Biography

Back to Subject List

Biographical Databases

Wilson Biography Index

Biography Index is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in periodicals indexed in other Wilson Company databases and additional selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals indexed are selected from all subject areas represented by other Wilson Company databases. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

American National Biography

American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly with hundreds of new entries each year and revisions of previously published entries to enhance their accuracy and currency. The ANB Online features thousands of illustrations, more than 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

The Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) contains essays that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.

Dictionary of National Biography

An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001.

Access is for a single user only. If someone else is logged in, please try again later. Please be sure to log out when finished.

Contemporary Authors

For more than 30 years, Contemporary Authors (CA) has been the primary resource for information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. A bio-bibliographical guide, CA covers more than 100,000 current writers in a wide range of media.

Additional Databases

Encyclopedia Americana

Online version of print encyclopedia, it blends the depth and accuracy of the print edition with the currency expected of an online reference work.

CredoReference

XreferPlus is a giant online reference library that provides access to over 200 reference books. Biographical sources include Debrett's Peerage and Baronetage, Debrett's People of Today, The Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography, The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women, and Who's Who 2003, A&C Black.

ReferenceUniverse

ReferenceUniverse is a meta-search engine for many of the library's reference books, both online and print. Unlike the library catalog which searches only limited information like book title and author, ReferenceUniverse searches the complete index of each reference book. Searches return a hit for every relevant index entry, as well as the title and call number for every reference book containing a hit.