Biology

Back to Subject List

Primary Biology Journal Article Databases

Biological Abstracts

Biological Abstracts is the premier abstracting and indexing database for biology and botany world-wide, indexing over 8 million citations from over 3,700 journals in all disciplines of the biological sciences.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific, technical and medical database, with over 59 million citation abstracts. ScienceDirect also provides full-text access to over 200 journals in various science disciplines.

Biology Digest

An abstracting and indexing database in the life sciences that specializes in abstracts written in non-technical language and style, covering topics which include botany, environmental science, health and medicine, and zoology.

Additional Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text

CINAHL with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) indexes 4175 English-language nursing and allied health. Includes full-text for more than 750 journals. CINAHL also covers relevant materials from biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, health sciences librarianship, education, and consumer health.

Science Citation Index

Science Citation Idex (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1999 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Biological Abstracts is also searchable on the Web of Science platform. When full-text access is available, links provide access.

SciFinder Scholar (Web Version)

SciFinder Scholar now has a web version. The client version will not be available after 02/01/09.
To register for the web version send an email to Eric Elmore requesting user registration information. By return email you will receive instructions and the registration URL. You must use your SHSU email account to request instructions and to register for SciFinder Scholar.

SciFinder Scholar developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service provides access to:
  • CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
  • CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and biosequences
  • CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
  • CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
  • CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
  • Medline, the National Library of Medicine’s database
  • References from over 9,500 currently published journals and patent information from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities
  • The latest scientific breakthroughs almost as soon as they are published with references added daily and some patent information as recent as two days ago
  • Complete coverage of chemistry and life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines

Wilson General Science Full Text

Wilson General Science Full Text is a database that indexes articles from 1989, abstracts articles from 1993, and additionally provides the full text of selected periodicals from 1995 to the present. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE focuses on environmental topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. In addition to government documents and reports, GreenFILE’s initial release includes abstracts for more than 600 scholarly and general interest titles, including comprehensive coverage – from volume 1, issue 1 to present – for Bioscience (back to 1964), Conservation Biology (back to 1987), Journal of Ecology (back to 1913), and Journal of Environmental Planning & Management (back to 1948). The total number of records is approximately 295,000, and full text is provided for more than 4,600 records from open access titles.

Wilson Omnifile Full Text

Wilson OmniFile Full Text, Mega edition includes indexing and full-text articles from Wilson General Science Full Text and two other science oriented databases, Applied Science & Technology Full Text and Biological & Agricultural Index. Select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled Subject Area on the main search page.

MEDLINE

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes indexing to over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's and from over 4600 scholarly and professional journals in all aspects of medicine, veterinary medicine, and allied health science.

Project Muse

Project Muse is a collection of over 100 full-text journals, with 13 journals in the subject areas of general science, philosophy and science, medicine and health, and mathematics.

AGRICOLA (1970-present)

This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 3 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.

EndNote

Endnote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.