and up-to-date company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies. Included in the database are: periodical articles, company information, investment reports, product information, industry and company rankings, financial overviews, industry overviews and HR law case digests.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research

Working as a global, independent membership organization in the public interest, the Conference Board conducts research, convenes conferences, makes forecasts, assesses trends, publishes information and analyses, and brings executives together to learn from one another. The Conference Board is a not-for-profit organization and holds 501 (c) (3) tax-exempt status in the United States. The online subscriptions includes 'Research Reports' on key business topics, 'Executive Action' reports, 'StraightTalk' - in-depth analysis of critical economic topics, 'Across the Board' magazine, and Topline data on business executives expectations (a measure of business confidence) consumer confidence, consumer internet barometer, country indicators, and help-wanted index.

Disclosure

Corporate and financial information on corporations whose shares are traded in the U.S.; updated weekly.; searchable by business description, SIC code, name and more. Each record includes company name, Disclosure company number, company address and telephone number, status, state of incorporation, NYSE symbol, SIC codes, and a brief description of the business.

EndNote

Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.

Emerald Fulltext

Emerald Fulltext is a collection of over 40,000 articles from over 100 of the most prestigious management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989. Emerald Fulltext covers all major management disciplines from marketing, human resources management, library and information management and quality to operations management.

IBISWorld

Provides instant access to over 700 United States industries – everything from Shoes Stores to Gold Ore Mining and all industries in between. IBIS also offers many other reports such as the “Global” Industry Reports covering world industry analysis.

Index to Texas Magazines and Documents

Index of articles in major magazines and documents from across Texas, 1990-present, in a variety of areas including business, education, history, and government. Includes links to some full text when it is available. Free site, produced by librarians at Victoria College/University of Houston-Victoria.

LexisNexis Academic

Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers, journals and magazines, and financial information for companies, including: SEC Reports, Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions, Disclosure Reports, NAARS -Annual Reports 84-95 and more.

Mergent Online

(formerly FISonline) Mergent Online offers Internet access to information on 10,000 U.S. and 15,000 international companies, including annual reports, company histories, and financial data.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

Regional Business News

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Ria Checkpoint

Students must log in here (intial login) to have access to the Ria Checkpoint database. Once the required information is filled out and sent in by the student, an e-mail will be sent to the address provided by the student. The e-mail will contain a username and password to access Checkpoint. To access the database click on the name (Ria Checkpoint in blue) up above.

RMA e-statement Studies

Provides access to industry norms (ratios and default probability/cash flow measures) for 600+ industries by year, asset range and region.

“All data downloaded from RMA's e-Statement Studies is the property of RMA and must be destroyed when the user leaves the University and/or when access to the database is terminated.”

Authors desiring to use RMA licensed content in a published piece of literature must consult this license: RMA License to Incorporate

ScienceDirect

First launched as an online host facility for Elsevier Science's full text journals. Journal topics include Accounting, Business & Management, and Economics.

Social Science Citation Index

As a part of Web of Science, the Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,700 social sciences journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as relevant references from over 3,300 scientific and technical periodicals. It is international in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
Leads to citations with bibliographical references for articles from over 1,700 journals. Many of the references include author-prepared abstracts.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

This searchable database is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others. It includes export tools so that data can be downloaded into spreadsheet programs for further analysis.

LexisNexis Statistical

Provides access to a wide range of statistical publications from the federal government, including labor, business, foreign exchange statistics, and more.

STAT-USA

STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is the site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government.

Thomas Register

Thomas Register on the Internet includes both American and Canadian companies. 156,914 companies and 7,782 online supplier catalogs and web links are found in Thomas Register.

Worldscope

Financial reports on companies worldwide derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Each record includes a description of the business, selected financials, key ratios, and officers; updated weekly.

Databases Available in the Library

Research InSight on DVD/Network

Research Insight on the Web delivers Standard & Poor's company information and sophisticated analytic content directly to Microsoft® Excel users through the Internet. THIS IS NOT A WEB-BASED DATABASE LIKE BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE, this database is a networked DVD, which can be accessed from the Library Reference Area computers or on 41 laptops the Library has available for student checkout within the Library.

Instructions for accessing Research Insight on DVD : Go to the Start Menu, then Library Resources, then Research Insight, and then click the Research Insight link. View instructions for using Research Insight (Word document).

Research InSight on the Web

Research Insight on the Web delivers Standard & Poor's company information and sophisticated analytic content directly to Microsoft® Excel users through the Internet. THIS IS NOT A WEB-BASED DATABASE LIKE BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE, this database is an Excel plug-in, which can be accessed from on campus by going to the "Library Resources Installation Menu" to install the plugin. Once installed, you will have a new menu option within Excel called "RI Web Tools".